We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation in N'awlins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #94 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently went to New Orleans on a family vacation with 3 boys- not your average "Mardi Gras" time in New Orleans. We stayed at the the Lafayette and it was amazing. We spent 1 night in a regular room (requested a suite) and in the morning Kerry literally saved our vacation by transferring us to a King Balcony Suite (my husband had been googling hotel rooms in the city all night). The room was gorgeous, the people were so friendly and our stay in New Orleans was awesome. We did Swamp/ Cemetery/ Vampire Tours (so much cheaper than tours we've done in Cuba, Jamaica, Panama, etc.); we went to Cajun country in St.Francisville; we went to Cafe du Monde about 6 or 7 times; Jackson Square- French Market; we walked down Bourbon St (covering our 6 year old's eyes- but his teenage brothers LOVED it). Drago's for charbroiled oysters. We were a little worried that it wouldn't be "kid friendly" and were asked more than once why we were going with the boys, but New Orleans was a great place to bring our boys. They got to see and do (all PG) so many cool things. It was so much fun.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms are beautiful- the streetcar sounds didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allmylife_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 547 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

Staff was very friendly and helpful, location was excellent for people without a car. Room was a bit disappointing not as elegant as my friends, clean but just kind of plain. The air conditioner never quite got it cool enough, and if you are a light sleeper, ask for the back of the hotel! I found the streetcar noise very soothing....white noise!
Overal, excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I don't know how it happened, but the Lafayette Hotel gave us a luxurious suite for the equivalent of 65 euro a night! The location is brilliant, a couple of blocks from the French Quarter and the streetcar stops just down the street. The staff were friendly and the room was brilliant. There was no breakfast available but there's a nice place across the street. Of course there was a drawback. The connecting door to the room next door allowed us to hear more than we wanted from the air hostesses next door, who had to catch a flight at 6am. So we had an early rise we hadn't planned on. Other than that we had a lovely time, wandering through the French Quarter, catching the bands on Frenchman's street, enjoying the lobster in the Royal House and having a Big Easy time of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a connecting door to another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Attyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lafayette Hotel, 600 St Charles Street, New Orleans

We like to have a second room when travelling, since one of us requires much less sleep than the other. Having that other room to sit and read in is just another "marriage saver" for us. Finding a suite at a reasonable price, especially in a popular location, is a challenge. In New Orleans, we have found the best suite and the best price we have ever come across at the Lafayette Hotel on St. Charles Street. If you have ever been to the Ritz Carlton in Montreal, you will have an idea of the type of hotel it is, except on a much smaller scale, of course.

The hotel dates to 1916, finished at a time when luxury was still considered important for travellers. Read the info on their website for details about the marble, the wrought iron, the balconies, etc. It is too extensive for the purposes of this review, but nothing in it is misrepresented.

We arrived somewhat travel-weary to be greeted at the front desk as if we were family members. Those who work the front desk are so concerned about our well-being that to call them "clerk" is just wrong - "host" is more like it. The lobby is small and intimate. Cubby holes for keys run up one wall beside the reception desk; a door hides in the panelling behind it. Ceilings are tall, the elevators are burnished brass with a lovingly cared for feel. As if you were at someone's home rather than a hotel.

Our suite had an entryway 6 feet by 12 feet with a dresser, mirrors, fridge, sink, cupboards and counter. Beyond that was an elegantly appointed approx. 12'x12 living area with a partial wall to the left - behind the wall was the bedroom closet, complete with safe. A spacious bathroom, gorgeous bedroom also about 12x12 feet, with a ten-foot-tall french door opening onto the balcony overlooking Lafayette Park - plenty of dresser space. In addition, the drapes on each 10 foot tall window are heavy enough to cut all light, making sleeping on the king sized bed a pleasure.

Wifi is $5 per day, but when you consider that the entire suite was around $100/day plus tax (November), that small cost is fine by me!

Then the location - astonishingly close to everything. While it is "the business district", we walked (literally) four blocks to Canal Street and another one block to reach Bourbon Street (named, incidentally, for the family of Louis XIV, not the alcohol). From the French Market, we strolled leisurely for less than half an hour to reach the hotel. The hotel is located far enough away from the tourist section and the main roads to be very quiet at night.

Across the street and over a couple of doors is Between the Bread, a deli which will be reviewed elsewhere, but is not to be missed.

The staff are knowledgeable and treat you as family. A slight problem was fixed within minutes.

We liked it so well that we have already booked our stay there on the trip home.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlleVast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Front desk perfectly profesessional. Need more ice machines , move TV away from side of bed(and upgrade to flatscreens), allow parking in lot half block away rather than oneway ally across the trolley track. Housekeeping mistook a "will be out soon" as don't come in the entire weekend...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank labdan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I booked a "discount" room for a week night at the Lafayette on a budget expecting to walk into an old motel 6 looking room; My husband and I were quite surprised to walk into a victorian style suite complete with a sitting and dining area, 5 huge balcony windows with french doors, king size bed, antique, brass and mini/wet bar. Assuming we must have the wrong room, we went back down to the lobby to inform the manager that she gave us the wrong key. She informed us that we were in the right room. Where I live, a historic hotel suite like this with period decor would be will into the $200 range. Like I said, we were expecting a Motel 6- like room for the price but instead got a historic 5 star suite! Stepping out onto the the large balcony and looking down on the St. Charles street car, you feel like your back in the early twentieth century! This is hands down the BEST hotel we've ever stayed in and will definetly return on our next trip to New Orleans!!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper (we can sleep through an earthquake), you may want to request a room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have family in NOLA, but I usually stay at a hotel – I like the ambiance of the older hotels and I have always enjoyed being close to the Quarter and other touristy type venues. This was my 1st time to stay at the Lafayette Hotel and I really enjoyed it. In the past I’ve stayed at Place d’Armes and enjoyed that too – Mike V’s properties are always top-flight. The Lafayette Hotel facilities were good (it’s my understanding that some renovations are underway, but that wasn’t a problem for me and I will look forward to seeing the results), the location was great (loved being able to walk out the front door and get on a streetcar), the staff couldn’t have been kinder or more helpful, and there are some restaurants very close with a good variety of menus. I could have spent hours talking with Kerry – he is just delightful and takes such pride in the hotel – he obviously is more than “just a great employee” – he feels responsible for the entire operation and wants the Lafayette guests to leave with positive memories from their stay. I’ll definitely return to NOLA and will not hesitate to make a reservation at any hotel owned by Mike V. ……great job sir…..thanks for making NOLA even more hospitable. Best Wishes to all - from Texas

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter because the streetcar runs in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
1,351 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 167 in New Orleans
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#87 of 167 in New Orleans
904 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel

Address: 600 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#82 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $104 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing