We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with Hotel Monteleone”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Hotel Monteleone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

It's a pretty expensive place to stay but we love to pamper ourselves when we travel so we figured what the heck. A great friend recommended it. It's pretty and grand when you enter but don't rely on the bellman to assist you in any way getting your heavy luggage up the few stairs because they are busy smoking outside the hotel. We hoped to leave the thoughts of cold Michigan weather and lounge around the cool outside rooftop pool drinking cocktails. NOPE! Pool was closed for a private event that no one told us about when we booked our room. Wouldn't you think the reservations office in the Monteleone would kindly tell people that the pool would be off limits for several days? Creeps! Also, we wanted to check our email while there and get this...$7 for twenty minutes to use the computers in the business center. One of the four treadmills in the exercise room was broken my entire stay. Our TV in our room did not get NBC or CBS and while this wouldn't normally be any big deal it was this trip because we wanted to watch the basketball finals. Would I stay at this hotel again? Not on your life. Would I recommend traveling to New Orleans? Yes! It's a city full of fun, history, and good times. Just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear flosue,

First, we would like to say thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always appreciate guests feedback and are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at the Hotel Monteleone. The hotel is revamping its entire Wi-Fi system, which should be done June 1st. During this time we are offering all guests free internet in their rooms. Our Business Center is not owned by the hotel. In regards to the pool being closed, you should have been notified. We would like to speak with you further about your stay. Please email athornton@hotelmonteleone.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,599
    1,521
    464
    209
    116
See reviews for
1,160
2,599
217
1,426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Monteleone for one night during a conference. The location was perfect, check in was great, the room was very nice with a nice bathroom, The bar in the lobby is very cool, and the pool on the roof is nice with a bar and a good number of chairs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear MGreulich,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We always appreciate our guests feedback. We hope yo see you in future trips to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

This historic hotel is in the perfect location in the Quarter. One block from Bourbon so as a business traveler I had all the restaurants and sights around the corner, but since the hotel is on a side street, I was able to sleep at night. The rooftop pool is perfect. Meeting facilities can be kind of confusing to find at first, but that is due to the historic build. Staff is great and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceMeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear DolceMeta,

We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone. Thank you for writing this review. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Beautiful lobby, one block from the French Quarter with helpful and attentive staff. However several key short comings: 1) The room was small. So small that it barely had 18 inches of space betwwen the end of the bed and the credenza that housed the TV. I had to walk sideways to get through to the bathroom.. I am average size for a man at 5' 9" and 180 lbs. I can't imagine a big guy getting through without sliding accross the top of the bed. 2) The Hotel Cafe/dining room was very mediocre. One morning I was served eggs benedict on an untoasted chewy muffin and on a second morning I was served a rather look warm waffle.

Room Tip: Check the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear leswitch,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We always take our guests comments very seriously. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with you breakfasts at Le Cafe and will discuss your comments with them. As for the room size, most of our rooms are on the small size as we are a historic hotel in the French Quarter. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Monteleone to celebrate our 30th anniversary and had a great experience during our four night stay. The cleanliness of our preferred king room was excellent. Towels were plentiful and the daily housekeeping was always completed before we returned from our daily activities. The bellman who assisted us upon our arrival was quite informative and made us feel very welcome. Upon check in we received a nice card and two complimentary drinks at the Carousel bar. We slept well and weren't disturbed by any noise from the hallway or nearby rooms. Considering the hotel was full with NCAA enthusiasts, we were pleasantly surprised that noise wasn't an issue.

The service in the Carousel bar was a little slow and the staff wasn't overly friendly. The wait staff in the Cafe couldn't do enough for us and seemed to be very attentive to all of its customers at breakfast.

The location was perfect !! We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again on any future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear hpjet,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Prior to booking our trip, I reviewed what other folks had to say about this hotel. One had mentioned the air conditioning system and the noise from the streets at night. I thought they were just being picky and decided to book anyway. I should have taken their advice. The cooling system was not good. We were either freezing or hot because the air blows directly on you as you try to sleep and it never regulates. At one point I tried to turn it off but then the noise from the streets was too loud so I needed the cooling system in order to fall asleep. Not that we wouldn't expect the noise from the streets, it is N'Awlin's; however, we were on the 15th floor. We also had an empty mini bar - it was never filled while we were there. Not even with water or OJ. No water bottles were available either. Lastly, the pool is very small and the pictures of it on their Web site are deceiving. Also, their business center needs to be upgraded. One computer available to guests is not acceptable. At one point there was a line of 8 people waiting to print travel documents or to check email. Good things - the hotel bar is cool and fun and most of the staff was pleasant. The lobby is nice and the rooms are clean. This was our 3rd trip to NOLA and I was extremely excited about this hotel. Unfortunately I give it a C.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear marnold99,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Monteleone with us. We are taking all your comments into consideration and respect the honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWArkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had a great experience from valet parking at arrival to checkout. Room was big and more than sufficient for family with 2 teens. Location was prime with easy access to all points in French Quarter. Staff was welcoming and attentive. Rooftop pool was used by 16 year old Son and fitness room had great views and well furnished. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ockerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear ockerman,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We always value guest feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,251 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing