We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnwood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is considered a national landmark hotel. However, I found it lacking. The room was adequate but paint was peeling, visibly scuffed up baseboards, and ripped carpeting at the seams. The shower did not work properly- when you switched from bathtub to shower, 75% of the water still came out of the spout and only 25% came out of the shower head. I mentioned this to the person at the front desk on my first day of meetings but, upon using the shower the next morning, nothing had changed. The electric outlet in the bathroom over the sink also did not have a switchplate. Wireless internet service did not work in the room so I had to sit in the little lobby by the front desk in order to respond to business e-mails.

The restaurant and bar, located off each end of the lobby, were not associated with the hotel and I did not find this out until I requested that my bill be charged to my room and they told me that that could not be done as they are separate entities from the hotel. I had to pay the charges with my credit card.

There is nothing in the area, other than a couple of restaurants kitty corner from the hotel, and it is rather eerie at night. After checking in, I walked to the grocery store two blocks away to get some snacks and by the time I was leaving, it was pitch black and I did not feel safe walking, as there was virtually no street traffic and all the buildings along the route back to the hotel were either shuttered, vacant, unoccupied, or dilapidated.

I will not be staying at this hotel again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    198
    71
    25
    21
See reviews for
77
218
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice older hotel located in the warehouse district. The rooms very are very spacious and clean. The rooms on the street side have the typical small cute New Orleans balconies but you can hear some street noise. This is the second time I have stayed there and would stay there again.

Room Tip: While a little bit of a hike - you can walk to most locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is really nice but it only has bedrooms, there is no bar or restaurant within the hotel. There is a bar on one side and a restaurant on the other side but they are not connected to the hotel. The hotel itself does not do breakfast but they did have tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel staff were very friendly, the room was really nice and spacious and very clean and the hotel was in a very good location. I would recommed the hotel for a city visit once you are aware of the fact that they dont do food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallulah_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I agree with other reviews that this hotel is charming, and not a chain hotel. The rest of our experience was way off from other reviews. First the price of the hotel. We booked two months in advance, and were shocked after we checked in to find that their website was advertising our room for $70 cheaper online for that night. I called the front desk who said that they could not change our rate until the manager came in the next day at 11:00AM. When I finally got a hold of her at 1:00PM the next day she said that rates fluctuated frequently and she could not verify the rate that we saw on the site and would not modify our rate. She did agree to adjust the rate for the stock rate for the second night, but did not honor a discount rate that I found on another site. Forgot to mention that it took five calls and multiple follow-ups to get her to contact us.

We booked a balcony room which ended up being very small. There was no room around the bed for our suitcases. The bathroom had no fan in it, and the carpet had large patches that were threadbare. The mattress was old, and incredibly soft, and some of the light bulbs were burned out. Also we paid in advance for the internet which did not work in our room. I had to got down to the elevators to get a connection.

I really wanted to like this hotel, because it is in a great location. Unfortunately we ended up moving down the street to another hotel for the rest of our stay. Disappointing to say the least. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WasatchSkier35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights to shop and see the sights. We loved our room! Very large and well appointed. Not your average hotel furniture, but reproduction pieces and gilded lamps. Our room appeared recently painted a calming blue color, and new velvet drapes were held back with beautiful tassel rope tie backs. We had a balcony room that looked out on St. Charles Ave. Worth the splurge!

The bathroom was full of NOLA charm too--marble tile floor and old brass fixtures. Even with older appointments, the bathroom was large and clean. The shower head beat any I've used in years! Brand new and perfect water pressure.

This hotel is perfectly located in a quiet, safe area with restaurants nearby. Easy walk to French Quarter, Aquarium, WWII Museum, and Riverwalk. Staff was friendly, and Carla Jane gave us the city lowdown at check-in. As a mom and daughter (age 12) traveling alone, I felt safe the entire trip.

We chose this hotel due to streetcar line running in front of hotel, but it is under renovation now. Also part of Canal Street line is down too. You can get there by bus, but we didn't bother with it.

Down side with this boutique style hotel--no vending or ice machines and no fridge/microwave in room. Didn't bother me too much as we had toted bottled water with us for the room. Good thing as city was under a boil water alert our first day there! TV was small, but we didn't spend much time in room anyway.

My only real disappointment was the bed linens. They don't use fitted bottom sheets, and bottom sheet worked loose every night. I'm not sure why some hotels do this, but I have never liked it! Also no comforter on bed--they had blanket wrapped in sheets like duvet. This also seems to be a trend at many hotels, but I like heavy covers. And our room was freezing! We had to turn a/c off 2 of 3 nights because it was so cold in room. I guess that's a good problem to have in New Orleans! We open our doors to get fresh air too--another advantage to balcony room.

Valet parking was a breeze--seemed expensive but is in line with other hotels in city. I heard there are other parking lots that are cheaper, but I felt safer having my car in a gated hotel lot across the street. There is no on street overnight parking in the area.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again. Great price and location!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for the view and ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnat695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sub vet
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I chose the Lafeyette do it its location being so near the Shell Square complex. The restaraunt and bar were as nice as anyone could expect. The room was comfortable and suited my needs for the two nights I stayed there (Monday night and Tuesday). The furnishings could have been better, the table tops appeared to be damaged by years of abuse, alcohol spills, and general rough service. This did not bother me since I was interested in a clean bed and good shower, both of which they had. The bathroom needs updating but is very functional. The pictures I saw on the website are not representitive of the room in which I stayed. I was never bothered by noise either from the street or the room next door. It was disheartening that the door for the emergency exit to the stairs was half off its hinges (easier escape?). I would stay there again on business, but not for a romantic stay with my wife.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funk644b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very large rooms for the price we paid! We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. The decor and furnishings were a perfect fit for Louisiana charm. The bed was dreamy! Lots of soft pillows and the comforter felt like a big pillow as well. We had the car valet parked when we first arrived, and we didn't have to move the car once. We walked to every location easily. Since it was an older property, my only complaint would be about the plumbing. The tub was a slow drainer and one of the sinks was a tad leaky. On the other hand, the electricity and air conditioning were perfect.

Room Tip: Don't go for the balony rooms, it's not much of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Property: The Lafayette Hotel
Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing