We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the AC not work? At least it is quiet !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does the AC not work? At least it is quiet !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I have to have it cold when I sleep. The room was barley cool. I would say 78. I put the thermostat on 60 and I never cooled down. Pillows sucked. There was a leak under the faucet in the bathroom. Only good thing was that it was quiet at night. No loud noise from the street! Just seemed like an average place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear dnwarwas,

We apologize that you experienced problems with several things in your guest room and would like to learn more so we can be sure it is fixed. Please email -------------- to discuss further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,557
    1,504
    453
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,142
2,564
216
1,412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Have been visiting nola for over 25 years but this was my first stay at Hotel Monteleone. I was able to splurge & spend a couple special nights in a very special place. Have visited the Carousel many times over the years & always wondered how it would be to stay here. Absolutely glad we did! 1st rate all the way. Wonderful service. A great room with a very nice bed (which can be hard to come by in the quarter). We seemed to not have any neighbors because we never heard anybody but ourselves ;-) A very large bathroom with big tub and shower and amazing water pressure especially for the quarter. Wonderful staff from top to bottom. So glad we stayed & can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear sd316,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monteleone on your most recent trip to New Orleans. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for six nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We have stayed at several of the best hotels in town and found this to be the best. It is the whole package. Royal Salon was spacious with a wonderful bathroom, a/c worked wonderfully, water pressure was great and king bed was very comfortable. All aspects of service were wonderful and it doesn't get any better than the Carousel Bar. Location is unbeatable. Construction is a non-issue. This will definitely be our new "go to" home in NOLA. Thank you Monteleone for our best trip yet!

Room Tip: Had a beautiful Royal Salon on the 14th floor with a great view of Old Man River. Very peaceful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L11C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear LuckyCat111,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Monteleone. We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experiences and tips. Thank you for this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Although there was some building work gooing on, this in no way spoiled our enjoyment of the hotel. all the staff were very friendly. The aircon in the room was pleasantly quiet (not often the case in the USA). The Carousel Bar was a nice novelty too - it carries the drinkers round every 15 minutes....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear pearscr0,

So glad to hear our renovations did not disrupt your stay in any way. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We visited New Orleans and didn't know quite what to expect. We had the most memorable time there.

The Hotel Monteleone will always be our place to stay when we visit again. Our room was on the 12th floor and was quiet. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff treated us so nicely in every respect - the front desk, the two concierges, the bellmen, the garage attendants, and the breakfast wait staff.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. We just had to have a drink one night at the Carousel Bar even though we never drink!

We could walk to all of the sights from the hotel. It is located right in The French Quarter.

Hope to go back again soon! Our thanks to everyone at the Hotel Monteleone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear A E,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are honored to be labeled "Unforgettable." See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very nice looking hotel with great customer service. I recommend the Carousel bar.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a terrific hotel. Great location. Rooms are very nice. No complaints. There is a roof top swimming pool which is really nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebuggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing