We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lafayette Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
257
227
78
26
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
227
78
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench quarteran older hotelmardi grastrolley lineparade routebottle of champagnecharles streetwwii museumcharming hotelwithin walking distancegarden districtflat screenbusiness districtvalet parkingquiet neighborhoodlarge bathrooma king size bed
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 614 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week that included the first weekend of Jazz Fest. We had a large room on the south side on the fourth floor. We slept well in the comfortable king size bed. We really wished for a fridge in the room, and wanted to open a window, but it was explained that by city ordinance, no hotel windows open in New Orleans. Every single employee of the hotel was friendly and helpful. The location on the trolley line and within walking distance of French Quarter, great grocery store, Mother's for breakfast, Italian food kitty corner, etc. was perfect. We aren't used to paying quite so much for a hotel room of this quality, but it was Jazz Fest week and it was New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here on a quick trip with friends recently. The hotel is charming. The decor is "old-fashioned," which fits in fine with the theme of the hotel. There is not much of a lobby for relaxing or waiting in. The bar area has been nicely updated but is quite loud, with cement floors and lots of TVs (not a cozy place). It was fairly empty when we visited.

The hotel had very good service; the rooms were always clean and the employees were attentive and kind. They have a security guard there at all times which was reassuring. The rooms were very large. The air conditioners were not up to the task of keeping the rooms cool enough, and they have an annoying "energy saving" feature which seems to shut the AC units off if you're not moving around enough in the room.

The biggest drawback of the hotel is the streetcar line. Although it's charming to have it pass in front of the hotel, in reality it's very noisy and shakes the hotel. It comes every 15 minutes, so I had a very difficult time sleeping. Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper--or else ask for a room at the back of the hotel (but it was still pretty loud from there). My husband is a heavy sleeper and didn't have a problem.

The hotel restaurant was pricey so we had breakfast at the Cafe at the Square--a delicious restaurant just a block or two toward the French Quarter. The coffee drinkers in our party had to walk several blocks to find a good cup of to-go coffee (no Starbucks, etc. nearby).

We were able to walk to the French Quarter every day--a nice stroll that took about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, away from the streetcar
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a marvelous week at the Lafayette Hotel in a lovely room (with balconies). The location was convenient to the St Charles trolley and was within walking distance or a short cab ride to the Quarter, Frenchman St, and many restaurants in the warehouse district. The service was impeccable and particular appreciation goes to Dwayne, at the front desk, and Luis, at the door. Both were responsive to any question or need that arose. We look forward to our next stay at the Lafayette.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

we just returned from jazz fest and stayed at lafayette hotel for 3 nights. the hotel was clean, room was big and everyone was very helpful. we were surprised at how big the room was. we had a living room with a sink & fridge and the bedroom was separate. the first day there, we couldn't figure out the shower & the front desk woman came to our room within 2 minutes. housekeeping did a great job and our room was always clean. we've been to nola a bunch of times and have never stayed in a smaller hotel. we usually go for the bigger ones. there was a feeling of personal service. the hotel was right on the street car line, which was convenient and it was a short walk to the french quarter. the last night there, we were too tired to walk to dinner and ate in the restaurant right downstairs. awesome. one of the better meals we had on our trip.
it's in a really quiet neighborhood. sometimes it's nice to get away from the craziness of nola. there's the best grocery store about 2 blocks away.
can't wait to go back and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: our friends stayed on the street side and said that the street car woke them up every morning and you could hear everything that happened on the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I visit NO at least twice a year and like to stay at the Lafayette. It's an older place, chaming, and the staff are fairly cordial. We get a corner suite with a 'frig, buy groceries at Rouse's down the street, and prepare some modest meals in the room, or enjoy a picnic at the park next door. We always request the same room (a nice corner suite, top floor, facing the park), and until the last visit, they managed to put us there. This time, however, we got a suite, but in the middle of the hotel. Still pleasant, but you could hear the AC machine going full tilt on the street and it did not have much view. I was disappointed as we had booked the room months in advance, so maybe their customer service is starting to slip. This latest room also had a TV stand that was ready for the junk yard and not up the hotel's standards. Overall, I would recommend the Lafayette as a lower-priced alernative and a very handy location as well. You do hear the street car, but it is not an irritating sound to us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boomertravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews