We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Semmes, Alabama
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A few days in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for three nights in September. The first night was really busy for the hotel as ther was a Saints game that day. After a short delay for our check in we settled into our room. It appears to have recently remodeled with excellent ameniites. The air conditioning worked well and the shower was the best we've ever experienced in a hotel or resort. Bell service was top notch as was the daily room maid service. New Oleans is a great town to soend a few days in with lots of things to see and do. The central location of the Monteleone and it great staff makes it our top choice for value and comfort.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Royal street can be a little noisy at night on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone a great place to stay during your trip to New Orleans! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,597
    1,520
    464
    209
    116
See reviews for
1,160
2,597
217
1,425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for the Tales of the Cocktail. The hotel was outstanding as the venue for that event but the rooms are another story. And I thought the rooms in NYC and Paris were small. I'm not exaggerating on the size. The bathroom was even smaller. No place to put a suitcase except on the bed. Because it was built so long ago when expectations were so much lower, room sizes are small and views in 75% of the rooms is non-existent.
Don't go when the hotel is busy, the pool was booked most of the time for private events, you wait in long lines for the elevator or they are full and you wait until one can accommodate you. The common area offers little respite from the crowds. Room service takes forever and the bar stays packed.
The hotel itself is beautiful and well situated for tourists. If the pool isn't busy, I imagine it offers great views. I've stayed at most hotels in New Orleans but this one isn't worth repeating. If you can opt for a larger room and go when it isn't so busy, the experience might be different.
Pass on the restaurant Criollo and opt for Mr. B's across the street. Trust me.

Room Tip: Pay more for an upgrade. Ask for a view or you'll see the window of another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans. Tales of the Cocktail is one of our premiere weekend events, making it one of the busiest times to visit the hotel. As for the size of your room, the Hotel Monteleone is a historic property that comes with a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable stay during their time in New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans' old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Plush multi storey hotel on the edge of the French Quarter perfect for sightseeing then relaxing in the rooftop pool. Rooms are spacious and clean. Excellent if pricey restaurant for breakfast - it's better to shop around
Beware the parking garage $30 per night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 508gerryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We hope to see you again in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was just here for a company incentive vacation. This hotel is great in every way, the Jr Suite we had was spotless and extremely comfortable. Every person we came into contact with was fantastic, the two doormen who helped us out with directions and transportation were exceptionable. While we did not eat in the restaurants we did spend a fair amount of time at the Carosel Bar...fun! I could not think of a better location in the French Quarter, not to close to the maddness of Bourbon St and walking to Jackson SQ / French Market etc. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boskowcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same fantastic experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I highly recommend the Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans. Step into the French Quarter and experience the history and entertainment of New Orleans. The family-owned hotel is 5 star!
From the moment you walk in and experience the grandeur, your stay will exceed your expectations. Dine at the wonderful Criollo Restaurant and relax at the Carousel Bar and Lounge. Be sure to meet Neil and Jonathan, the best bartenders in the City of Nola!

Enjoy your visit. Visit Anne at the VIP Concierge and plan your visit to the best restaurants, shopping and pure New Orleans experience.

I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room to escape the street music and celebrations below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time with us in August. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay the the Hotel Monteleone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Monteleone for a quick weekend getaway and I must admit it was amazing. The Hotel's location is its best feature. One block away from the busy streets of Bourbon and one block away from Canal Street. Easy access and walking distance to both without the all night noise they both have. The Hotel itself, although it is an old hotel, looked completely remodeled. Very clean, spacious, everything new. Other than a not so polite staff member at the front desk, our visit at the Monteleone was definitely a 5. My only suggestion is that the hotel do a random check on their front desk staff hospitality as one particular lady at the front was very uninviting and left us feeling as though we were actually troubling her. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myg0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We regret to hear about your initial experience with our front desk staff. We pride ourselves on excellent service and your comments have been brought to the attention of our management team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for a conference he was attending. We were excited about the location because the hotel is well rated and looked gorgeous online. The common areas are, in fact, beautiful. The lobby, the bars, and the rooftop pool are all very nice.

We were, however, disappointed in our room. First, it is tiny. So tiny that there was nowhere on the floor to open up our luggage without tripping over it. The linens are super cheap. No down comforter or pillows. The plumbing is LOUD. Every time the room above us uses the restroom it wakes me out of a dead sleep. Which is ironic because there is no water pressure in the shower. Everything just seems really outdated. The phones are straight up 80s. The TV system was outdated and basic channels didn't work (like, no signal on TBS).

I will say that all the employees have been super nice. We got early check in and the maid was great. But great service doesn't make up for an outdated, tiny, and uncomfortable room for the prices they charge. I'd say the room comfort was about on par with a best western.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rach2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Monteleone. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beauty of our lobby and the helpfulness of our staff.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property in which we have tried our best to preserve while still providing guests with a comfortable place to stay while visiting New Orleans. We apologize that you did not find your room to be satisfactory. Your comments about the old fashioned nature of your room have been brought to the attention of the management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,005 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,237 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing