We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem in CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem in CBD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

good value and location in Central Business District/Warehouse District. 20-minute walk away from French Quarter. Street car stop: St. Charles line. 1 block away from HARO Coffee & Chocolate which serves great coffee

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GattaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    200
    72
    26
    21
See reviews for
79
223
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Love that it's quiet on the street. Hotel has nice charm. Excellent restaurants around it. There is a steak house in the hotel. A private party was going on. I couldn't dine there.
Large rooms. Fantastic tub!
Comfee
I enjoyed the decor of the entire hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WondererAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

While my wife and I were in New Orleans to attend the graduation of our daughter from Tulane, we stayed at the Lafayette Hotel on St. Charles street.
It is an older, smaller hotel, but overall we found it a nice place to stay. It is conveniently located just a few blocks to Canal St. and the French Quarter and also convenient to the Super Dome. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room we had was very spacious. We would definitely stay here again on a future trip to NOLA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Friendly front desk staff welcomed us there, showed us what was close and set us lose upon a great city. The location is great. Just outside the french quarter, quiet and on the street car line. The hotel doesn't have the inflated prices one finds just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianTraveler-221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The manager Lenny refused to give us a credit for our 4 night stay . My mother in law had a heart attack right before we were to leave for New Orleans. We sent documentation from the hospital. We are very disappointed to lose that amount of money. Will not ever stay there and will tell all of our friends. I know they rented our room as it was Jazz Fest weekend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank lamsonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
688 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I can't believe the great low price I got for this place. My room was so nice and spacious and the bathroom was perfect. Now to the negative parts, the parking is expensive and some construction is going on in the street next to the hotel. The street noise didn't bother us and there is a parking lot a block away for half the hotel's price.

Room Tip: For less street noise ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#105 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#82 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#56 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing