We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & great location”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel & great location”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very clean but somewhat small king room. Lovely lobby and pleasant concierge. Did not partake of the bar, but it also looked nice. Excellent location for walking in the French Quarter. Parking was a bit steep at $35 per day, but you don't need to use a car to get around when staying here. You do hear the street noise as the windows aren't sound insulated, but really not a problem. No cold frig in our room to keep bottled water cool, otherwise a good 3 day stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in October. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,661
    1,546
    471
    209
    117
See reviews for
1,172
2,644
220
1,439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the employees are kind and professional and the ambiance is very warm and comfortable. The location is great, just valet your car and walk everywhere. The hotel is surrounded by art galleries on Royal Street and of course by great restaurants. The Criollo Restaurant at the Hotel Monteleone has great food.....try the beignets, much better than that other place in town! : )

The rooms are very clean, the hotel is very well kept. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mettawa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were there for a wedding. From the moment we arrived to the monet we left, we felt like we were royalty. Everyone employee always greets wyou with a smile, says hi, asks how your day was and if there is anything youneed or they can do for you. The restaurant has an amazing breakfast buffet and very friendly waitresses. Location is perfect. walking distance to everything. If i had to use one word to describe this hotel, it would be awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've never felt so welcomed at a hotel in my life!! From the door man to the maids it was truly a wonderful experience! I was taken back by lobby how luxurious can a place get. What started the great experience was check in. Never have I ever had a check in experience like this. It was professional and unique all at the same time! Crystal our receptionist gave me an experience I've never had before checking in. Bubbly and bright eyed she gave great detail about the hotel. Went floor by floor with the services they offer and all with the cheeriest desposition!!! It was a delight. My room on 14 floor was perfect. Nice gold accents gave a truly vintage feel very regal. Everyone I encountered genuinely wanted to help and seemed to enjoy there job. Although check in was a pleasure check out was dismissive. A dark hair girl was just rude I believe her name is Shanel. She didn't even make eye contact with me not what I was expecting since check in was such a grand affair. The bellman Surgi made up for it though. He was happy with a great accent. How I loved my stay! It was only a minor glitch in a perfect system.I will return and this time I'll bring my friends for a girl's trip at the grand Monteleone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostoner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! We would love to have you for a girl's trip in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and an excellent location, but one staff member made it memorable. Crystal, a young lady working the front desk, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She became our "go-to" person for all of our inquiries and requests for advice. Crystal cheerfully and enthusiastically greeted us and made helpful suggestions to make our stay more enjoyable.

The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows left much to be desired. Our request for replacements was promptly answered, but the second set of pillows was no better. Rooms are very small, and we had purchased a "preferred" room. Experience told me small rooms are characteristic of the FQ though.

We found it very difficult to get a taxi on Saturday night outside the hotel. All other times we had no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Your comments regarding the pillows provided to you have been brought to the management team for review. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

lagniappe means 'a little something extra'....I have been visiting New Orleans for 20 years now; it is like home to me and I usually stay at a B&B a friend of mine used to own. I have never stayed in the French Quarter feeling it was too rowdy and too unrefined. I am not a drinker, I visit NO for the culture and the people. This trip we tried the Hotel Monteleone. I have stayed at the Hilton on the river, the Windmere, you know the list of regulars using offers of this or that and they are AVERAGE compared to Hotel Monteleone. A family owned and operated hotel, it delivers every bit of first class treatment we all would like but may not be familiar with in a hotel stay. This hotel offers genuine first class treatment; I won't be able to find the generics again! This hotel could do less and be equally successful, but they don't...they have a very professional woman who keeps the front lobby looking top notch at all times. No left over glasses on a table, no messed up pillows, tidy and tight. I would like to pay special appreciation to the Concierge, Joseph LeCour. We have traveled many places in the world; Europe, Asia, the middle east so I am no stranger to working with a Concierge. A good Concierge brings together the pieces of a vacation and sews it up for you well. A good Concierge seems as if he is not as busy as he is when you stop by his desk, you have his full attention. Mr. LeCour is these and more...when I emailed my boarding passes to his desk for printing, without prompting he offered to run them 'right up' and he meant it genuinely. I told him we would stop by. That is the other part First class should be, when the staff appears genuinely pleased [as all I met did] to help me out. They have a rooftop heated pool, a revolving bar [the only one in NO], along with a deeply historical feel in the hotel. Where many have gutted historic buildings, or they smell exactly their age in mildew; Monteleone is crisp and bright. The ceilings in the room are high, the moldings are detailed, and I believe they kept our room tidy 3 times a day, morning cleanup, mid-day freshen and complimentary turn down service. A lot of hotels in NO promise it, but Monteleone DELIVERS. Take a look at their rates, they are reasonable and even more so when you feel all the little extras. Oh, I can't forget to mention one other name, Tyrone, who tried to help me get a dying flower [it is a funny story] for my daughter because it reminded me of hunger games. You will not regret staying at this hotel, it is a one of a kind holiday destination for all travelers.

Room Tip: I was not disturbed by the many noises of the French Quarter; I don't know if there are any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Our room was elegant, but it is starting to show some wear. Their service was a bit spotty. Once we contacted someone the requests were solved quickly most of the time. Things like not answering front desk and operator phones should not happen. Restaurant and bar staff were a bit spotty also ranging from frustrating to excellent. During our stay, the Christmas decorations were put up, giving the hotel a magical touch. Despite the glitches, we enjoyed our say, and hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing