We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover New Orleans”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent location and convenient to everything. Close enough to Bourbon St & other tourist haunts but very quiet. Our room was very comfortable with a great view of the river. The Carousel bar is fun but they could upgrade the wine list. The restaurant was fine, but there are many other options we in this great restaurant city.
The concierge team is very good and most helpful with restaurant recommendations.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: High corner room with river view was worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to share your review of your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to The Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,063 - 6,069 of 7,701 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just recently stayed one-night at the hotel. The property has great location and elegant from the outside, which includes lobby and bar. The rooms are the issue: The rooms are small, the beds uncomfortable, and air flow unbearable. The rooms have single thermostat, but learned quickly, not controlling the air flow. The rooms must be controlled from one system. Due to lack of air (rooms were hot), I will not consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ds832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Your comments regarding the temperature of your rooms are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

A gorgeous, marbled and brass adorned lobby greeted us as we entered into the famed Hotel Monteleone. The lights shimmered off the glass chandelier changing the atmosphere from the raucous outside; we were indeed in a French setting.
The lobby is palatial and bustling with activity, though was not overcrowded. Well-suited attendants are quick to serve you. The front desk clerk appointed us a river view room on a higher floor which was small but quiet and well-equipped for our needs. A sparkling pool awaited us on the rooftop where we found warm towels and a maid who was quick with a smile and fast hand.
The Carousel Bar is a beautiful sight to behold, bringing back memories of childhood days, but with an adult theme. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, Criollo, but the smell of their dishes were hard to pass up.
Upon checkout, we were charged for Internet usage, though it was deducted from the bill without hesitation.
Our biggest delight was our bellman. His name eludes me, though he's been there since the early 60's. Full of information, he shared stories and fun with the children and is truly the epitome of old fashion service.
If you're looking for luxury and service in New Orleans, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyGirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed your accommodations, our rooftop pool and Carousel Bar & Lounge. Next visit you'll have to try our restaurant as well! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us here, and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had an excellent four day stay at the Hotel Monteleone. The property is elegant and well maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable and, most of all, quiet. All the noise of the French Quarter remained outside and coming back to our room felt like returning to an island of calm. The room was not large, but it was perfectly fine for two people with adequate drawer and closet space. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel restaurant so much that we came back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations, breakfast in Criollo and our location in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review here and do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

*This review is only for the parking garage*** If I could do a zero-star rating, I would.

We stayed in the hotel for 3 days. From the beginning of the trip there were some red flags, and it by the end of the trip we were very upset...

1) We drove into the parking garage. We stepped out of the car. An attendant then steps into the car and drives it. We were never even given a ticket or a number. We approach a nearby attendant and tell them "We're staying at the hotel." He responds, "did you get a ticket?" "no." He then flags down the attendant who is currently driving our car and stops him. He gives half of a ticket to the attendant in the car and the other half to us. This did not happen until after WE approached THEM.

2) On day 2 of our stay, there were several things we wanted to keep held in the car. We approach the counter and make a request to be taken to the car so we can take some bags to the car. The attendant behind the counter says that we cannot be taken to the car. Instead, an attendant will be able to take our things from us and assures us that he will be transporting them into the car. At the end, our belongings were indeed transferred into the trunk of the car, but it did not sit well with us to hand over our belongings to be taken to the car without our supervision. I couldn't see the harm in our request to be taken to the car so we could put the items in their ourselves. We had no idea what problems this caused when it was time for us to check out...

3) On the last day of the trip, we went to the counter to request that the car be brought to us so we could finally depart for the airport. We gave the lady behind the counter our portion of the ticket, but she could not locate the counterpart. She was scrambling for a while, until finally she called over one of the attendants. I explain to them that the last time the car was touched was when we had an attendant take our belongings to the car to be kept held in the car. We suggest that perhaps the attendant who took our belongings to the car may have never returned the ticket to the front counter. Finally, after determining their portion of the ticket will never be found, the attendant went to go search for our car. He went to the lot across the street, and came back empty handed. The car wasn't there. He then went to a different lot in the same facility as the hotel to search for the car there. While he was searching for the car, my companion and I were frantic. The lady behind the counter remained smug with attitude. For some reason she asks for our ticket again. We tell her that she never gave it back to us. She maintains that she did. This went back and forth for a while. A while later, the attendant finally emerged with our car. Turns out she had given it to HIM. He had the ticket the whole time.

Overall, having our car parked at the Hotel Monteleone Parking Lot was stress laced and anger inducing. I would suggest that you park at a neighboring lot. There are many different parking lots in the neighborhood. Dealing with this parking lot really spoilt our attitudes and caused unnecessary stress.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank disgruntledparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your encounter with our valet parking. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced and your comments have been brought to the attention of our management for review. I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is our 7th stay here. And it is the same every time. This is the epitome of classic New Orleans. From the Carousel, to the rooms and the staff, nothing is left to chance. The rooms are clean and traditional. It's close to everywhere you want to visit. I keep wanting to try other hotels......but why? I know what I'm going to get and I love it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are so honored to hear that you have stayed with us 7 times and will continue to stay with us on your future New Orleans visits! We are thrilled to hear that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your experiences with us from our friendly staff to our Carousel Bar & Lounge. We truly appreciate your patronage and you taking the time to share your review here. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is quite charming in its architecture and furnishings. However, the space is still an issue if more than one person is sharing the room. The linens and shower were fine, and the beds were comfortable. The ironing board was laughable--we just had to take a photo. It was a perfect miniature of a "normal" one--but just about 3 feet long with legs that raised it about 2 1/2 feet off the floor--just weird!
I was disappointed in the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. The variety of offerings was good., but the food itself was not particularly tasty; pastries were definitely stale. I had so looked forward to having some great chicory coffee in New Orleans, but definitely did not find it here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mambolimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. We regret that you did not receive the level of service and quality in our restaurant that we are capable of providing, and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to display to you the level of excellence upon which our reputation is based and you have every right to expect. We value your patronage and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $199 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing