We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but I expect more from a 4 Diamond hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hotel Monteleone won a 4 diamond award several years ago from AAA so my expectations were high. The hotel certainly thinks a lot of itself and its place in New Orleans history and its fabulous location in the French Quarter.

Here's the good: the bellhops were wonderful fonts of information on where to eat, drink, and be merry. The doormen brave torrential rain to hail taxicabs and escort guests into their chariots with large umbrellas. The location is sweet and a stone's throw from Bourbon Street and several amazing restaurants. The rooftop patio has a bar, a lovely lounge area, nice comfortable chairs and a pool (that could be a little more clean), and a fairly nice view. The carousel bar is nice... but the food is only so-so.

Here are the cons: it is overpriced for what you get. The rooms are small and have rather frou-frou drapes and would benefit from a more minimalist makeover. There isn't a lot of soundproofing so be prepared to hear the goings on in neighbouring rooms (particularly when the showers are engaged as it may sound as if someone is taking a shower in your room). While renovations are ongoing the restaurant is closed but there is a complimentary continental breakfast... HOWEVER the staff are ill-equipped to deal with the demand for this free breakfast. The line up to get seated for this free breakfast snakes around the halls and takes up to 30 minutes. While a nice gesture, when you understaff and make so few tables available for this breakfast it almost makes the sentiment begrudging rather than generous. In fact, I ended up giving up for two of the four nights I stayed here.

Furthermore, when I did finally get seated for breakfast one morning I asked for milk rather than cream with my coffee. The waitress informed me that there was milk available by the cereal carafes... so I got up and walked across the room and poured some milk directly into my cup from the milk fountain which seemed like a very strange thing to have to do in a hotel that charged $30/day for valet parking. Hotel Monteleone: are you fancy or not? What's the deal?

The gym is small and its equipment is a little rickety but you do get an amazing view from the treadmills. Spa Aria on the 2nd floor is very nice though. Several people in my party had massages and contend they are among the best they have ever had.

And then there is internet. In a world in which every Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, and Radisson is offering up free internet it is a bit weird to be hit with a daily 10 dollar fee for internet usage.

And finally in a gesture I found to be rather disgusting, the hotel asks in its final bill it leaves under your door to rate it 5 out of 5 on Trip Advisor if you enjoyed your stay. It came across a bit like asking for a tip.

This hotel is ok but nothing spectacular. It could be incredible if it revamped its rooms, installed a barista in its lobby, maintained its pool a little better, made internet free, and made its hotel more of an "experience." It doesn't take much... free drinks on check-in, or welcome packages, etc. To me, that's what constitutes a true 4 diamond or 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank monkeybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,906 - 6,912 of 7,701 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were in NOLA with my two nephews last week and, after many recommendations, chose Monteleone for our one night stay. It DID NOT disappoint. With an attentive staff, beautiful room, rooftop pool and the historic Carousel Bar, this is a definite "must stay" place when in NOLA. We found it conveniently located to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk, including the Aquarium (walking distance). The continental breakfast was amazing and the views from the 15th floor were spectacular. My ONLY gripe was finding our way to the rooftop pool. They need signs to help direct you (since you must take different elevators to navigate your way around.)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear pwonta,

Thank you for choosing the Monteleone for your quick New Orleans getaway. We are so glad you and your nephews enjoyed your stay. We have taken your comments about more signage pointing to the elevator pool into consideration and will be discussing with management. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us and others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Loved this hotel, it is two blocks from bourbon st, but you would never know it, very quiet. They had a great roof deck pool and lounge. The price was great oo. I will be back

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederickNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear FrederickNorth,

We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Monteleone. Come back and see us again soon. The pool will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

As a near monthly traveler to New Orleans for nearly 10 years, no other hotel in New Orleans compares in offering the charm, elegance,service and capable staff that Hotel Monteleone does! On occasions during peak times of the year when emergency travel necessitates a hotel stay and there is no accommodationd available, I refuse to stay elsewhere, and resort to stay in other out of the city locations. Simply put, there is no place in New Orleans like Hotel Monteleone!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdonaldorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear drdonaldorb,

We loved reading about your experience at the Hotel Monteleone. Thank you so much for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Living in Mississippi affords me the opportunity to visit New Orleans many times a year. I always stay at the Monteleone. The staff is consistently courteous and knowledgable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and you simply cannot beat the location! A favorite attraction is always the Carousel Bar. I was worried that with the renovation it might not be as fun and frankly might be noisy...the bar was still a blast and I never heard any noise from the renovation. Stay here and you will go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calliewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Calliewee,

We are so happy to be your destination hotel for your trips to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in his hotel while on a business trip and it was perfect! Beautiful hotel, very clean, wonderful location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keegrsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear keegrsmom,

We are honored to be one of your favorite hotels! Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I travel to New Orleans once a year and this was our first stay at the Hotel Monteleone. What's not to like - from the courtly entrance and carport, elegant and accessible lobby, dizzyingly delightful carousel bar, cheerful guests, and proximate to everything FQ (French Quarter) - we had a blast. We took advantage of hot summer special rates - I only regret not packing my swimsuit. It is a joy to spend money with an establishment that is not a chain and so much a part of NO history. Oh - after a hard night in the quarter I might mention that the beds (yes, they make up the bed with a soft top sheet) are super comfy. Our room was cozy (small) with tall ceilings. Service southern/gracious - and that's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear burner_10,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Monteleone and received the southern/ gracious service New Orleans is known for. We hope to see you in your future travels to the Crescent City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $199 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing