We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel during our stay. Beautiful rooms, beautiful courtyard with a small outdoor pool all in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything is within a short walk. The hotel staff was great, especially the night crew. They made us feel welcome and were charming and funny. The price was amazing! The only reason it does not receive 5 stars is because of the accounting department. We booked through Hotels.com and they did not have our reservation when we arrived. The only way for us to stay that night was to pay (again) for the 1st night until they received the reservation and then get refunded for the double payment the next morning. This was fine, no big deal. I gave them 3 days before I asked about my refund again. They again said I had to speak with accounting (No one from accounting was ever available). It took 2 weeks to get my refund of the nights. I did get the refund. Moral of the story: I would recommend this hotel, but book with them directly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    283
    39
    25
    13
See reviews for
165
479
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wow! I can't say enough about the French Market Inn. We were a little hesitant because we got such a great deal on the room but decided to give it a try, especially after seeing all the reviews. We arrived after a long drive from Texas to such a friendly and warm staff. We were given a beautiful room (#227). We couldn't believe what a gorgeous room it was. Super spacious, beautiful bathroom and a nice little patio overlooking the courtyard. We had seen several reviews about smaller rooms with no window so I was sure to ask for a window. We were so incredibly pleased with the French Market Inn. The staff is so nice and they even have a "house cat" who just lounges around. I'm not much of a cat person but the cat always stayed out of the way.

The location is just perfect as well. Cafe Du Monde and Jackson Square are just a few blocks away. There is tons of shopping across the street. Riverwalk shopping is just down a few blocks as well. The riverfront is just across the street - and you are just 3 blocks from the center of Bourbon Street. We even walked down to Harrah's Casino on Canal Street which was maybe about 5 blocks. What I liked is that the hotel was small and quiet and after a night on Bourbon Street you came 'home' to a peaceful place.

As for parking, they do offer valet - but I researched this before we went and read that valet was around $40/a day. There is a parking lot DIRECTLY across from the hotel and it costs $27 a day. We paid $108 for 4 days. We didn't mind this too much since we got such a great deal on the room. It also allowed us to watch out for our vehicle and we saw it everytime we stepped out of the hotel. It is not covered parking but it was perfect for us.

Do not hesitate to stay at French Market Inn. We will definitely be staying again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. Also, we had Room 227, which was incredible, however, there is no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love2travel612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the quarter on Decatur street across
from the water near dining and shopping. A true small hotel with style and elegance sitting in the middle if it all. A couple of blocks from Royal, Jackson Square & the market. Great hotel at a great value! Hard not to sleep in and enjoy its comfort. Would come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am very thankful for the Staff and Management of the French Market Inn.

I have stayed at the French Market Inn numerous times over the years and am always well cared for.

I love it's location close to Cafe Du Monde, the French Market, Jackson Square and many shops and restaurants I enjoy.

It is also safe walk and distance to/from Bourbon Street.

The Front Desk staff I want to especially mention are Nancy, Perry, Jenna, Megan and Minnie.

Your housekeeping staff also merits a loud shout out as well for the well cleaned and comfortable presentation of the rooms.

I stayed in the hotel twice in the past week when I picked up a friend from the Airport and returned her a week later.

On the first stay, Perry was exceptionally helpful getting us settled and Nancy was great checking us in.

The night staff (whose names I do not have) went above and beyond to help my friend with meal options when her shuttle arrived after 1:00am.

I was especially thankful for Jenna's extra effort to track my daughter when she had left her cell phone on the charger in her room.

Our return this week was greeted by Perry's ever smiling face and Megan's friendly attitude.

Your staff as personable, professional and highly guest oriented.

Minnie sent me on my way with a happy smile and appreciation for my recognition of her Front Desk folks.

You are very blessed with these fine people and I look forward to my next opportunity to see them.

Room Tip: The room rates during the week make it a perfect overnight day trip location. I like the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I am a very picky person to begin with. Our visit to the French Market Inn was absolutly amazing. Very nice, very comfortable. Great location and so affordable. I enjoyed my stay. Costomer service is the best. The world needs more places like this! Very clean, safe,friendly staff. There will b en many return trips to the French Market Inn in my future!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The French Market Inn was adorable! I loved the decor. It was clean and close to a lot of good eats and Bourbon St! Our room was a little small, and so was the pool. But, none of that was really important to us. The valet service is $31 and some change per day. I'm not sure if they were having a bad day, but it took them an hour to bring us our car. Ridiculous. I Would DEFINITELY stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Located on the riverside edge of the French District, the French Market Inn is a pleasant surprise. The narrow front hides a warren of sections -- the hotel being made up of 5 or 6 buildings (including the 2nd floor and upwards over the adjoining storefronts) with a funky courtyard in the middle. We lost count of the number of elevators and sets of stairs (inside and outside). It was a delightful surprise.

The only complaint we have is the many of the rooms are 'interior' meaning no windows at all. A bit eerie sleeping in a room where the daylight never enters - a bit like being in a closet. Never-the-less, the rooms are well appointed, the beds comfortable, and the delightful courtyard with a tiny pool very close. Besides, when you're in New Orleans you spend all your time wandering the streets!

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little extra, ask for a room with window or balcony. The cheapest rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayaruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,821 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,149 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Property: French Market Inn
Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing