We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel, great location. The front desk, doormen, concierge and all personnel was very helpful. Delicious breakfast! The rooms were made a bit late (after lunch), so going back for a nap was out of the question. Excepting for that, a great hotel very close to all the action but not quite in the middle of it, which is, of course, a plus for a hotel. Thank you!.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atescov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind response! We hope to see you back at the Hotel Monteleone again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,658 - 5,664 of 7,704 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Monteleone at the end of October for 3 nights and loved it!

The hotel is located right in the French Quarter walking distance to everything. Rooms were decent sized and beds were super comfortable. They even had a heavy blanket for the beds (which is hard to find in hotel rooms).
They have a cool bar downstairs which rotates while you drink. It's a bit pricey compared to everywhere else in the French Quarter but I'd suggest it for a drink at least.

Would suggest this hotel to any other travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amellia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Monteleone! Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Friday thru Monday stay for the Saints/Cowboys game - booked an Executive Suite at >$400 per night as we have had this before and suits our needs. Checked in, went to our room and when we opened the curtains in the parlour for the view, we were staring at a brick wall a few feet away - we expect a bit more than that, although the bedroom window was a view of rooftops and some rusty physical plant buildings. Next, we had some sort of denial at the Aria Spa there as they had no record of the reservation for Sat. morning. We have the email confirmations, etc. and all they can say is "We're sorry". We truly enjoy our favorite watering hole in the French Quarter - the Carousel in the Monteleone and it did not disappoint. This was our first time back since the renovation that opens up the entire bar area into the adjacent bar. A window table is the best "people watching" spot in the city. Despite the inconveniences, the room was comfortable, although the bathroom is very small. The restaurant, bar and housekeeping staff are great - the front desk, Spa and bell desk were not up to value standards for a hotel with the advertised service and elegance expected. We have stayed at the Monteleone several times and this stay was a bit odd due to the attitude of the staff - perhaps when you are booked up, you do not need to be accommodating. Next time, we will probably stay at another hotel and visit the Carousel as needed.
It feels as if they believe they could have sold this suite for a lot more than what we paid for it and want to make sure we are not welcome here anymore.

Room Tip: Ask about the view from your room prior to booking. Also, if you book online, make sure you print th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance, and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We thought and thought and finally decided to spend our nights in New Orleans at the Monteleone. My wife is in a wheelchair so we had to make some plans. Ann Brett the concierge arranged for transportation from the airport and a rental scooter. Stephanie at the front desk made sure that our room would accommodate that scooter, and Raul helped us to our room. The location of the Monteleone in the French Quarter was excellent. We walked to great restaurants, listened to good music, and saw the sights without having to take a cab. The room was comfortable and beautiful and it was pleasant to come back to this homey place after a day of being out and about. We loved every minute of our trip to NOLA and our stay at the Hotel Monteleone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneChasinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like a wonderful trip! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Room wasn't ready when we arrived well after 3:00 pm. When we finally got a room, it was very small and the bathroom was tiny. Smoke and mirrors did little to make the room appear larger. Sleep was difficult on a very uncomfortable lumpy mattress that sloped down to the edge of the bed. Luckily it was a king bed and I could sleep more toward the middle. Unfortunately I rolled over once, ended up too close to the edge, and slid right off the bed! I guess I shouldn't have had high expectations.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank CDBBatonRouge_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

Your remarks regarding the comfort of your mattress have been brought to the the attention of the management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just got home from a lovely stay at Hotel Monteleone. We got in late on Tuesday night and were assigned a room near the elevator, ice machine and the noise of Royal St. Too tired to complain, we asked in the morning for a different room. The reservationist at the time was vague to say the least, but manager Vinesha, came to the rescue and gave us a new quiet room. She was a sweetheart. Staff was great. Kudos to Raul, who has been at the hotel for 50 years, for arranging our trip back to the airport. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank SlevinMaplewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

So glad you were satisfied with your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide the very best. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have a friend with a birthday on Halloween and we celebrate in NOLA with her and her husband along with another couple. The hotel is in great shape and very well run. We were in room 1482 and had a view of the river. We want to thank Stephanie and Crystal at the front desk for all of their help with our plans. We will be back next year and will try to stay in this same hotel. Also the bar is wonderful with great bands for our after dinner enjoyment.

Leslie Hollingsworth

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslieh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,368 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,588 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,313 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $197 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing