We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Great Service”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Affordable & Great Service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Front desk staff could not have been more accommodating from the smooth check-in process to assisting us with a room change. Beds were super comfy and room was nice and clean. They are bit on the small side, but what you expect when staying at an historic hotel like the Monteleone. The rooftop view is amazing and the pool bar is a nice touch. Fitness room also suited our needs. Tip: ask for an inside room if you are a light sleeper. There are no windows but you won't be disturbed by the noise from Bourban St. That lasts till 4am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabby222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone. We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,800
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,215
2,727
225
1,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter, a block from Bourbon St and not far from the Warehouse District. The welcome is very warm and professional, the staff quite good from what I could see. The decor is traditional New Orleans, the rooms average-sized but clean and quiet (if on the courtyard side). The bed was comfy and the bathroom quite large and nice.

BUT, and this is a big BUT and a pet peeve of mine, the Wifi was not included in the rate, and worse, they had the gall to charge to use the Business Center. Really? Yes, I know you're usually not in NOLA for work, but I was and this is something I deal with all the time. I find it both rude and cheap to charge for these, especially nowadays. It felt like we were being nickle & dime'd.

Overall, this was a good experience, but I'm pretty sure if you stayed on Royal you'd hear a lot of noise.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our decor, location and staff. We regret to hear you were not satisfied with our WiFi and Business Center costs. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display the type of hospitality on which our reputation is based.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our first stay to the Hotel Monteleone was in 1982. We will not stay anywhere else. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff is wonderful.The beds are so comfortable.
The Carousel Bar is beautiful. The hotel is also in a very good location. It's on Royal St. and the shops on Royal St. are great. Our stay there is always wonderful. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpolk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are thankful for your kind review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend and enjoyed ourselves. Keep in mind you are in the French Quarter - so yes you can hear the revelers at night. A great pool atop the building with a view and plenty of sun. Rooms were a tad small (keep in mind we had 2 adults and 2 kids) and parking isn't cheap. But the location is prime French Quarter and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floor was quieter but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svrwx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon for another wonderful trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First of all the hotel is absolutely stunning, both externally and internally and it is wonderful that the doormen were so gracious.
We got to the hotel early so they didn't have any rooms available at that time, but the front desk staff were more than helpful in guiding us to some great places to check out while we were waiting. We ended up going to a little local spot (Quarter Market) for some amazing, authentic food.
Coming back to the hotel, we were able to get a beautiful room on the 12th floor, very clean, the bed was amazing, bathrooms were beautiful.
What made our stay at the hotel even more incredible was the great staff especially Crystal, Vijay and Shantel at the front desk.
Cannot wait to return to the Big Easy (already planning our next trip) and Hotel Monteleone will be the only place we stay! It is located perfectly as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are so happy you had such a wonderful time while visiting the Hotel Monteleone! We strive to provide a similar experience for all our guests and we hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel overall and my room. Comfy bed, great internet, nice shower and lots of mirrors in the bathroom. The hotel is also in a great location. Overall I had a good two night staying would choose to stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank stefChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Monteleone! We appreciate the kind review and hope you will be able to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful. I can't believe what we paid to for such a luxurious place. The front desk staff was great. We flew into New Orleans for my dads funeral in another town. We stayed there the night before we flew back out. It had been a very difficult and long day before we got there. When the man who checked us in asked the nature of our stay, he was very kind to offer condolences. He also gave us something special to say he was sorry for our loss.

The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and the shower and tub were nice. Very good shower pressure! The room was a little small compared to some hotels in other places, but it was not too small for us, and we understand it's because of the age and location of the hotel.

The carousel bar and lounge was very classy, with nice live music.

The next morning, the concierge recommended The Ruby Slipper for breakfast. It was a great experience all around. It was a very rainy day and we only had a few hours before we would need to head for the airport. The conceding called and scheduled a bus tour for us, which turned out to be so great and worth its cost. He gave us an umbrella and we were off to make the best of our short time there. Couldn't have been a better experience. Thank you Hotel Monteleone for a great experience during a difficult time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klpcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you found Hotel Monteleone to be so beautiful, friendly, comfortable, and classy! We certainly agree! We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,698 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing