We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully old word charm”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Magnificent rooms and the service was exceptional.
Clean well appointed large rooms with great fittings.
Family owned. The carousel bar is a must see.
Great food but what would you expect from such a well run establishment.
Within walking distance of all the cities main attractions such as Burbon St, Jackson square and the Mississippi river. Don't forget to walk down Royal st and see all antique shops as well as the multitude of small jewelry stores.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We're so happy that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so exceptional. We try to provide all our guests with the exact service you described! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,835 - 5,841 of 7,806 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent the weekend here about one year ago, and it was very nice. Lobby was breathtaking when when we first came in. Rooms were good. Location is excellent, we walked everywhere, and I loved the Carosel bar. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best, fun to watch the festivities at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review of Hotel Monteleone. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went for dinner to the restaurant in the hotel,and it has top notch service and food.
What a dinner ! I start with the sample of the trio soups gumbo,corn crab and bisque.that was very good.then the salad with mango and pear assorted greens with a light dressing was out of this world very delicate,the plate was beautiful decorated, my husband loved the cheese salad plate.
The dessert was the best I ever had and I'm being around food for many years.
The presentation of the creme brûlée in a cookie shell with berries and amazing sauces around
I find it hard to describe it.Service was white glove impecable.The staff was extremely nice and professional.
The hotel had very good ambiance and is very classic.the music was perfect,very nice bar.we love every bit of it.

Room Tip: We just went for dinner at the hotel restaurant,we heard that Hotel was very good and fancy so We m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We're so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our restaurant Criollo! Thank you for writing a review - we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Charm and ambience oozes from every pore of this hotel. The staff, many of whom have been here 30 years plus, have beautiful enlightening stories about the generosity of the Monteleone Family. Enjoy every moment including the history.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranquilitytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We're delighted that you enjoyed every moment at the Hotel Monteleone! We hope all our guests feel that way when staying with us. Join us again in NOLA soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Hotel Monteleone earlier this month. From check in to check out the staff was courteous, professional, and extremely welcoming. We arrived at 10am on a Saturday morning and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. The hotel is in a great location, easily walkable to anywhere in the French Quarter and beyond. The fitness center had top of the line equipment with beautiful views of the city and the Mississippi. The Carousel Bar had great drinks. Marvin and Neil, our bartenders at the time, were exceptionally attentive and enjoyable. We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We're so happy you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so welcoming, beautiful, and fun - we certainly agree! We hope you will join us for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just one block from Bourbon St. This was in a quite area still. The employees that work there were all great. We did try the carsoul bar 1 time. It was a nice. We had a room on the haunted floor, even though we did not have any windows in the room and nothing happened with the ghost, we had a wonderful time. We will refer this hotel to all of our friends and family. And we will be back. Thanks again for the wonderful experience. Also, the roof top pool was awesome, it really helped us soak after a lot of walking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlejo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for writing such a kind review! We hope to see you in NOLA again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I traveled to NOLA for my sisters wedding this past weekend. I stayed in the hotel with 3 kids under 5. The staff was above and beyond helpful! We ordered room service the first night after a long drive and it was great! They did charge for an extra salad that we didn't order but I didn't complain because it looked good so I ended up eating it! The breakfast buffet was great and the service was excellent! We were on the 11th floor and slept very well, even the babies! My sister stayed in one of the bridal suites and it was beautiful! I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorothy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,436 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,997 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,655 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $205 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing