We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping Fast”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Hotel Monteleone in about a year. There are so many things to like about this hotel, but it seemed to be slipping in terms of quality this year. My shower was broken, as was one of the sink drains. The mini bar was empty - the hotel staff informed me that they were all empty now, and were there for guests to use as mini refrigerators. That would have been fine, if the bottom of the mini frig wasn't full of water. In addition, there was a strange squeaking noise coming from outside the window - probably a rooftop ventilation device on its last legs. I moved rooms once to get away from it, but everyone on my side of the hotel must have heard it. The hotel said there was nothing they could do about it, and nowhere else to move me, unless I wanted to spend more to upgrade my room. I think next year I'll look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPavarotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,744 - 5,750 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was here for a conference. The hotel has a lot to be proud of: the service is excellent, the revolving Carousel Bar is unique and fun, the food served at the conference functions was delicious. My only complaints are that the furniture and decor in the rooms is very outdated, and the bed was of low quality and not comfortable. A full renovation of the guest rooms would make this a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review! Your comments regarding the comfort of your room has been brought to the management team for review. We still hope you will return to the Monteleone someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is probably one of the best hotels in The Quarter. Rooms are beautiful, staff is wonderful, the Carousel Bar and Criollo Restaurant are fabulous.
I coordinated a large group of over 20 ppl for a bachelorette weekend, needing a block of rooms and everything was handled perfectly. Extremely helpful in coordinating the group reservations, and in distributing our prepared welcome bags to our groups' rooms for us. Everyone seemed happy with their rooms. One group switched rooms because the temperature in their room was too warm and the thermostat could not be repaired satisfactorily.
I had pre-ordered a delivery from a local wine & liquor store, which the staff received and placed in our suite prior to us arriving. Hotel had complementary champagne and cheese plate waiting for us, as well. We stayed in the William Faulkner Suite -- gorgeous! We hosted our group within our suite during our stay and the Criollo chef prepared custom, delicious appetizers to be sent to our room for our event, and the cost was surprisingly reasonable.
Thermostat in our room was not cooling properly and with that many people gathering in our suite, it was noticeably warm. Maintenance came promptly and fixed the problem easily.
Our group gathered several times in the Carousel Bar before and after our excursions into the Quarter. We had Sunday A.M. breakfast in Criollo and it was perfect.
I have stayed at Monteleone several times and have been happy with each visit! Will definitely return on my next trip to NOLA!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Sounds like a great bachelorette trip! Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a great experience! Location was perfect..

not sure what else to say really Trip Advisor are making me right 200 characters so I am filling it with ...nearly there... im at 168 now.. giberish just get my review on board

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Zander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I travel at least twice a year to the French Quarter every year, and have, for many years. This is the hotel I always return to for many reasons..... The service, the staff, the ambiance, the history, reasonably priced for the service and value, the Carousel bar and Criollo restaurant. This hotel delivers consistently impeccable service. I've stayed in other French Quarter hotel chains, a few boutique hotels and one B&B. This hotel, by far, is the one I usually decide to stay at. Each stay was wonderfully enjoyable. The staff is superb, from the minute the doors are opened for you. The rooms are tastefully done, very comfortable, wonderful amenities. I love the marble bathrooms. The bathrooms are a little on the small side but I've never found that intrusive for a weekend or 4 day stay. This hotel has hugely interesting history, common areas are absolutely beautiful. If I could compare this hotel to something similar in a historic flagship hotel it would easily compete with the Hotel Del Coronado (California), sans a beach. Old world value with high emphasis on superb quality. I've spent many an enjoyable afternoon at their rooftop pool. This is a great hotel for couples and families. Excellent location on Royal. A block from Bourbon. Quiet, and stately. The Carousel bar is fantastic. The best wait staff. The best collection of wines, spirits, imaginative concoctions. Their restaurant Criollo is superb for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I've attended several conferences at this hotel and they deliver a consistent overall great conference experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khosler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

+ location is ideal as right in French Quarter. Hotel restaurant and food are up to **** standards.
- small rooms and poor service at reception desk. Expect to have to call reception at least twice to get any issue resolved.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

From the time I walked in to the hotel, the staff was very polite, helpful and gracious. The food was fantastic and I enjoyed a few nights of great sleep. Also, I woke up early to use the fitness center and with it on the rooftop, watching the sunrise while running was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 25KLE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in January. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $208 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing