We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent and great location”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Consistent and great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed twice in the hotel over the Christmas holidays and have always found it comfortable, clean, and reasonable. Very well located and enjoy the Carousel bar (when you can get a seat). Have found very interesting people to have a great conversation and the bartenders are knowledgeble/friendly. Never eaten in the restaraunt as there are many places to try. Would reccomend it as a place to stay for your first time in this great city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rt113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Monteleone during the Christmas holiday. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, Carousel Bar & Lounge and found our staff to be friendly. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,800
    1,590
    483
    213
    118
See reviews for
1,215
2,727
225
1,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Chose to stay here for New Years's eve in New Orleans. Great place to stay. Easy walk to just about everything thing you could want to see or do. Went to the carousel bar in the hotel but was not able to get a seat. Will go back and take a turn at the bar. Staff was great. Check in was a breeze. Room was a little small, but that is the style of the older hotels in town. King size bed did take up part of the room, but worth it. Both the wife and I slept well. Not as good as home, but it was nice. Only complaint about the whole experience was how loud the toilet is when it flushes. There is no mistake of what is going on in the room above when they flush at 3 a.m. Over all, would I stay there again? Oh yeah! Already planning the next big date with the wife.

Room Tip: Book early for big events going on in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DriftinCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Hotel Monteleone with your wife for New Year's Eve! We're so glad our friendly staff was able to make the visit so memorable. We're happy to have been able to help you ring in the new year in style in the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us here, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Iconic French Quarter hotel. Stayed for a week over Christmas in a standard room. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Although very busy there was a warm and friendly atmosphere. Only negatives, the standard room is very small as is the bathroom. However recently refurbished and very well done. The bar was always extremely busy often with what I guess were non residents due to it's positive reviews in many tour guides. Not a major issue but annoying having to search for a seat. This was throughout both bar areas at at various times Very high calibre of jazz by live artists. Would have rated 5 but for the 2 negatives. However I would certainly will return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Standard rooms fine if you don't plan to spend any time there. However if you want a couple of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and had such a lovely time listening to our live entertainment in the Carousel Bar & Lounge. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were quite shocked to learn, when we got our car out of the garage; following our visit to New Orleans, there was a large gash at the bottom of the driver side door. I noticed it as soon as the car was brought around to the front for us to leave the Hotel.

This was a new car and we planned a "road trip" to get out in our new rig and have some fun. Once we handed the keys off to the Valet service; at check in, we never got our car back out until check-out day; for our return home.

I immediately reported the damage and we filled out the paperwork, be3fore we left the hotel, to head home.

What we wanted to see and what we asked to see, was a "time stamped" video stream of our car, as it was being parked in storage. What we got was a blurry "still" picture from that video stream that had our check in date and check out date listed.

I talked to several "managers" at the hotel and was passed around and/or ignored by request for a call back. I was shocked to learn that the only way we could actually get a view of this video (to determine if the damage was there when we arrived) is to get the New Orleans Police Department involved and sue the hotel!

Really?

Instead of a view of the video I was told "trust us, it was there when you arrived. WE have seen the video" Again, are you kidding me? So I said, please let us review the video and if we are incorrect, we would be the first to send a gift basket for the trouble.

It seems very suspect to me, that "they" won't release this video footage and put our minds at ease. In fact, when we turned our keys over to the valet, I took a walk around the car and told the valet; this is a new car and there are not dings and dents on it...please take care of it for us..........."

That was that and I just had to be honest with anybody else, who may be unsuspecting about the care of their vehicle in this same situation. I was told by one of the "managers" they spent a lot of money putting in a security system/camera operation....But, who would know if this is true or not.

It isn't about the money, it's the principle of the thing. We paid first rate, 4 star prices at this Hotel and the "managers" spoke to me like they work at a roach coach inn. We just expected first class support with our inquiry and that did not take place.

This hotel is overrated.

Room Tip: Aside from the dispute with the damage to the car, we had to ask to get our room cleaned, after bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review. I hope you will reconsider your impression of Hotel Monteleone and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we did manage to stop in and have a drink at the famous Carousel bar- it was incredible! From the carousel lights at the top of the circular bar, down to the details on each of the bar stools, I am glad we visited. The actual bar spins around (very slowly), which adds to the ambience. We did go on a Friday night, so the bar was pretty full, but they have lounge chairs and tables to sit at as well. Either way, it was great to visit for a drink or two- stop in and check it out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missg920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We're so glad you had such a wonderful time in the Carousel Bar & Lounge! We appreciate you taking time out to share your review, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not stay but we were impressed by how friendly and pleasant the hotel staff at the lobby were. We went to the bar and dining room and we had a very good experience. The Security staff at the lobby was very client-oriented. He volunteered to take photo of my husband and I and he even made positive suggestions so that we could have good pics. On our way out, he even followed us to give a better-looking shopping bag - than the regular Allstate plastic bag we had. What service!!! Next time we visit New Orleans, we plan to book at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear TravelMystique,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We're so glad to hear that you were welcomed so warmly by our staff. We hope the photos turned out well so you have a nice memento of your visit to Hotel Monteleone!

We hope you have a great time in New Orleans and look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to The Big Easy! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monteleone from Dec. 27-30, a vacation trip through Amtrak Vacations. Start to finish, we had a spectacular experience! The hotel is gorgeous and our room was well-appointed. There was some street noise the last night, but what do you expect from Saturday night in the French Quarter? Randy the concierge was especially helpful, tracking down a couple of non-allergenic bed pillows - if someone from the hotel is reading this, please make it a regular option! Everything you want to see in the French Quarter and nearby areas is an easy walk. We were sad to leave the Monteleone and would cheerfully return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnLParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of Hotel Monteleone. We truly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you had such a "spectacular" stay with us! It sounds like you had a marvelous time exploring the French Quarter with an easy walk from our front doors. We're so glad Randy was so helpful in accommodating your request. Your remarks about the non-allergenic pillows have been noted and will be brought to the attention of our management team. Thank you for sharing!

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,105 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,698 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing