We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was here in March 2012 for a business conference. The hotel was nice, rooms were clean and a good size. The elevators were confusing because there were different ones depending on what part of the hotel you needed, but other than that, everything was great. We got the conference rate, so I am not sure how that compares value wise, but that rate was typical. The hotel is really beautiful, and the conference rooms were nice as well as the hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay during your conference and hope to see you back soon for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,542
    1,502
    451
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,140
2,554
214
1,411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Monteleone is an older style hotel situated on the fringe of the French Quarter and Canal Street making it an ideal location for walking the city. It has large and atmospheric public rooms and nice comfortable rooms with great beds.
The area can be very busy but this is NO so you expect it but inside its an oasis of calm. Bourbon Street is the next along so you avoid the real crowds. This is on St Charles which is quieter but still near all the action and main sights. Recommend the Oyster Bar restaurant on St. Charles.
Trams for Garden District just across Canal Street are worth a trip to see the wider parts of the city.
Roof top pool area is well used and a good asset.Valet parking probably essential in NO and consequently expensive.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the amenities and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we just popped in to see the moving bar! not all that we expected but the area and hotel look marvelous. would like to stay at some time in the future. a great grandfather clock in the entry. a must see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Monteleone for a weekend get away. Check in was fast and service was outstanding. Although our room was small, it was immaculately clean, well appointed and cozy. The AC in our room was cold and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also small, but spotless - very well maintained. The history of the hotel and decor gave you a true New Orleans feeling. Location of the hotel is perfect for being in the French Quarter. Enjoyed the Carousel Bar and the live entertainment on Saturday evening. My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wcamry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone, as well as the entertainment in our Carousel Bar. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay at Hotel Monteleone! Very great service, clean and comfortable rooms. Loved the historic building and decor very nice and very "New Orleans". All the staff from the door man to parking garage was all very friendly, personable and helpful. We stayed with two kids and had no problem with noise slept great! just one block from burbon street and its a great location! I recommend it to anyone who wants a nice hotel that isn't a chain!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racheltreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed our stay and found our rooms comfortable. We hope you and your family will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

There is a difference between "old" and "historic." This joint is straight OLD! Our room was horrific. I had a bad feeling about the hotel as soon as I walked in. The furniture looked beat up and not taken care of in the lobby. I am sensitive to the fact that lobby furniture gets a lot of wear and tear but seriously, it was bad. When we finally walked into our room it just got worse. The coffee maker was from 1995 and was $10 at Walmart. I didn't want to touch anything in the room. Not that I really could since there was hardly 2 feet between the end of the bed and the armoire. Not only did everything look 100 years old, there was water damage all over the walls and ceiling. Who knows what kind of mold there was underneath.

To make matters more horrible and to top off the evening, my husband went down to talk to the manager about the condition of the room, they were totally rude! My husband asked for a different room and they said he would have to pay the difference of what we paid versus what the rate was that night.

Needless to say, we left. We stayed at the Westin on Canal street for the exact same price and it was breathtaking!

I hope this helps!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Monteleone for the Essence Music Festival. I had some idea what to expect because the hotel is always in top condition, and the staff is extremely helpful whenever I visited. The surprise this time was that we arrived early, and were allowed to check right in! I cannot say enough about the attentiveness of the Monteleone staff. We placed several bottles of water in the small refrigerator, and thought it was not working. They brought us up another refrigerator right away! The Monteleone is a boutique hotel, so it provides an intimacy that guests will appreciate. The rooms are clean - no mold creeping around the bathroom or outlets. The antique furnishings in the lobby make you feel as if you've stepped back in time when you stay in this historical hotel. All of this, and we were in the middle of the French Quarter, which means we were able to walk to all of the festival events. I love this hotel...will definitely book here for next year's festival!

Room Tip: We were in room 457, just as you step off the elevator, but since the elevator is in a small alcove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RattlerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and enjoyed your stay for Essence Festival! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff and hope you will be back to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing