We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We Loved New Orleans and this Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We Loved New Orleans and this Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

On a whim, my wife and I decided to spend 4 nights in New Orleans just before Thanksgiving in 2012. We had considered the Caribbean, Mexico and other warm destinations, but the travel time was unappealing to us. I have always wanted to visit New Orleans, but I was reluctant because of the perception that, 1- It’s a party town, 2- It is a wreckage due to Katrina. Just as with most other things, perception was not equal to reality. We had a great time in New Orleans and I would go back on a moment’s notice. To sum it up: The people are very friendly. There are a tremendous amount of places to see and go throughout the city. The food was fantastic. The shopping is top notch. The city is clean and, unless you visit the 9th ward (which we did on a tour) you would hardly know that Katrina ever reared her ugly head. If you want to party, it’s there, if you want to escape and have a quiet time, you can have that too. The Monteleone is a charming piece of history located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street. The rooms are quaint, classic and clean. The concierge was incredibly helpful. In fact, the only complaint I have is that the doormen were not always attentive, but who needs a doorman, not me. There is a modern fitness facility and a beautiful rooftop pool area as well. We did not eat at the restaurant; however, many locals claimed that they had excellent food. Royal St is where you want to be located if you enjoy a party, but it’s not your primary goal. Royal is located 1 block from Bourbon Street, just far enough to avoid the madness, although a bit of madness is okay...right? You head up Royal to see a multitude of Art Galleries, antique shops, restaurants (I suggest breakfast and coffee at Cafe Beignet), etc. The atmosphere is magnetic. Bourbon Street is wild and smelly. You have to see it and experience it, but it's not a place for me, at least, not every night. We loved New Orleans and Hotel Moneleone and can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your visit to New Orleans and your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and found our accommodations, staff and amenities to be "top notch." We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,367
    1,470
    442
    199
    109
See reviews for
1,101
2,481
209
1,338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent three days in the French Quarter of New Orleans and have to say that the Hotel Monteleone was the high point of my trip. The French Quarter itself was rather depressing and dirty, yet the Hotel Monteleone was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and the staff even better. If you must go to this area I would highly recommend this hotel as your place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on a floor that is supposed to be haunted by ghosts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Jim,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your experience at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodations. We are glad we were able to provide you with a relaxing environment in the midst of the busy French Quarter. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Monteleone multiple times, most recently Jan. 26-28 and it never disappoints. Very nice rooms with excellent amenities and comfortable beds. Although we didn't use them this time, there is a good size (for a hotel) gym and a lovely rooftop pool. Great location in the FQ...away from Bourbon Street and right in the heart of the Royal and Chartres St galleries and shops. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartny1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed your accommodations, our location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of every thing. You can walk to anything you want to do.The rooms are very nice and the beds are as comfortable as you can get in a hotel.The Carousel bar is very unique and alot of fun. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations, found our beds to be so comfortable and had a fun time in our Carousel Bar and Lounge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location and accommodations near all major attractions, yet on a beautiful quiet side of Royal street. Doorman and staff friendly. Love the bar area! AC worked great, husband likes it cold! Beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slfults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience at Hotel Monteleone - we appreciate it! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our accommodations, location and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Monteleone previously and loved it. This recent trip was a huge disappointment as money was stolen from our locked in-room safe. We stayed for 4 nights and on the last night I woke in the night with a sore throat and wanted to take a cold pill. I went into my night stand and found the new blister pack of Advil Cold and Sinus almost all gone, only 3 pills left! I thought this was odd. We had some problems with housekeeping during this stay (hair dryer disappeared; no washcloths or hand towels; no toilet paper) but it was minor. I decided to check the safe and found $400. missing from a bank envelope in a folder in the locked safe! I checked with my husband and we recounted our expenses and times and amounts that had been removed, and there was no explanation for the missing $400. I called the manager and filed a complaint. She later came to our room to look at the safe but kept saying there was no way to open it without the combination. I have seen on TV where hotel employees have been caught on camera opening the safe and removing cash. I never expected this at a hotel the caliber of the Monteleone. It has been a week since we left, and the manager has not contacted us regarding the results of her " investigation". I received an email from another manager asking about our stay, but no response to that either. DO NOT LEAVE CASH IN THE HOTEL ROOM SAFE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kkkkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review. I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

7 of my girlfriends and I stayed here over MLK weekend and it was fabulous! Our standard rooms were small, but nice (love the Keurig and super comfy beds). It was even warm enough one morning to swim in the pool! And the location in the French Quarter was PERFECT! It was a close enough to Bourbon Street to feel lively, but far enough to stay classy and except for our Garden District tour, we were able to walk EVERYWHERE that was on our agenda. The bloody marys at the Carousel Bar are a must-have. You can skip the spa though unless you're really desperate. My massage was nice, but the girl who booked our reservations was confused and super disorganized and the tiny spa is not conducive to just hanging around, relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you and your girlfriends had such a fantastic stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are thrilled to hear that you loved your rooms and our location and had such a great time in our rooftop pool and Carousel Bar & Lounge. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,721 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing