We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, adequate, but not 4 star”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Whidbey Island, Washington
1 review
“Average, adequate, but not 4 star”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I choose the Monteleone for location and because it's beautiful from the outside. The rooms are small, but this is normal considering the age of the hotel. The lobby and decor and quite nice although the rooms have a general "worn out" feel to them. Stained carpets, chipped paint, etc. I was disappointed to learn there were no refreshment centers or "minibars" in the room. Apparently they've been removed, but are still listed as an amenity on their website. It's nice to have a refrigerator for water or juice without having to run out for ice every few hours. My mother and I arrived via taxi and were not assisted with our luggage at all. We struggled to pull our luggage up the stairs to the lobby while the doorman flirted with a group of young girls. Check in was fine, but it took three separate calls to receive extra hangers for our room. Wifi is expensive at $11/day and wasn't even reliable. Also, I paid for two days starting at 6:00pm on a Wednesday night, but by Friday morning, my service had been turned off. This happened to me again the following week, so be warned - when you purchase 2 days, you are purchasing calendar days, not 48 hours from the time of purchase. That is a complete rip-off! As a previous poster mentioned, the pool area was generally dirty with trash, left over glasses and used towels. Nor was there any bar/poolside service available. There is just nothing about this hotel that earns it a 4 star rating. I wish I had stayed at the Ritz Carton, but my mother did not want to stay on Canal. Average at best, but nothing special.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DiveGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear DiveGirl22,

Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review. We you were visiting we were in the process of switching from minibars to refrigerators and apologize for the inconvenience. All rooms now have refrigerators with menus which you can order of off to have filled. As a 125 year old hotel, we are constantly working to upgrade our technology and are upgrading our WIFI system, offering it free to all guests because during the enhancement period as it is sporadic. We would be happy to speak with you further about your stay. Please contact us. Katie Couvillion kcouvillion@hotelmonteleone.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,735
    1,570
    477
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,189
2,690
222
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Family trip for St Paddy's day. I reserved 2 traditional rooms using the hotel's online process and found it easy. Two days prior to the trip, the reservations desk sent a welcoming email confirming my reservations - anticipatory service! At check-in, my parents were upgraded *for free* to a king suite and it was beautifully appointed, very large - they had a k-cup coffeemaker in the suite. Our room was a 2-double traditional and it was adequately sized; I would call it a normal room with the drip-brew coffee maker. Overall, we were really happy with the cleanliness and had no problems with any noise. The hotel is right in action of the French Quarter without being in constant parade of merrymaking. We used the baggage check service both on arrival and at departure; it was very well run and felt very secure. The Doormen were gracious in providing advice on lunch haunts with real creole cuisine as well as getting taxis.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear FlyingWyo,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We always appreciate when guests share their experiences with others. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

On our first trip to New Orleans, we stayed at the Monteleone, the refurbished "grande dame" of the French Quarter. Our room was nice with a view of the Mississippi. The fitness center and rooftop pool are great if you want to exercise to justify eating all that great NOLA food. The Carousel bar is truly unique; try a Pimm's Cup if you're tired out and hot from walking around the Quarter. The location is perfect - on Royal, not noisy Bourbon Street, an easy walk from the sights of the Quarter and neighboring areas. The staff made good suggestions about places to go. However, given the high price of the rooms, the Monteleone management needs to do a few things to justify their luxury pricing.
First of all, the wifi service is REALLY unreliable and the tech support, while polite, was not much help. Don't count on internet access when you need it - it may be fine for an hour or so, but we found that the signal dropped at least 10 times in three days. When you're trying to fit in a little bit of work between meals and outings, it's important that wifi be available when you need it.
Secondly, cleanliness in public areas could use some work. On Sunday morning after 9 a.m., towels were neatly arranged on the pool chairs, but the deck around the chairs was still littered with the detritus of the night before - cigarette butts, food debris, and broken glass.
Thirdly, participants in a large scale meeting in the rooftop conference room took up many poolside tables for work meetings (one-on-one interviews about sales performance, it seemed) during peek weekend pool hours. If a business meeting needs "break-out" space, assign them to spaces inside the building or in a separate area. It's hard to relax poolside when we had to place chairs next to garbage cans because the table were taken up by sincere young people explaining to their supervisors what factors were affecting their sales records.
Finally, it's a mystery to us as to why the only African American employees we met were doormen - and the front desk and gift shop were mostly staffed by sullen Eastern European "foreign students" (as they told me). Most of the staff was really friendly and helpful - as we expected in this city of charming accents and nice folks - special kudos to the guy running the luggage checkroom and Brandon on the front desk who helped us on Sunday morning. But in a time of high unemployment in Crescent City, we can't think of any legal justification for why the Monteleone would be employing white foreigners of dubious visa status over natives of the city. Your city is full of hardworking friendly folk - you need to bring more of them to the front of the house!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear susangz,
First we would like to thank you for writing such a detailed review. We apologize for the Wi-Fi issues you faced. As a historic building we have been struggling with this technology and are working on solutions. We will be notifying management about the state of the pool area. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This grand old hotel has quiet, comfortable rooms and good beds. The hotel breakfast is a la carte, or a breakfast buffet including an omelette station. The location is excellent for exploring the French Quarter. They have valet parking and are able to retrieve cars fairly quickly from the garage.
Our only negative really has nothing to do with the hotel. We found the lobby crowded with other patrons, many of whom were dressed so casually they looked like they had been on camping trips or playing in the dirt with their kids. This is a beautiful old hotel and I wish the clientele
could realize that they can dress in a way that is fitting with their surroundings, and still be comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallopingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear gallopingon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always enjoy our guests feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay. With our location in the French Quarter, our lobby tends to attract many different people. We hope that the crowded lobby did not bother you too much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary at Hotel Monteleone for 4 nights in mid-March. We were willing to splurge a bit on the room, hoping to have a special, if not magical, experience. I booked the room on Hotel Monteleone's own website, which was remarkably clear as to what the offerings were, at the same time promising the lowest rates possible. For instance, the website noted that the lowest priced rooms had, at best, an impeded view, so I decided to splurge for the larger, King-size room with view, while using my AAA card for some discount. Check-in was great -- fast AND we were given complementary tickets for drinks in the bar for our anniversary (a nice touch). The room ended up being a bed room and living room, along with 1 1/2 baths. (Maybe they upgraded us. I'm not sure.) We were on the 7th Floor (Room 750) overlooking the Mississippi and the rooftops of the French Quarter. Some Trip Advisor reviewers noted that this tended to be the quieter side of the hotel. I have VERY SENSITIVE hearing (I always need to sleep with earplugs), yet the room was surprisingly quiet, particularly given that the hotel is in the French Quarter and only one block from the noisy/crazy Bourbon Street. The bathrooms were stunning -- modern, with marble floors (and, it was not just one color marble, rather there was an interest pattern of various different color marbles -- again, a nice touch). For those ADDICTED to telephones, there was also a telephone in the bathroom. The bedroom had a very nice, seemingly solid real wood armoire containing a flat screen tv, a safe (it's free--they don't nickel and dime you like some hotels do, charging a daily rate for the safe), drawers, space for hanging your coats, etc.). High ceilings added to the roominess of the place. We had the Do Not Disturb sign on much of the time, preventing Housekeeping from making up the room, and yet whenever we left for dinner and returned, our bed was made up, turned down, and mints and white bathrobes were on the bed. Once, Housekeeping even called us, asking if we needed anything (again, a nice touch AND rather attentive service). The lobby was charming, with historic touches (and I particularly liked the seemingly first-edition books in showcases highlighting the literary figures who had stayed at the Hotel Monteleone). Although we picked the Hotel Monteleone as a splurge and a special place, it was surprisingly affordable (in the low $200s), and the next time we visit New Orleans, we will DEFINITELY stay at the Hotel Monteleone again. (Lest you say there just HAS to be SOMETHING that I could complain about -- the place just CAN'T be perfect [although it's damn close!], shy of saying maybe that it would be nice if the chocolates on the bed at night were DARK chocolate rather than MILK chocolate, it's REALLY hard to complain about anything at this hotel.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psychologyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, General Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Psychologyguy,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Monteleone for such a special occasion. Congratulations on your anniversary! Also thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are honored to have received a perfect score and look forward to future visits from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Our family (including two kids, 10 and 11) spent a great week in New Orleans. The staff at the Hotel Monteleone was friendly and accommodating, the hotel is lovely, the rooftop pool a welcome luxury after long days of walking the French Quarter. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear MurphBaltimore,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate learning about guests experiences with us. We are honored to receive 5/5 stars from you and are so glad to hear your had a pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

You are in the French Quarter but slightly away from the madness of Bourbon St. Service, from the doorman to the front desk, was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear BuckyToronto,

Thank you for your 5/5 star review. It is always a pleasure to hear about guests enjoyable experiences. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,036 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,542 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,093 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing