We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #91 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Close to the conference hotel (Hilton Riverside) but significantly less expensive. Lovely old building that has been well taken care of and is delightful. Clean, comfortable. Lovely staff - very helpful. Breakfast place down the street was fantastic and the restaurant in the hotel very good too. recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0c0Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 542 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

Friends and I stayed for 5 nights for Jazz Fest and city fun. The property is centrally located walking distance of the Quarter, Riverfront, and Kingdome. My room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Even though it shows it's age, I'd stay again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at the Lafayette Hotel for five nights before a Carniical Cruise .
The suite was a one bedroom with King bed, refidge, and cofee maker.
The front desk staff "Johanna" was excellent. On return from the cruise the Hotel kept our luggage.while we went to the Frech Quarter.
The door man told us about a deli / grocery stor 2 blocks away, very good chep crawfish.
The cab he called had a broken front window and no air conditioning?
This is a good hotel for the price and location.I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor king suite no adjoing room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved our stay at the Lafayette Hotel, no doubt in part because we were upgraded to a corner suite. The floor to ceiling windows, wraparound balcony and older furniture reminded me of French hotels, but the view of Lafayette Square and Gallier Hall, combined with the gentle rumble of the St. Charles streetcar, told me I could be in nowhere else but New Orleans. Because I was there with a group, I did see several other rooms and small suites. All were very generously sized. As mentioned in a number of reviews, the French Quarter is about a 10-minute walk. The Ogden Museum of Southern Art is just a few blocks away, as is the National WWII Museum. The streetcar stop for the Garden District and Tulane is just across the street. My meetings took me to a number of large hotels, all within walking distance and all with the bustle which comes with enormous lobbies and numerous meeting rooms. Their guestrooms probably had flat screen TVs, new furniture and perfect amenities, but I was so glad to return each evening to the more human scale of the Lafayette for shrimp at Mike's on the Avenue or a quiet drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank orwomenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fine if your idea of character is old and shabby. Incredibly noisy if you are in a room at the front of the hotel where the St Charles street car line runs (conveniently perhaps) 24hrs a day. Do not expect flat screens here (or even remotes that work). The aircon did not cope well with daytime temperatures in April, who knows what happens in Summer?

Room Tip: If you want quiet you need a room that does not overlook the street.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritOnATripAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Lafayette Hotel because the price was just right and the proximity between the French Quarter and the Garden District was perfect. We were a bit hesitant because we had stayed at "other hotels" in the quarter at an "agreeable price" and turned out to be a dump. So when we got to Lafaytte Hotel and saw how clean and super spacious the room was, we were overjoyed. The bedroom had a large king bed and the parlor had a pull out queen sofa bed. The decoration of the room suit the ambiance of the hotel which was periodically beautiful. The staff was quiet pleasant. The front desk attendant - Dwayne - was such a lamb. He greeted us every evening and took time to ask how our day went and added on great suggestions on what to do. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilvsLaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had three nights at the Lafayette Hotel and found it to be very agreeable. The location is very nice: a couple of blocks outside the French Quarter and on the St. Charles street car line for easy access to uptown. The building was built in perhaps the 1920's and it has nice architectural detail inside and out. It is a moderate size of five stories and perhaps only ten rooms on each of four floors, so it has a personal scale. We were on the fifth floor so the sound of the street cars was not a particular problem. The majority of the rooms are on the street side. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was not as up-to-date as I would have liked and the mattress was less than perfect as it had too much motion. The TV is not a modern flat screen type. However, the carpet and paint were very fresh and the bedroom and bathroom were large. There is a terrific restaurant, Mike's, on the first floor. The hotel is not perfect but it is a good value. And I would happily go back.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of quiet ask for a room in the rear.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 165 in New Orleans
1,300 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 165 in New Orleans
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#94 of 165 in New Orleans
580 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#88 of 165 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $92 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing