We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Quarter!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for a night just prior to Mardi Gras. The lobby was immaculate despite the many tourists stopping in for a look, or on their way to the famous Carousel Bar. Our room was a Preferred King and had windows overlooking Royal and Bienville Streets, also immaculate. Bathroom was small, but had everything we needed, nice granite finishes and mirrors. The bed was quite comfortable and room was spacious. There was street noise and windows are somewhat older. But certainly not as loud as hotels closer to Bourbon St. Doormen were fun & friendly! Enjoyed our drink at the Carousel Bar. The smell wafting from the Criollo restaurant was intoxicating, but we had reservations at Mr. B's across the street. Will certainly return!

Room Tip: I liked the view from the corner room on the 4th floor, but a higher floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotALostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear DC-Cajun,

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear you had such a remarkable experience from the lobby to the room and the Carousel Bar. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,346 - 6,352 of 7,912 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Monteleone Dec. 27 - 31, 2013. This was a very charming hotel. The room was spacious, the staff very attentive and the location was absolutely perfect. We also really enjoyed the Carousel Bar on premise. Although we never got the opportunity to actually sit on the carousel, the bar itself made for a perfect start or end to our evenings. It was very cozy and the cocktails were top notch. I can't imagine there being a better hotel to stay in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo4391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate you taking time out to share your experience during your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience and found our accommodations, staff and location to be "absolutely perfect." We're so glad you had such a great visit and do hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in the Monteleone 3 nights for a conference. Room was very comfortable and clean. Ate breakfast, lunch and room service dinner -- all meals excellent. Was given a room overlooking the elevator shaf, that part wasn't so great. Hotel bar was undergoing renovation, so was unable to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twoneatboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay at Hotel Monteleone for your conference. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your in-room dining. The renovations to our Carousel Bar & Lounge are complete and they are beautiful. We have live music and additional seating options for our guests to enjoy cocktails and entertainment. We hope you'll join us for a stay and a spin around the Carousel Bar next time you're in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent five of the greatest days of my life in New Orleans all centered around my stay in this hotel. Monteleone was the base hotel for my wedding weekend. The staff accommodated my family and friends so well that almost two years later they still talk about how wonderful it was. Somehow its in the heart of the French Quarter but manages to remain separate from all the fray just a block over on Bourbon. The place is beautiful and the staff from the Doorman to the Bartenders (nothing like the Carousel Bar)where top notch. Every return trip to NOLA I stay at Monteleone or at the very least stop by to visit.
My travel was in April 2011.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedimasterkoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to share your review of Hotel Monteleone with us. We are so thrilled to hear you had such an incredible experience with us. We are so happy to know that our staff helped create the perfect wedding weekend for you and your husband and your family and friends. We are so touched to know that you stay with us or at least stop in the Carousel Bar & Lounge for a drink to toast to your wedding weekend at Hotel Monteleone. Congratulations on your marriage, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

As a meeting planner, I had a corporate group of 90 at the hotel in January. I had looked at many of the hotels in New Orleans and I am so happy that I selected the Hotel Monteleone. The hotel is extremely well maintained and up-to-date with technology. The group loved the location and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it for groups or as an individual. If I have an opportunity to bring another group to New Orleans, it will be to the Hotel Monteleone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCCBoylston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that your group had such a wonderful stay with us. We are glad that you found our service to be friendly and helpful and our accommodations to be up-to-date and well maintained. We hope to see you again the next time you plan a group visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What's not to like about the Monteleone. My absolute favorite place to stay in New Orleans French Quarter. I love the Riverview Suites. The staff always are welcoming and make you feel like you are coming home. They remember you by name and love to share tid bits about their wonderful city. Elegant, relaxing, warm enviroment. A++ Service.

Room Tip: I love the Riverview Suites. Lovely view of the river and away from the busy street. They are pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you have had such wonderful experiences at Hotel Monteleone. We're thrilled to know that the service and hospitality that our staff provides has made such a positive impact on your visits. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From the moment you get a warm greeting by the doormen, you know this is a special place. Located a few blocks away from Bourbon Street, the Monteleone is in the perfect place in this great city. The Hotel is just beautiful, it is like walking back in time into the elegance and grandeur of a historic luxury hotel. The service and staff are helpful, friendly, warm and very professional. Make sure you stop at the Carousel Bar and say hello to Parker and Eddie, the best barmen I have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctordan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and such a fabulous time in the Carousel Bar. We hope to see you again soon on your next New Orleans visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,634 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,396 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,723 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $207 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing