We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just short of the mark” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
tinton falls, nj
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just short of the mark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nicely renovated and wonderfully situated, this hotel fell just a little short of the mark. No spare roll of paper in the bathroom, only one coffee cup the first day and none after, one bed not made (did the housekeeper forget or was it the book on the bed?), no replacement shampoo or other amenities. No place to gather with friends if the weather is not good (had an excellent courtyard for sunny warm days). Still, a great place to stay, away from the revelry of Bourbon Street, but close enough to walk to all the fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are pleased you found the Inn on St Peter to be so nicely renovated as well our property to be situated in such a great area of the French Quarter. We apologize for the issues experienced with our housekeeping staff and have taken this opportunity to share your feedback with them to ensure these issues do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    237
    77
    21
    7
See reviews for
100
314
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location is great and very quaint, just what one expects in the FQ. The thin walls and clomping around on old wooden floors is to be expected. BUT, no hot water on first AM greeted by staff comment “you should have it” and told that the workman was at the other place and would be by later. Guests in 2 other rooms had same problem, cold showers. The room was never serviced properly, one day only 1 bath towel, another no cups and WiFi was off one day. Staff is friendly yes, but lacking basic competence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leforte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us as well as your overall impression that our staff is lacking competence. We take all complaints extremely seriously and have taken this opportunity to address the issues in your review with our entire staff. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I shared a 2 bedroom suite (two queens in one room and 1 king in the other) with 3 friends in August 2013. The rooms had exposed brick wall, which I love, the windows opened to a wrap around porch with tables and their was a television in every room. The staff was amazing, always asking if we needed something and even when they saw us on the street provided directions or suggestions. The 4 of us can be a little colorful when we're together, if the staff found our antics offensive they never let it show and even encouraged us. The rooms were always cool, which is very important when the temperatures outside are in the 90s. My only criticisms are there was only one garbage can in the room, including the bathroom and when they description said 4 beds, it included the sofa bed.

It's 3 blocks from Armstrong Park, 2 blocks from Bourbon Street, 4 - 5 blocks to Jackson Square, the Mississippi River and Cafe Du Monde and maybe 10 blocks from Frenchman Street, which has the best food and music, especially if you're into Jazz.

Some might find this a sacrilege, but I got pretty tired of the food after a few days, thats when we found a dive bar on Esplanade Ave and Dauphine Street (I think) that sells great burgers and Adolfo's on Frenchman's Street is amazing if you like Italian and seafood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased you found your stay last August at the Inn on St Peter to be excellent and appreciate your kind remarks. We look forward to having you and your friends back again upon your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is part of a franchise with several locations throughout the French Quarter. This one is near the north border of the French Quarter, which is a quiet part and a great vantage point to explore this part of town. The building is beautiful. The entrance to our room was separate from the entrance to the reception desk but that was fine. The room was small but clean and recently refurbished. We were not bothered by outside noises, except for the occasional conversation we could overhear from the receptionist. The receptionists we spoke to were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so pleased you found your time at the Inn on St Peter to be so enjoyable. It sounds like our prime location, in the residential section of the French Quarter, was exactly what you were looking for! We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our helpful and friendly staff and hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses upon your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed a the Inn on St. Peter for three nights in early January. Our room had a very large king bed and a small but comfortable bathroom. It was great to come out on the wrap around balcony right outside the room door. The location is perfect. It is only 2 minutes away from the Bourbon and Royal streets, yet far away from all the noise and craziness. It seems everything we needed was on our street - the Preservation hall, supermarket, nice bars and etc. They offer several options for parking, closest in a 10 minutes walk. We booked through the hotel's website as they offer nice deals directly. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for those looking to explore the French quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at the inn on st peter last week as a couple. this place is perfect because it is only 2 blocks off bourbon, but so quiet and removed from the buzz that you dont even notice it. the staff here was so nice and friendly, they really took great care of us. i made a mistake of leaving cash for the room when we meant to charge it to our cap one card (for the miles) and they quickly reversed the transaction with a smile and set us up right. really great customer service all around. the property is a typical historic hotel in the area built in the 1700's but modern and sparkling clean throughout. a nice touch: kuerig coffee makers and water bottles in the lobby and in the room for the caffeine fix. bed was super soft and cozy, temp in the room was just right, thermostat was easy to use. shower was big and spacious. really cool wrap around balcony on the 2nd floor. perfect place to stay and a great value-

Room Tip: we always request a quiet corner room-
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetrun4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Inn on St Peter was probably even more charming than I expected. Most of the rooms are not especially large but we loved ours nonetheless. Room 16, with 1 king bed, was a good size for 2 people and we loved the 2nd floor location. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Our first night we actually were in a 2 queen room with friends - #32. The bathroom had a double sink which was awesome.

The great: Keurig single cup brewers in every room, comfy beds, everything is newly refurbished/redecorated, showers are great, location is terrific- far enough from Bourbon St that there isn't much noise, but close enough to walk everywhere

The floor needed a good swiffering and the towels could be a littler larger. Other than that, It's a 200 year old building...it won't be perfect. However, it has tons of character. And, it has everything you need except maybe a mini fridge (suites only).

My only real complaint is about the water pressure & temp in room 32. I'm not sure what they did to fix that problem (we told them) but we were planning to move to a different room anyway so we just took showers in our new room.

Room Tip: upper floors have great views from the wrap-around balcony; interior rooms may be quieter;
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Property: Inn on St. Peter
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing