We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...”
Review of French Market Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Market Inn
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Bellville, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful...”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed there one night, location was great (3 blocks from famous Bourbon Street), the reservationists and clerk were very friendly. The room was exquisite, high-end linens, antique furnishings against an old brick wall- beautiful, BUT SMALL. The bathroom was newly renovated, updated tile, glass enclosure shower. We had our car valeted for $28. The price was fair by comparison, found a great deal on Expedia, called the hotel first to see if they could meet Expedia's price, a difference of $10.00. They said "No". So we ended up booking through Expedia. This is a charming hotel, right out of a Kate Chopin novel, lots of French Quarter architecture, old oils paintings, marble, crystal chandeliers, well-appointed courtyard, very tiny pool, and a resident cat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgoddess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    378
    58
    28
    16
See reviews for
215
615
61
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Can't say enough nice things about our stay at the French Market Inn! We had a recently renovated king room on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, super-comfy bed, large bathroom with plenty of hit water and great shower pressure, which is a luxury in these old buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful, making sure all our needs were taken care of. Hotel is in the best location you can ask for. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent 3 days at the French Market Inn as we started a 3 week road trip through the Southeast. We have visited New Orleans on 2 other occasions, and this stay was by far one of the most pleasant because of the French Market Inn. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. The facilities and rooms were clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The location, central to all of the French Quarter, could not have been more convenient for exploring the city. We will definitely stay here again in our future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I made a last minute hotel change when another local hotel was less than upfront with their costs. I really didn't know where to begin when choosing a new hotel because I was unfamiliar with NOLA. The French Market Inn staff were quick to meet our every need at a much better bargain. They offered very affordable prices, nice rooms that were comfortable and charming, and superior customer service. We absolutely loved the locale. Everything we needed was within five minutes, super close tot he French Market, while settled in what we considered the safest section of the French Quarter. It was truly a blessing to find them on such short notice and we were so pleased that we opted to extend our stay. Bonus- the parking is located directly in front of the hotel for almost half what other hotels were charging! We will definitely choose them for our return visits to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Smokers will prefer to be on the courtyard for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leatha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely hotel on the outskirt of the French Quarter. Location was perfect. Hotel completely remodeled and beautiful. Room was stunning. Large and comfortable. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. No restaurant or coffee shop on site, but out the door and steps away is the coffee shop and restaurants abound in the Quarter. Did not use the pool, but it did look inviting. Coffee in the courtyard was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Didn't expect much to stay cheaply to be right in the heart of the French Quarter - imagine our surprise. Our 2-bed room was spacious with a high-ceiling and wonderfully modern and new despite being in a historic bldg, with a view of the street and the river. The hotel is actually a collection of older buildings with a beautiful patio/pool/garden area with a fountain. Excellent free wifi. For the price it couldn't be beat. Staff was friendly though a bit short-staffed. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose two-bedroom room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Everyone here so was nice, staff was great. Our room was nice, clean, beds very comfortable, lots of towels and wash cloths. We had a balcony room, only type I would recommend for sitting outside for morning coffee or people watching. View of Natchez steamboat and when they were out, nice view of the river. I read people complaining about room noise, we didn't hear any outside noise except the early morning train, we're not late nighters so that wasn't a concern. We also didn't hear any inside noise except when the girls were cleaning rooms, which was after 9.
We would definitely return here again, best place to stay, close to everything, so glad we found this gem, had booked and cancelled some others until I ran across this one, so happy! If you have to have lots of extra space this might not be for you, but if you like quaint and cozy this is it!!
Thanks to everyone there for a pleasant experience!!

Room Tip: Any balcony rm, ours was 256, 2 queen beds, 1 to sleep in,1 for suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geriwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Market Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Property: French Market Inn
Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing