We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Time at the Essence Festival” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Essence Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Monteleone for the Essence Music Festival. I had some idea what to expect because the hotel is always in top condition, and the staff is extremely helpful whenever I visited. The surprise this time was that we arrived early, and were allowed to check right in! I cannot say enough about the attentiveness of the Monteleone staff. We placed several bottles of water in the small refrigerator, and thought it was not working. They brought us up another refrigerator right away! The Monteleone is a boutique hotel, so it provides an intimacy that guests will appreciate. The rooms are clean - no mold creeping around the bathroom or outlets. The antique furnishings in the lobby make you feel as if you've stepped back in time when you stay in this historical hotel. All of this, and we were in the middle of the French Quarter, which means we were able to walk to all of the festival events. I love this hotel...will definitely book here for next year's festival!

Room Tip: We were in room 457, just as you step off the elevator, but since the elevator is in a small alcove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RattlerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and enjoyed your stay for Essence Festival! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff and hope you will be back to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,461
    1,484
    446
    206
    111
See reviews for
1,120
2,515
210
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abita Springs,LA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, wonderful experience. The staff was awesome. The bar and restaurant were much better than expected. The rooftop pool is a secret getaway! I highly recommend this lovely hotel which is so conveniently located. The off street valet is wonderful as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitarmakerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I live in New Orleans but I love a staycation and the Hotel Monteleone is always my number one pic. The hotel is beautiful and the staff amazing. There is also a great restaurant and bar there. And the rooftop pool is the perfect ending to a fun day in the French Quarter. I can't wait until I'm back again.

Room Tip: I prefer the higher floors. This last stay I was on the 9th floor and the room was very quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you come staycation with us! We hope you'll be back to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My first visit to New Orleans lived up to my expectations. The Hotel Monteleone was the perfect place to stay as its located right in the quarter. While the room was a bit small the affordability factor made it reasonable. The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly. This hotel has a rooftop pool which is definitely a place to visit. They have plenty of chairs and a bar with a small food menu. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit, which is hopefully soon.

The only negatives were the pool was dirty (last day of our stay there was bugs, hair and debris in the pool). You would think before the pool opened in the morning they would have cleaned it. The drink prices were on the high end but not totally of unreasonable.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know visiting NOLA in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. We will be sure to pass along your comments about the pool and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel immediately. Thank you again for taking time to give us feedback and please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had been staying several days at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans (French Quarter) while my wife was at a seminar and really didn't want to leave, but the weekend rate increased (twice - initally was told $179, then later that day, was told $279 when my wife inquired as to staying an additional night). the price increase was close to $150 more ($279), and just one block away (walking distance) the Hotel Monteleone was $147.

Room Tip: stayed on 7th floor. some rooms had view of Royal Street, but we chose one that did not because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatStroke64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you extended your vacation with us an hope you and your wife will be back again to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed here for all of my many trips to New Orleans, and each time I arrive I feel like I am coming home to stay with family. No matter where you are in the hotel, the staff seems to be right there when you need something, always with that intoxicating local accent and politeness, then they seem to disappear as quietly as they appeared. I have enjoyed trips alone, with groups of friends, with work associates, and with my husband. Each trip has been as different as the next, but I have always found that the center of the enjoyment has been the Monteleone. Be it the cool air-conditioned rooms with thick luxurious bedding, or the relaxing poolside breezes, or the bartenders who make it look easy during celebration times.
I adore this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you feel like our hotel is like coming home. That's exactly what we hope for! We hope you will be back to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed at The Monteleone a few times in the past 5 years. Every time, it has been a great experience. The location is wonderful in the quarter, yet the hotel and the rooms feel like an oasis of calm. The service is great and the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandersdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that over the past five years, you've had many positive experiences with us and we appreciate you sharing that on TripAdvisor. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing