We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool oldish style hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“cool oldish style hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

this was my first time in New Orleans and I fell in love with the city. however, i can't say the exact same with the Hotel Monteleone.

LOCATION: the hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. Only a block away from Bourbon Street but also a block away from the main street that leads you away from the quarter towards other parts of the city.

ROOM: the room was clean and big. the bathroom was also big with a really strong and good shower, though the way the tub was built, there is a lot of water buildup on the floor of the bathroom (the wallpaper was also curling up b/c of the water). wifi is not free but only $10 for the day. no free wifi in the lobby either...

AMENITIES: parking is $30 a day which really sucks but there really isn't parking in the quarter anywhere and everywhere else is basically the same price. the carousel bar is cool but nothing special. its basically a round bar with the carousel part above it (i was expecting a bar on an actual carousel. fail.) the pool is small but has a cool view of the city.

overall this hotel was solid. somewhat old school with very traditional style furnishings and definitely not everyone's cup of tea. the hotel also somewhat nickel and dimes you but when I extended my stay, they offered me a really cheap rate for the extra night which was a nice touch. overall, i would rate this hotel a 4 but the hotel could do a few little things to boost their rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,861
    1,605
    488
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,236
2,767
228
1,482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, immaculate, and the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooftop pool is nice, especially if you are traveling with children. The location is great. A quiet hotel with close access to all the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked at the hotel monteleone thinking I would be blown away by this old piece of history, instead I was blown away by the charges they don't tell you about. First everything is extremely over prices here. The rooms are tiny, bathroom is the size of a half bath, pool is way to small for the amount of people. The prices at the bar were crazy, 10 dollars for a bloody Mary made in a scotch glass. The staff was very hard to understand. I couldn't under stand a word he was saying, and not because he had a southern drawl but because he didn't speak english. The hotel charges you up front for incedentals that haven't even happen. So besides the 4 hundred plied for three days I also had to pay an additional 180, plus 90 for parking. Now this is just for three nights. I would come back to nola, but never to the hotel monteleone, don't be fooled by the fancy name.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdagr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I,ve stayed here many times. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed linens, pillows and towles are luxery quality. I've always been impressed with the attentiveness and courteousness of the staff. The carousel lounge is one of my favorite places in the city to spend a couple of hours and their new restaurant is amazing. One of the best meals we had during our recent visit. FYI, the hotel rooms are pretty small. A standard king doesn't leave much room to walk around the bed. Splurge for a suite if you can.

Room Tip: Book on hotels.com or priceline.com for a much better rate. And the later the better. We got a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As a traveler who has stayed in the best hotels in the world I am sad to say that the Monteleone falls way below on many counts. The Hotel's location and its history are its best points besides that the service, decor and overall experience is below what a world traveler may expect. The rooms are small and very traditional and need to be updated. The pool area is small and so is the spa. My problem is more to do with their staff: The cleaning person did not hang our robes in the bathroom after they were done or put away the hair dryer. I called for breakfast and the operator could not have been more rude. She told me here was a delay but I waited for more than an hour and on calling back did not bother to check on it but said I must wait and deal with it! I thought I was speaking to someone is a fast food restaurant. We choose to swim early at the pool and the staff setting up the towels were loudly discussing their personal stories. The TV in our room did not work and the manager said a technician will be up but no one came to fix it our entire stay. This hotel is ok for a quick business visit but I would not recommend staying here for a vacation. If the Monteleone wants to become a world class hotel they should take some points from service in Dubai and India to get to that level instead of resting on their laurels of being in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nolareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear nolareview,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay with us at Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize. Your comments are well taken and will be addressed. We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Thank you,
Hotel Monteleone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel hardly has to lift a finger to get the punters in. They have people queueing up to book, in spite of the fact that the hotel is a bit 'tired' with old carpets and 'stale' decor in the rooms. There is not much effort from the staff either, with even the doormen hardly lifting a finger to help with suitcases etc, but holding out a full hand for tips!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTEAD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel and very reasonably priced for the quality of service it provides. Based in the French Quarter on Rue Royal it is central to all the attractions. Within easy walking distance of Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, The Cafe Du Monde and the fabulous shops displaying fine art and crafts in the French Quarter. It exudes class from the moment you step over the threshold and the Carousel Bar and it's Rooftop Pool is are very smart attractions you can't afford to miss. If your going to New Orleans don't hesitate, this is the place to stay. Book it now, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing