We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRD2”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Monteleone is a wonderful place to stay. The location is just perfect. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Although it is one street over from Bourbon Street it seems blocks away because Royal Street is clean and full of wonderful shops. It is true the rooms are not huge but very comfortable and well appointed. The Carousel Bar was so much fun and every time we went in we met people from other hotels that wished they had stayed at the Monteleone. I will recommend Hotel Monteleone to all my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in March. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,606 - 5,612 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were in a very noisy room- awakened frequently each night by shouting and screaming from the street. Ask for a quiet room.

Very small bathroom but otherwise very well appointed and comfortable room.

Excellent & very personable staff

Room Tip: ask for quiet room with larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the experience we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a majestic hotel with great service, but the rooms are really small and the hotel decor seems a bit tired as well. It's just an old gem that needs some more polishing to stay competitive in my opinion. I probably won't stay there again for the decor reason. The service in the hotel restaurant is not quite up to par either, well meaning but slow on delivering what you order. Very quick to smile and be pleasant, but short on delivering good service. The Carousel Bar, though, I will say, is a really fun bar and I will always go back and sit at the Carousel for a drink whenever I'm in the Quarter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNumb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.
It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Monteleone is a real New Orleans gem. It is large and bustling, but service is personal and almost always given with a smile. The location is ideal, in the French Quarter, but on the quieter, more upscale Royal Street, as opposed to the craziness of Bourbon Street, only one block away. That being said, we opted for a premium room, which was larger, on a higher floor, and assured both quiet and a view of the Mississippi River (albeit over the tops of some unattractive adjacent buildings). The Carousel Bar is always "happening," and a great place to stop for a drink at the end of a long evening. I can't think of a better place to stay to experience the sights, fun, and action of New Orleans!

Room Tip: Ask for a premium room on a high floor with a view--it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first time during our mini-honeymoon. We were upgraded to a suite prior to our arrival as a honeymoon gift from the hotel. Although our room wasn't ready at first (we arrived early), they called us on our cell as soon as it was. The restaurant was great. Our couples massage at Spa Aria was outstanding! Our Keurig didn't work but housekeeping promptly brought a new one. The late night room service was yummy and quick.
I definitely recommend this hotel. We can't wait to return!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Not only do I love New Orleans, but I specifically love this hotel. Everything about it was great: the location, the staff, the rooms, the hotel's elegance, the rooftop pool. Great stay and I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank ecatsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

With possible exception of busy Carousel bartenders, everybody and everything about my four-night stay went above and beyond my expectations. I was here on business but can't wait to come back for fun and romance with my husband.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docswife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $208 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing