We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess who's back...back again!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ok, I know I said I would stay faithful to a different hotel but I must admit, that while my allegiances haven't changed, I now have 2 favorite hotels here and The Hotel Monteleone is one of them.

One great plus for Monte is that it really is alive and you always feel the energy of the hotel and its guests.

I came back again for Halloween and I couldn't have been happier with my stay. I wish it were warmer so I could've enjoyed the awesome pool but hey, there's always next time.

I look forward to coming back and chilling, lounging, swimming, spinning at the Carousel Bar, and eating at Criollo soon.

Stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryDiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear HarryDiggs,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us during Halloween! Come back in the spring when the temperatures get a bit warmer so you'll be able to enjoy our rooftop pool as you had hoped! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,175 - 6,181 of 7,634 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had delightful stay at the Monteleone. There were eight of us in four rooms, including one handicap accessible. The rooms were lovely, and were enjoyed the historical ambiance and location in the French Quarter. It was worth the extra money to upgrade to a deluxe room. The rooms were large and we were away from the street noise. The food in the hotel restaurant was outstanding, as was the service. The view from the rooftop pool is great, esp. at night. Staff was very helpful and the concierge made good recommendations and helped make reservations at local restaurants.

We were not aware the hotel was supposed to be haunted, but experienced a wild ride in one of the hotel's elevators. Nothing short of the supernatural could explain it. Somehow it added to the whole experience and will not deter us from coming back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room. It's worth the little extra for a larger & quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone with us here! We are so thrilled to hear that your group had such a wonderful stay with us! We're glad you were able to check out the views of New Orleans from our rooftop pool area and that you so enjoyed dining in Criollo! We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You got it, when you stay at Hotel Monteleone. Upon check in I was informed we'd be staying in a suite because that's how my hubby rolls :) The suite was big with a seperate sitting area with TV, desk and french doors to the bedroom. We had a great view. Could see all the barges and huge ships coming in. This hotel is close enough to the action that walking is a breeze but no located within the craziness that can be New Orleans. The period pieces in this hotel are incredible. So much charm. I dont know what a regular room looks like but this one was very nice. Would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Don't rent a car if you don't have to. The hotel charges $30 a day for parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lisa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Lisa,

We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Hotel Monteleone! We are thrilled that you loved the suite, the view of the Mississippi River and the hotel's location! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been to NOLA at least 50 times and our regular hotel was under restoration, so a chance to try the Monteleone. What a mistake. The upgraded "preferred" room was the smallest Possible--a bed and a chair, tiny bathroom, no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hairdryer, tv did not work, missed the Packer game, cable out because of rain, alarm woke us up at 530 am and would not shut off after socket pulled from wall .Night manager unavailable to authorize room change .What a disaster and never again..

Room Tip: If you want a good room, don't stay here. Beautiful entrance, nice pool, great bar, but old hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Jeff,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice rooms, and very comfortable beds. Would have liked to see somewhat larger bathroom, with space for personal items. The Carousel bar is a winner. Wifi was working fine, but why have a fee? Would like to be back in the near future to this excellent hotel. Celebrated my wife´s birthday, and flowers delivered for the morning breakfast were very nice as well as the rest of all the rest!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Lars,

We're so glad to hear that you and your wife had such an excellent stay with us in October! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us here. We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just returned home from a 4 day/night stay at the Monteleone on Royals Street. We had a great time. The hotel room was very nice although our bathroom was a bit small. The meeting rooms on the Mezzanine level were just right for the size of our conference. This was my first trip to the Big Easy and the quaint grandeur of the Monteleone really made for great memories. We will return at a heartbeat. It is 1 block from Bourbon Street, 1 block from Canal Street, 4 blocks from Jackson Square, and five blocks to the Mississippi River and the ferry to Algiers...Need I give you any more reason to stay here? OK, how about the famous Carousel Bar and the Aria Spa (which my wife fell in love with). I almost forgot, the rooftop pool and bar is great in the afternoons. Stay for a night, you will keep returning to the Hotel Monteleone.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors facing Bourbon Street, you cannot see things but there is no morning sun :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Wayne,

We're so glad to hear that you and your wife had such a fabulous stay with us! We're thrilled you were able to enjoy the Carousel Bar and your wife was able to enjoy Spa Aria while you were here for your conference. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last several years, each time was a treat. Located in the heart of the French Quarter, it is only a few steps from fine restaurants and the night life on Bourbon Street. hTis is a finely appointed, very classy hotel, one of the best the city has to offer. It is rumored to have a ghost or two like many places in New Orleans but I haven't been lucky enough to encounter one. The lobby bar is a great place to sit and relax with friends while enoying a favorite beverage and watching the street life through the large windows.

Highly recommend a stay at the Moneteleone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Fullimit,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Monteleone with us here! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Since you enjoyed having a cocktail in the Carousel Bar, we recommend dining with us in our restaurant Criollo! Hope to see you soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,325 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,558 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,295 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $186 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing