We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel in an excellent location of the French quarter. The room was gorgeous. Excellent ac. Beautiful bathroom and coffee making (Sadly no tea-its the brit in me, I do miss tea) facilities. The only thing that stops it getting 5 out of 5 is that our room was next to the elevator and the walls are very thin so we could hear quite a lot of noise. I will say however that our building did not have lots of rooms so it wasn't going all night but when it did it made quite the noise. It is right opposite a public car park which is $27 for 24 hours (seemed standard for the area) and slightly cheaper than the hotel valet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Brilliant.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

(I don't know how or why my original post disappeared... submitted back in January.) This hotel was excellent value for the money. As my friend and I kept saying, it felt like it was one block from everything, as Jackson Square, the New Year's festivities, restaurants, etc were all so close. We stayed over New Year's, which of course, was a bit loud, but every time we called down to reception, the ladies on duty took care of the loud guys and gals in the hallways. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. It was an internal, with no windows, but one wall was made to look like a window with mirrors, so it made the room look larger. There was a lot of renovation/construction going on at the time, so I would like to go back and see what it looks like now. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Words cannot express the terrific time that we had in NOLA. We stayed at the French Market Inn which is conveniently located in the French Quarter. Everything was walking distance so we didn't have to worry about driving and where to park our car. The French Market Inn staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, cool, cozy and comfortable. Our room had a lovely window facing the street so we had a nice view of Decatur. The rate was fantastic. Next time we come back to NOLA; we are staying at the French Market Inn. We loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are driving; always stop at the Welcome Center. They gave us very helpful suggestions about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for the weekend. Perfect location - walking distance to
French Market, Bourbon St, Frenchman St, restaurants, bars. Nice little courtyard with small
pool. Close enough to all the nightlife, but far enough to enjoy quiet and get away from all the
hustle and bustle. River across the street as well as trolly to French Market.
Desk and support staff nice enough.
4pm check in and no mini fridge - but I assume that is the same at most places in th area.
I would stay here again. Perfect for a group or romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buxomhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in an excellent location, close to everything TFQ has to offer. Rooms are clean, luxurious and well-equipped, with high, comfy beds.

We were given a wifi code, but could not get wifi due to the location of the room (409). We had to go outside onto the staircase to get connection. However, if you're not in need, it's good to get away from it all and disconnect for a while.

We were woken at 8.30am the first morning by a foul-mouthed housekeeper, who was shouting curse words along our corridor. Despite calling reception and asking them to be quiet, we were kept awake and didn't get the lie-in we desperately wanted and needed. This ruined the stay somewhat, but it didn't happen again.

The pool is lovely to have a soak in after a long, hot day.

Beware - we booked through Booking.com and were told that there would be no pre-payment taken, but the hotel took $165 three days before we arrived. As I'd registered on the site with my UK card, I incurred exchange fees (I intended to pay using a pre-loaded dollar credit card), which I wasn't happy about. Apparently, we were told about this, but I've checked all my emails and they all say no pre-payment or deposit is to be taken. Disappointing.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rebbyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

everything about our hotel was excellent, and the location was perfect. The weather outside was hot and humid and the keep the hotel very cool. It was nice to walk into after a hot day, and the pool small but perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john31443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel with a pleasant staf and a great location. Walking to distance to Bourbon Street for only ~$110/night. We stayed at one of the inside rooms, so we didn't have any windows, but it didn't bother us at all, we were looking for a good location and clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherK202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,704 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,295 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $106 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing