We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school comfort and service!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our stay at the Monteleone couldn't have been better! This is an old classic in a wonderful location in the French Quarter....nice shops and galleries on Royal St and Chartres...an easy walk to Canal St and up to Jackson Sq.....close walking proximity to some great restaurants! The staff were so very friendly and helpful, it felt like you were returning to the comfort of home each day after long days (and nights) of sight-seeing.....to a friendly greeting at the front door, an immaculate room, and a delicious cocktail at the Carousel Bar! There was wonderful live music each night in the lounge....a far better experience than the sometimes trashiness of Bourbon St! Ann is a most knowledgeable and helpful concierge. The roof-top pool and bar is a welcome respite in the late afternoon. The rooms are a bit on the small side but nicely furnished with very traditional decor....very comfortable beds! Liked having the mini-Keurig coffee maker in the room. Ate a nice breakfast in the hotel restaurant. What more can I say ....we will definitely return to the Monteleone!

Room Tip: This is the French Quarter.....so expect some late-night noise....but the Monteleone is on the perip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so immaculate, comfortable, and classic. We certainly agree. Looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,608 - 5,614 of 7,634 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Monteleone between the 25th and 30th October 2013. The hotel was great; very classy and in a very convenient location for all the sights and culture of New Orleans. The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. We would like to particularly thank Chrystal, on the reception desk, for her cheerfulness and genuine interest in making our stay at the hotel, and in new Orleans generally, memorable. We hope she and her son did well in the Hallowean fancy dress last Friday. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family in the UK and Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33TimR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Monteleone and are sharing that with your friends and family. We so appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to having you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel. Overall, the hotel is good for the value but the area is less than desirable unless you like partying and walking home intoxicated (which many tourists obviously do!). Although the food was fine, we had much higher expectations for N.O. it lacked fines. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Anyone heading to N.O. would likely find this hotel acceptable for any short term stay.

Room Tip: Top floors, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Hotel Monteleone. We're glad to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful, however, we understand that the nature of the French Quarter can be a little overwhelming at times. We hope that on your return to NOLA, you would choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my first visit to NOLA and it was for a conference. Since the conference hotel (and the alternate choices) were booked solid, I chose to stay at the Monteleone for the location, being so close to Canal St. Great decision! I hadn't heard of the hotel before, but since then several friends had told me how wonderful it was. And it was cheaper as well. Every staff person I encountered was friendly and helpful. I ate in the Criollo dining room and had room service - the food (and service) was excellent. The room was a little small, as was the bathroom, but I had expected it so wasn't surprised. The bed was a bit lumpy as well. The only downsides were that my room was on the 3rd floor facing the corner of Royal & Iberville Streets, so it could be a little noisy at night (but not excessively so), and there are no vending machines on the floors. However, there's a drug store on the corner so you could easily get snacks and drinks. As it turned out, the hotel was within 3 short blocks of 2 fine restaurants I went to with colleagues, and close to lots of little quaint shops. I had heard after I booked my reservation about the hotel's ghostly inhabitants; while I encountered some activity, it was pretty minor and only added to the charm and quaintness of the Monteleone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannapeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the Hotel Monteleone. Your comments regarding the noise and comfort of your room have been brought to the management team for review. Thank you for writing a review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location in the French Quarter. Hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. We arrived around noon on a Tuesday and was able to check-in. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Roof-top pool was fabulous! Newsaper was available every day at the elevators.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank AndiMBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind review! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was awesome. 1st visit and would go back. Pool was great. At the front desk, Jani was the best. The pool is on the roof which gives good views. The gym does NOT have free weights but has machines + cardio. The views from the gym are the best.

Room Tip: Book a preferred King or Double/Double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Monteleone! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is simply First Class. The price was better than anything comparable (and there really isn't). From incoming valet service to checkout, this place treats you like they are truly happy to have you stay. We were upgraded to a suite (we don't know why, but who's complaining) and found everything in this hotel sparkling clean, polished, and wonderfully decorated. We had a drink in the Carousel Bar. This was Halloween and the bar was packed, but we were able to get a drink in pretty short order. One block to the great action on Bourbon St, but absolutely NO noise made it to our room! The best mattress we've ever slept on. Did I mention that this place was clean? Get out the white glove! The one exception to a better than great stay was the surly, angry acting departing valet attendant. If you don't want us staying at your hotel or in your fun city, just say so....I can help you with that! The management can then send you to the Motel 6. Next time, no smile, no acknowledgement, no "Thank You"....NO GRATUITY, period! We will be back to Hotel Monteleone!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of Hotel Monteleone. Your comments regarding the valet have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,323 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,558 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,295 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $186 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing