We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Faded New Orleans Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #95 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Faded New Orleans Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely large rooms, clean and friendly hotel with a authentic feel of new orleans. Hotel is looking a bit tired, room are large but have very old fittings, if you enjoy modern facilities this may not be the ideal hotel for you but we enjoyed the old feel of the hotel. The Lafayatte is in a Good location just 10 min walk from french quarter. Area was very quiet at night but felt safe. Information from reception was not great and could have spoilt our first night but overall the hotel provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    191
    71
    25
    21
See reviews for
74
215
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a nice hotel, nothing spectacular yet not run down. It is not too far from Canal. It can make you feel a bit secluded at night, so walk with someone or a group. Its a nice hotel overall. The curtain stick fell off a few times and the hotel was very dated. Those were my only negatives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel, not a chain and wonderful with its charm.
Dwayne & Joanna made us very welcome and were very helpful.
We were very pleased with our room, which was more a suite and despite being situated between the entrance to both lifts, you really couldn't hear them.
We too were greeted with a bottle of champayne, as this was our Honeymoon and it made us feel very special.
The location was great, right next to Julia Street with it's art galleries and just a 5 block/5 minute walk from Canal Street.
At the present time there are significant roadworks and whilst the St Charles Streetcar would normally stop just outside the hotel, you currently have to take a bus instead and swap to the streetcar further long the route.
We loved New Orleans and we loved the Lafayette Hotel.

Room Tip: Use 'Joanna's' name and she sparkles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabatical14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thank you, Lafayette Hotel Staff, for the wonderful service we received there last week. Our anniversary trip could not have been better thanks to your hospitality, helpful tips, great service and last, but not least, the champagne which we loved. Your hotel is so comfortable and homey, it was impossible not to relax from the minute we stepped into our room.

You are my new favorite hotel and I'm telling everyone I know who might be planning a trip to N.O.

Thanks for everything,

Room Tip: The suites with balconies are slightly worn but fabulously comfortable and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is an older hotel with lots of charm. It is centrally located and we were able to walk to all the attractions in this beautiful city. The staff were very helpful with suggesting restaurants, and attractions. The hotel is attached to a bar called Twist with happy hour specials. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel which had an excellent menu. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This will be our hotel in NOLA from now on. Wonderful location (kitty corner from Herbsaint) and on the streetcar line. Everyone of the staff was helpful and friendly especially Catherine of the cleaning staff. 2 blocks away is NOLA's best grocery/wine store (Rouses on Baronne). Our room was spacious and light filled with a great bed and a private safe. We had a small maintenance problem which was promptly addressed on a Friday night. Some might find the lack of room service a problem but if you are eating in your room in NOLA then you are in the wrong city.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I wanted to express special thanks to you for the nice hospitality we received from you and your staff at the Lafayette during our 85th Evac Hospital reunion. I think everyone was pleased with the accommodations in their room. I’m glad we did not have a bigger group because the parlor in our room was filled each time we had it open for hospitality snacks and drinks. It really made us feel close again even though we live in disparate parts of the country.

I do want to remind you of the need for a hand bar in the shower/bathtub just for good risk management. It was brought up by a couple of the docs and nurses attending. Actually, in our room, 206, a maintenance person ought to visit and put handles on a drawer in one of the night stand dressers and just check the room for other small items needing simple attention.

Thank you for being so helpful to us. I think all of us appreciated the very convenient location of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#39 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#44 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#84 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing