We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #92 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Unbelievable price of $62 a night seemed too good to be true for a last minute booking in June. Stayed a Tues and Wed. which still felt like weekend nightlife in New Orleans. However, after a 15 hr drive from VA, it was a charming, small hotel that seemed to be purely New Orleans. Easy access to the quarter by streetcar. rooms and bathrooms were elegantly decorated. We took a chance for our honeymoon and found no disappointments. Restaurant atmosphere was nice also. Drank at the bar but didn't eat. Nice staff all around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lafayette Hotel June 8-13, 2013 for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful. Our room was clean, bed comfy, and great showers with great pressure!.I'll offer a little "secret". Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from most of the buildings noise. Very quiet and peaceful. We walked everywhere, French Quarter, WWII museum, Civil War Museum, Natchez boat ride, etc. Took trolley rides since we could catch it right out front just for fun.
I was worried after reading some reviews here since this was our first stay. Yes the TV's are older models, but work just fine. And yes there is what some would call a bit of wear and some would call character to the place. However, take a chance and give them a try. I know we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: Request one of the x11 rooms, we had 211. They are between the elevator shafts and isolated from mos...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I drove to NOLA to spend a few days. On the road 2 days out we had not made a reservation yet so got online and tried to find a hotel in a good location without spending too much money. It was pretty tricky, most rooms were booked but then I stumbled across The Lafayette. The price was good, the photos looked cute so I booked it. When we arrived the staff was super! Dwayne at the counter was kind and accommodating (even upgraded our room) and TeRon was friendly and informative. The room was beautiful and clean - had all the NOLA charm you could want. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sidney a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My boyfriend and i decided to stay at the lafayette hotel for our anniversary the price was right and the reviews were good. We were not dissapointed at all! We stayed 4 days and traveled to the french quarter with ease with the streetcars being right outside also we walked from bourbon street to the hotel around 9pm and felt very safe. Plus theres a grocery store a couple blocks down also safe! The employees were fabulous!!! They offered champagne for our special day as well as had all the answers to our questions. Everytime we left or entered a friendly staff member would ask about our day or hold the door open. Checking in and out was easy as well i had the same guy and he was very sweet and caring! My boyfriend and i will be back and we will recommend this hotel to everyone we know!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chochona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is a smaller and older building and I mean that in a good way. Upon arrival I was met by the management at my car, they accommodated my family in two connecting rooms, one with a separate living room and bar/kitchen area. The hotel staff was so friendly and always helpful. There is some wear being that this building is an old one but it is impeccably clean I found that the wear bothered me none because of the other positive factors of this wonderful little gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you don't want to stay in an expensive hotel in the hectic French Quarter, then The Lafayette is a very good choice. At walking distance from the French Quater and the streetcar (3 dollar for a full day pass) to the lovely Garden District stops in front of the hotel in St. Charles Av. The hotel is qiute old and needs some maintenance (paintwork) but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel offers only valet parking (not covered) to 31 dollar overnight, but there are cheaper public parkings close by. It is not sympathetic that the hotel charge you for wifi. They don't do breakfast, but there is a dinner restaurant and a bar on the groundfloor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 166 in New Orleans
2,383 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#94 of 166 in New Orleans
582 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 166 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $95 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing