We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a month travelling through parts of the USA, much of it re-tracing footprints I left some 35 years ago. Our choice of hotel in New Orleans was the Monteleone in the French Quarter, just off the famous Bourbon Street.
Upon arrival we were told, by the very friendly and efficient front desk staff, that we had been upgraded to the William Faulkner Suite on the apparently "haunted" 14th floor. Well if the floor is haunted I could very well understand why the ghosts chose this floor. Our suite was absolutely exquisite! Spacious and contained everything we needed (except for proper porcelain cups, the Americans seen to have a thing about disposable paper cups!) A quick phone call to housekeeping and our cups were sorted out.
The beds were some of the most comfortable we encountered on all of our many foreign trips and getting a good night’s sleep was no problem at all.
Breakfast was fantastic and by far one of the best we had during our whole month long trip.
The hotel has an old time elegance about it that may not appeal to the youngsters of today who for some reason prefer clinical cells that have no character. Staying here was like stepping back into the elegant past and the Monteleone will most certainly be our #1 choice if we ever return to the Big Easy.

Room Tip: William Faulkner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennkasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in December. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,807
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,216
2,730
226
1,479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

All the staff & doormen were super friendly & helpful! I never went in & out the front lobby door without the doormen greeting & assisting me. The front desk staff was very personable & helpful, too. We loved the Carousel Bar. What a unique bar experience ...& the best grasshoppers & bourbon milk punch ever! Our room was quite elegant & quiet, too....very comfy. I spent 3 hours of heaven in the spa, and the treatments were amazing. I highly recommend The Monteleone..it's a jewel in the crown of Mardi Gras!

Room Tip: Our room on the side fronting away from Royal St was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeekayTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I booked a king room for two adults and with the size of the room and furniture we barely had room for our luggage. Bed was comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. In the french quarter but a quieter part and a short walk to the best bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salinas, ca
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

there are a few things in this city that are worth seeing. they range from the sublime to the superior, the Hotel Monteleone is a superior experience, why do I say that?...the Carousel Bar and lounge, located right on Royal St. The world famous location of the one and only bar that spins like a carousel, its slow enough that you don't feel woozy, but fast enough to keep your attention. the Hotel itself if very classy and that's not easy to come by when your talking about the French Quarter, but more than that is the location as a whole is a welcome escape from all else that the Quarter is famous for. Note also that this is where they invented the Gin Fizz, a tried and true hangover cure, so this too makes it a must for your complete Nola experience. the weekends get going with a piano band knocking out Jazz & Dixieland, but whats different is that the crowd is classy and sophisticated, kinda like a cool place to take your boss or parents to before they go back to their room, and you cut out to cut loose and party down on Bourbon. No matter what your reason, stop on in. You'll be glad that you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoshsaidso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel Monteleone.... Oh how I looked forward to loving you. Unfortunately that was not the case. Truthfully we started out on a sour note; Not once were we assisted by a doorman! Our arrival was a struggle, we had four large bags and had difficult time even entering the building. The room was very small, The sheets were fine however the heavily patterned waffle blanket under the sheet was very uncomfortable. Both nights that we were here we switched out the bedspread for the patterned blanket. The decor, heavy French; which I was expecting. Walls were thin and you could hear activity in the halls.
First night here I stepped on something sharp that pierced my foot!
On the plus side, the lobby is exquisite, the hotel is in an excellent location and was decorated beautifully for Christmas.
I'd like to mention; Concierge (Anne) was extremely personable, Jani at the front desk was darling and Carmen in your essentials store was a delight. We loved the carousel bar, the bartenders were helpful and engaging, the Pims Cup perfection. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dianna430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone .

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Best location, staff, and atmosphere in New Orleans. We have stayed at many other hotels for conferences and business but when we have a choice, we always pick the Monteleone. Everything about this hotel is outstanding, including the Carousel Bar.

Room Tip: We have stayed here five times and never had a room that was even mediocre. Remember this is an his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were just visitors to the Carousel Lounge, but very much appreciated the Lobby with all it's elegance and fresh flowers in the middle of the winter. Smelled so good. Loved the Lounge, with it's rotating seats around the bar, lovely staff and appreciated the nudes decorating the walls. A bit pricey, but well worth it. So worth it, we made two trips to have beers and shots while in New Orleans. Will def return..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,719 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing