We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Beautiful decor, friendly and professional & knowledgeable staff. We were assisted by Chantel and she took care of our every need. Great location for the French Quarter. The Criollo Restaurant at the hotel has a delicous breakfast. We stayed in a suite and it is breathtaking. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect stay! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,414)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monteleone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,337 - 5,343 of 7,415 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is within the French Quarter which makes walking to all of the attractions very easy. Hotel also houses tours and all "groups" seem to get preference for everything...so plan on waiting in line.

Room Tip: ask for one in the front of the building
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpc1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.
We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very clean but somewhat small king room. Lovely lobby and pleasant concierge. Did not partake of the bar, but it also looked nice. Excellent location for walking in the French Quarter. Parking was a bit steep at $35 per day, but you don't need to use a car to get around when staying here. You do hear the street noise as the windows aren't sound insulated, but really not a problem. No cold frig in our room to keep bottled water cool, otherwise a good 3 day stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in October. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the employees are kind and professional and the ambiance is very warm and comfortable. The location is great, just valet your car and walk everywhere. The hotel is surrounded by art galleries on Royal Street and of course by great restaurants. The Criollo Restaurant at the Hotel Monteleone has great food.....try the beignets, much better than that other place in town! : )

The rooms are very clean, the hotel is very well kept. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VegasTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were there for a wedding. From the moment we arrived to the monet we left, we felt like we were royalty. Everyone employee always greets wyou with a smile, says hi, asks how your day was and if there is anything youneed or they can do for you. The restaurant has an amazing breakfast buffet and very friendly waitresses. Location is perfect. walking distance to everything. If i had to use one word to describe this hotel, it would be awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've never felt so welcomed at a hotel in my life!! From the door man to the maids it was truly a wonderful experience! I was taken back by lobby how luxurious can a place get. What started the great experience was check in. Never have I ever had a check in experience like this. It was professional and unique all at the same time! Crystal our receptionist gave me an experience I've never had before checking in. Bubbly and bright eyed she gave great detail about the hotel. Went floor by floor with the services they offer and all with the cheeriest desposition!!! It was a delight. My room on 14 floor was perfect. Nice gold accents gave a truly vintage feel very regal. Everyone I encountered genuinely wanted to help and seemed to enjoy there job. Although check in was a pleasure check out was dismissive. A dark hair girl was just rude I believe her name is Shanel. She didn't even make eye contact with me not what I was expecting since check in was such a grand affair. The bellman Surgi made up for it though. He was happy with a great accent. How I loved my stay! It was only a minor glitch in a perfect system.I will return and this time I'll bring my friends for a girl's trip at the grand Monteleone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostoner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! We would love to have you for a girl's trip in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and an excellent location, but one staff member made it memorable. Crystal, a young lady working the front desk, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She became our "go-to" person for all of our inquiries and requests for advice. Crystal cheerfully and enthusiastically greeted us and made helpful suggestions to make our stay more enjoyable.

The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows left much to be desired. Our request for replacements was promptly answered, but the second set of pillows was no better. Rooms are very small, and we had purchased a "preferred" room. Experience told me small rooms are characteristic of the FQ though.

We found it very difficult to get a taxi on Saturday night outside the hotel. All other times we had no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Your comments regarding the pillows provided to you have been brought to the management team for review. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,421 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,224 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $195 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing