We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded My Expectations at a Surprisingly Affordable Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations at a Surprisingly Affordable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary at Hotel Monteleone for 4 nights in mid-March. We were willing to splurge a bit on the room, hoping to have a special, if not magical, experience. I booked the room on Hotel Monteleone's own website, which was remarkably clear as to what the offerings were, at the same time promising the lowest rates possible. For instance, the website noted that the lowest priced rooms had, at best, an impeded view, so I decided to splurge for the larger, King-size room with view, while using my AAA card for some discount. Check-in was great -- fast AND we were given complementary tickets for drinks in the bar for our anniversary (a nice touch). The room ended up being a bed room and living room, along with 1 1/2 baths. (Maybe they upgraded us. I'm not sure.) We were on the 7th Floor (Room 750) overlooking the Mississippi and the rooftops of the French Quarter. Some Trip Advisor reviewers noted that this tended to be the quieter side of the hotel. I have VERY SENSITIVE hearing (I always need to sleep with earplugs), yet the room was surprisingly quiet, particularly given that the hotel is in the French Quarter and only one block from the noisy/crazy Bourbon Street. The bathrooms were stunning -- modern, with marble floors (and, it was not just one color marble, rather there was an interest pattern of various different color marbles -- again, a nice touch). For those ADDICTED to telephones, there was also a telephone in the bathroom. The bedroom had a very nice, seemingly solid real wood armoire containing a flat screen tv, a safe (it's free--they don't nickel and dime you like some hotels do, charging a daily rate for the safe), drawers, space for hanging your coats, etc.). High ceilings added to the roominess of the place. We had the Do Not Disturb sign on much of the time, preventing Housekeeping from making up the room, and yet whenever we left for dinner and returned, our bed was made up, turned down, and mints and white bathrobes were on the bed. Once, Housekeeping even called us, asking if we needed anything (again, a nice touch AND rather attentive service). The lobby was charming, with historic touches (and I particularly liked the seemingly first-edition books in showcases highlighting the literary figures who had stayed at the Hotel Monteleone). Although we picked the Hotel Monteleone as a splurge and a special place, it was surprisingly affordable (in the low $200s), and the next time we visit New Orleans, we will DEFINITELY stay at the Hotel Monteleone again. (Lest you say there just HAS to be SOMETHING that I could complain about -- the place just CAN'T be perfect [although it's damn close!], shy of saying maybe that it would be nice if the chocolates on the bed at night were DARK chocolate rather than MILK chocolate, it's REALLY hard to complain about anything at this hotel.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psychologyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, General Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Psychologyguy,
Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Monteleone for such a special occasion. Congratulations on your anniversary! Also thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are honored to have received a perfect score and look forward to future visits from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,532
    1,502
    451
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,135
2,553
214
1,407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Our family (including two kids, 10 and 11) spent a great week in New Orleans. The staff at the Hotel Monteleone was friendly and accommodating, the hotel is lovely, the rooftop pool a welcome luxury after long days of walking the French Quarter. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear MurphBaltimore,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate learning about guests experiences with us. We are honored to receive 5/5 stars from you and are so glad to hear your had a pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

You are in the French Quarter but slightly away from the madness of Bourbon St. Service, from the doorman to the front desk, was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear BuckyToronto,

Thank you for your 5/5 star review. It is always a pleasure to hear about guests enjoyable experiences. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Pros: Perfect location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to all major attractions, entertainment, and resturaunts. Just one block from Bourbon St. Check in and Check out were effortless and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms/corridors were clean and smoke-free. The food was pricey but definitely comparable to other places in the Quarter. Late night room service was a plus. The Carrousel Lounge was a unique feature. Heated rooftop pool with nice lounge area. Although we did not use the spa, most of the services were priced competively.
Cons: Vlalet parking was expensive (around $36 per night with tax), although most other hotels do charge within range. The main parking garage attached to the hotel was full when we arrived so our vehicle was parked in an overflow garage on a neighboring street. Later I learned that our vehicle was parked in a roof top spot in the overflow area, which was visible from the rooftop pool of the hotel. I was somewhat bothered that it was not in a covered area being exposed to the elements. When we picked it up from valet it was very dirty with pollen and bird droppings. Although dropping off our vehicle for valet was quick and seemless, the pick up was not. We waited at least 25 minutes for our car upon check out. I would suggest calling down ahead of time if you want to retrieve the vehicle in a timely manner. Our room was located on the 4th floor, which was still very susceptible to street noise. Therefore, sleeping was very difficult ( But I guess no one goes to NOLA to catch up on ZZZ). I found that the room was much more relaxing in the daylight hours.
However, the location more than made up for the few problems we had and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Stark3,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We always appreciate our guests feedback. We apologize for your issues with the valet. We are in the middle of remodeling our parking garages. We hope you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans, even with the lack of sleep, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I am originally from the area and brought a friend down from North Carolina for the weekend before Mardi Gras. I have always wanted to stay at the Monteleone and
never got around to it. There were other hotels a little further out cheaper but I said
I might as well splurge and have a prime location. It was worth every penny and more!!! The service was excellent, room spotless and you couldnt have a better location!!! It was
so close to Bourbon that you could go back to the hotel to use the restroom and freshen up then head back out. I had a "traditional" room and it was a little small but enough room for 2 people. We used the valet service and enjoyed the Carousel Bar. Everything was great and will definately return!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigorange1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear bigorange1103,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing the Hotel Monteleone we know you have many options. Hope you had a wonderful Mardi Gras and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
325 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for several nights during mardi gras. Check in was a breeze. Our room looked out over Iberville Street which made it a little noisy at night, but after the first night, the crowd noise didn't bother us. The room was very small and with a king-sized bed in it, moving around was a challenge. The bed was unusually "bouncy." If my husband even rolled over my side of the bed would pop up. Not sure if this was a mattress or box spring issue. The heating/cooling is controlled in the room, but the vent (located above the doorway) blows non-stop and was actually annoying at night. There is very little room in the bathroom to place toiletries so we ended up keeping these in a drawer which wasn't exactly convenient. The shampoo etc provided by the hotel were very good. Towels were plentiful. We were suprised though that we had to call housekeeping one afternoon at 4:00 to request that our room be refreshed as the staff had not yet gotten to it. The cafe restaurant was great for breakfast. The buffet ($19 per person) was good and having omelets made to order was a plus. One morning I wanted oatmeal (not on the buffet) and our server said she would get me a bowl without an additional charge. Location was good for going to the waterfront, French Market, watching parades on Canal Street. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. If you are looking for a great dinner place, I highly recommend GW Fins (about 2 blocks from hotel on Bienville Street). The Carousel Bar was a nice place to chill out between activities, but they needed more staff to help during mardi gras. I would stay here again because of the location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear MomRocco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your comments were very helpful. We take all our guests reviews very seriously and always appreciate feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Have stayed here 4 times over the past 2 years, great location, 1 block from Bourbon and 2 from Canal- about 10 minute walk to Jackson square. Friendly and professional staff, very clean rooms with excellent maid service- spend a little extra and stay in a royal salon room- jaccuzi tub and huge bathroom!! Rooms are nice sized with elegant decor. Buffet breakfast at Le Cafe is awesome!!!! Omlet station, biscuits and gravy, fresh squeezed OJ. We love this hotel, great romantic getaway, very quiet, heated roof top pool, this place never disappoints!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juju571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear juju571,
Thank you so much for the 5/5 star review. We are always honored to receive perfect scores from our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing