We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great...”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good, but not great...”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

The good: It's a beautiful hotel with a cool carousel bar and, if the French Quarter is your game, the location is pretty much perfect. Service was excellent and very accommodating, from behind the desk to the concierge. The gym was actually better than expected and the pool was pretty nice. It was closed on the day of arrival, so I can't give a full review. It had water! That's about it. But it looked like a great place to relax, up on the roof, with a nice view.

The sorta bad: Loud! This is the fourth hotel I've stayed in in NO, to include two very cheap motels back in the day, and this was easily the loudest. I get the people returning from drunken revelry, and I can live with that, but hearing the X-rated grunts and groans from neighbors is a little much (the neighbors are as much to blame as the hotel on that one). I felt like I was on a San Fernando Valley movie set. Also, as mentioned to exhaustion, the rooms are microscopically small. After reading reviews, I purposely booked a "deluxe" room (supposedly larger and one promising a good view). I had to go back to the desk to confirm it was a deluxe room. It was.

Still, it was a very nice hotel and very clean with a friendly staff. It provided a great central location to return to amid sightseeing and the lobby bar was a great place to hang out. So good, but not great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mdcawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,742
    1,572
    478
    212
    117
See reviews for
1,191
2,691
222
1,469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We chose the Monteleone over the Omni after reading reviews that made them sound like comparable hotels.

We reserved a "deluxe" room for four nights and at check in, requested the largest available but were told there weren't any larger rooms. Instead, we were given a tiny room right off the elevator. We were shocked to see the room. The furniture was shabby and damaged - we've stayed in Holiday Inn Expresses that were nicer. There was also a notice letting us know the pool would be closed the following day, so if we wanted to swim, we could walk over to the Omni and use its pool. We called the front desk to tell them of our disappointment with the room and were immediately moved to a new room. This room was larger but had very noticeable stains on the carpet and more damaged furniture. We couldn't believe a hotel that bills itself as four-star was this shabby.

That evening we walked by the Omni Royal and decided to check out what we had passed up. The front desk staff quoted us a rate that was $20 a night cheaper than what we were paying at the Monteleone and showed us a roomy, clean, well-maintained room. ... When we got back to the Monteleone, we couldn't get into our room because the key card wouldn't work. My husband went downstairs to the front desk to have it fixed, came back up to the room and the card still wouldn't open the door. So he had to go back a second time. ... We decided we'd be checking out the next day and moving to the Omni. The Monteleone staff grudgingly let us go without charging us a second night as a penalty. But they wanted to know why we simply didn't ask them to move us to a THIRD room that might be move in line with our expectations.

Over at the Omni, we had a great stay. The staff was fantastic. When we checked in, they gave our daughter a little backpack filled with toys and treats. The rooftoop pool and bar were great. ... We definitely recommend the Omni over the Monteleone, especially if you have kids....

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank subtext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Most of the previous reviews had it right. First the bad: the room was so small that when the dresser drawers were open, you could not walk past the bed. At the end of my first day, I returned at 4:30 PM after walking all day and found that the room was not made up. When I called housekeeping, they informed me that they had until 5 to make up the room and if I wanted early cleaning, I should schedule it. So for the next 3 days, I asked to have the room made up by 1 or 2 pm. And it worked - they got the message. But at a 4 star, you might expect turn down service, not a cheeky "we have until 5 to clean your room."

On the good side, everyone except housekeeping was helpful and pleasant. I arrived late, nearly 10 PM and checkin was prompt and efficient. The room was clean and the bathroom was large. The AC had a thermostat so you could turn it off/on and set the temp. The halls were quiet. It was a great location and felt very safe. There was an ATM in the hotel - very handy and a FREE Internet kiosk to print boarding passes and check flight status.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping attitude
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sactoresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We picked this hotel because the conference my wife was attending was headquartered there. The location was really fantastic, right on Royal and only a block from Bourbon. We were lucky enough to get one of the larger/newly renovated rooms. The room was clean and modern, but nothing to write home about. We saw the room of our not-so-lucky friends and it was extremely small with a tiny bathroom and ancient looking fixtures. On the plus side, the pool was a pleasant way to take a break from the day's activities--there is ample sun-bathing space and a pool-side bar. My biggest complaint was that we were not permitted to enter our room until 5pm. They stored our luggage, and there was obviously plenty to keep us busy around the French Quarter. But we arrived at the hotel from the airport at 11am. No one at the check-in desk was interested in making sure that we were placed in a first available room. We sat in the lobby watching people arrive at 3pm and promptly receive there key. I have never had to wait so long to get into my hotel room. Next time, I'll try a new place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — check-in
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetlouBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Was exctied to stay at the Grande Dame of New Orleans hotel and sure enough it was a lovely property. Impressive lobby, nicely appointed.

Location in the heart of the French Quarter was very convenient (watch the block between the hotel and Canal Street though, pretty gamey even to a NYer.)

Booked a deluxe King sized room and can't imagine what was deluxe about it. Room was tiny (so tiny that amoire doors had to be pushed in so one could pass by -- there was about 12 inches between armoire and bed!) Small bathroom with cheap toiletries. Windows were painted shut, and impossible to open, deluxe room did not have a balcony Large HVAC unit outside the room hummed all night.

On the plus side the hotel offers smoking rooms, has a good gym and a pretty roof top pool.

Hard to put a finger on it, but overall was disappointing. Nice that it wasn't a chain or a flop house but was absolutely not worth price of $339 that we paid even with convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We chose this from a list of conference hotels for its perfect location in the French Quarter. We found it good value for money and it has a bit of old world fading grandeur about it which is attractive in the splendid lobby but less welcome in the smallish slightly worn rooms and tiny bathroom. The minibar was poorly stocked (or maybe not to our taste). Inroom internet charges are ludicrously high--why do hotels charge for a service which costs them so little? But service was good, always friendly and the two concierges, Eva and Cleatter (yes that's how it was spelt; it's a Creole family name)were superbly helpful. Rooms were made up after lunch, too late in our view and there is no turn-down service or refreshing of towels. If you want your sheets changed you have to leave a card requesting it--with the usual 'spiel' that they're trying to be green: maybe, but it feels like they are trying to be cheap.

Everyone raves about New Orleans cooking; we found it good if rich but a bit 'samey' in the well known spots. The Hunt Room in the Monteleone provides competent cooking in the genre. There are more atmospheric places. And if your head isn't spinning before a cocktail in the Carousel Bar it certainly will be afterwards, if only because your seat revolves around the bartender, but it's a popular spot and a bit of fun in this Grande Dame of a hotel. Overall we'd recommend and go back.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We just got back from a great 3 night stay at the Hotel Monteleone. Our suite was on the 4th floor without a view and very spacious. The room décor was nothing spectacular but the attention to detail was impressive. Our room was spotless everyday, not one hair or bit of dust left behind. Also, there was nightly turn down service and little extras that made it seem a lot more like a 5 star hotel. The location was perfect if you do not want to be in the heart of Bourbon Street were it can get a little rowdy, but close enough to partake in the party if you chose too. The rooftop pool was small and it was difficult to secure a lounge chair but the gym was well equipped so that you would not have to wait to use the machines. Overall we had a great stay at and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Pool was too small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,559 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,101 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing