We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hotel Monteleone is located in the popular French Quarter on Rue Royal. Only a couple of streets off Bourbon, it allows you to walk to where the action is but without the hustle, bustle and noise of this strip. The hotel itself is stunning, with a magnificent foyer and clean and lovely rooms. The restaurant "Criollo" is exceptional and the hotel is also home to the Carousel Bar and Lounge which plays late night jazz as you sip dirty martini's whilst rotating anti-clockwise on the carousel around the bar. A much classier bar than most you would find on Bourbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kylie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel! We deeply appreciate the kind words and are thrilled to hear you found our location convenient to all New Orleans has to offer. We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,723 - 5,729 of 7,519 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is Beautiful, Bar is Amazing, Location couldn't be better. Staff was professional and accommodating, always with a smile and very helpful. Room was clean and a lil small but was more than comfortable. Already looking to book another trip to NOLA and staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolnkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for taking time to review our hotel! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed our bar and location and recommend our hotel to others. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A fantastic place,right in the middle of the french quarter, a lot of history, a great and unique carousel bar (yes the bar revolves), great roof top pool, some really nice in house restaurants and great food, service and ambience. With some good performances thrown in, I believe it is one of the best places to be in the 'big easy'. Conveniently located on Royal Street and most places that you would want to go to are at a walking distance ; be it Bourbon street, the riverside, the french market, jackson square, the street car stop or few of the best restaurants in New Orleans.Would highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Please specifcy that you woudl want rooms that are at a higher level and provide a view of the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raunak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to see you enjoy your stay and our rooftop pool, food, and service! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We checked in a bit early.
The front desk staff was truely great..Super friendly, fast and very helpfull with directions etc.
The rooms are amazing... I loved the lights on the ceiling...
Great view of the mississippi river from our room.
The elevators are a tad bit small.
We had nothing spooky happen :(
I would highly recomend this hotel.
Just the atmosphere alone made it great.
Read the history of the property.
To get a cab was super easy and quick.
The price was a we bit high but this was my first trio to Nola.so we sucked it up and im so glad we spent at least one night there.
Its a great location in the French Quarter.
We stayed there at the end of April upon returning from a cruise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the room and the view of the Mississippi River! We hope you will be back to see us soon and perhaps you'll get to see some of our hauntings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Overall, this large and renovated hotel has lots of advantages, but has a number of quirks too. The rooms are typically small, with little opportunity of an upgrade (there simply are few larger rooms, apparently). The most frustrating aspect for us was the multiple elevator options (some go here, some go there), so getting to the very small pool is a challenge, for example, and there are no markings on the various elevator banks (or in the elevators) to tell you which elevators go where. With the buildings separated, most rooms have virtually no view whatsoever.

The restaurant is very good, but somewhat pricey, and the adjoining revolving cocktail lounge is large and very pleasant.

Staff are pleasant, but the front desk personnel are inconsistent both in attitude and how they respond to inquiries. (Strangely, the doormen seemed the most consistently approachable!)

Overall, if the desire is for a well located large hotel in the French Quarter, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will work to improve the opportunities you mentioned in your review. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let me preface this by saying the I live on Miami Beach and my sister lives in NYC and my husband and I met her in New Orleans for an eating/drinking weekend. Hip, urban hotels are what we are familiar with so we wanted something more "New Orleansy". If you go to New Orleans, you may as well experience what the South was as far as the architecture and the ambience. The Monteleone is probably the BEST location you will find within the Quarter as it is one block off of Bourbon. Beware of hotels that are right on Bourbon because you will absolutely get no sleep! Bourbon Street for sure contains the most intoxicated people in one place on this planet. It is a 24/7 party!
The Monteleone is a beautiful old world hotel like those found all over Europe. As the other reviews have noted, the rooms are quite small as is the bathroom. So, if you are looking for space in your NOLA accommodations, this is not the place for you. The room does, however, have everything you need: a hairdryer, an in-room coffee machine/in-room safe, comfortable beds, and it is clean as a whistle. We did not have any noise problems from the street but the walls are VERY thin and if you have some party people in the next room, you will definitely hear them (you hear regular talking too).
The hotel itself is hopping ALWAYS! The Carousel Bar has a lot to do with that. It is a very popular place and crowded all of the time. Hard to get a seat in there but it is a great place to go into after experiencing the debauchery of Bourbon Street. It attracts a much more gentile, older crowd (who are still drinking of course!).
The hotel has a nice but small gym. It was completely full when we went on Sunday morning. The hotel pool is lovely and was not all that crowded at the time we were there. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but darn, did it smell good!
We did stop for drinks at the W, which is a few blocks up and was also really well located within the Quarter. It is your typical W that is hip and cool with a very NY/Miami vibe to it. We did not see rooms but would imagine that they would have to be bigger than the Monteleone. If you want hip/cool, this would be a better place to stay. However, if you want to experience a more classic, New Orleans hotel, the Monteleone would certainly fit the bill!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benandlaurensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and greatly appreciate you leaving such a positive, in-depth review about our hotel! We hope you and your family will come to see us again for another great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel Monteleone is an historic Hotel with beatiful charm. We stayed here in February 2012 and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel has a Carousel bar and a wonderful welcoming staff. We ate dinner directly across the street at "The Bistro". Right in the heart of the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. This is a historic hotel so please take in account it has that old charm. I found the accomadations to be comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from Elevators. Remember the higher traffic areas will be noisy. You are in New Orleans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhopstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Carousel Bar and our convenient location! We deeply appreciate your feedback and hope you'll be back to see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,237 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,781 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,250 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $214 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing