We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Changed for the better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings Promotion!
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Changed for the better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here two years ago and wrote a review because I enjoyed it. Came back and stayed the week of the 4th and it was beyond fantastic!!! Stayed in Room 21. It has a separate living/dining area and it was beautifully decorated. Modern furniture. Room was gorgeous. Found myself wishing I could live there!! The bed was so comfy. Did not hear anyone in the room next door. Peeked into that room (22 I think) because it was where I stayed two years ago and it was completely remodeled. Dark wood furniture. so pretty. Great location as always. Easy to find. Stumbled back a couple of times and had no trouble getting into room. Stay here! So worth it!!

Room Tip: Stay in Room 21 :) Ground floor and so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaniB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are beyond thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us over the Fourth of July Holiday weekend. It is truly music to our ears to hear from a guest that has not only seen the state of the property prior to all of our renovations, but then to praise all of the hard work we put into it! We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as they are all newly renovated as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    211
    64
    17
    7
See reviews for
82
260
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this place! It was recently renovated and the high ceilings made the rooms feel so much bigger than what they really were. The room and bathroom where expertly cleaned and tidy when we came back from exploring. The location is perfect for those who want to be in the middle of everything, but want to be able to sleep soundly at night. The Inn is 2 blocks away from the excitement of Bourbon street in the French district and 3 blocks away from Royal street (the art stores). Everyone on staff is so nice. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: There is an area away from the street that may be quieter. If you have problems with stairs talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you loved your stay at the Inn on St Peter! It sounds like our prime location and newly renovated guestrooms were exactly what you were looking for! As our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their week, we truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding the cleanliness of your guestroom. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolanville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the inn for 3 nights in room 21, a king suite. Loved the building and our room. It was very clean and comfortable. It was also very quiet which was great because we got a good nights sleep. We experienced no problems and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were downstairs but did not have noise from upstairs. Upstairs had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warinabellNolanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay at the Inn on St Peter, but would return upon your next visit to New Orleans! Our King Suite is a favorite among our repeat guests, and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy this room as well. Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tidy, clean little guest house not far from Bourbon Street. Most mod cons and well located in the French Quarter just a block or two away from the thick of it. Most room amenities seem new and staff are pleasant enough. Noisy but then so is the rest of the French Quarter. You won't be disapppointed for the price.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room for a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunroamin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you found both our staff and guestrooms to be so pleasant during your recent stay with us in June. You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter amenities are new, as the property underwent a complete renovation last year. Thank you for the great remarks and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for six nights at the beginning of June and love it... Its a small historic Inn walking distance to everything you need in the quarter. The rooms are renovated with new bathrooms and floor boards. We stayed in a King Balcony room, It is a bit on the small side but was perfectly comfortable for us. There was no elevator to the upstairs balcony rooms, however dont let that worry you as the staff were very helpful and carried our luggage up and down the stairs for us without hesitation. There is a small courtyard, fairly quiet on week nights that we sometimes sat in as the nights are warm. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As the hotel is a historic property, you are correct in noting that we do not have an elevator, however as you mentioned, our friendly and accommodating staff are more than happy to help bring your bags to and from your guestroom. We appreciate your great feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I wanted to stay in an historic building inside the French Quarter for our second vacation to New Orleans and booked with this hotel. It more than lived up to my expectations. Historic, charming but with clean modern rooms. The location was great. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed the restaurants they recommended. They even let us leave our bags after checkout so we could continue to enjoy our stay while waiting for the shuttle to the airport. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We love that you loved your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As you mentioned, the Inn on St Peter is a historic property (that recently underwent renovations last year), so we are able to provide the old New Orleans charm that people come to our city to experience, while still having all the modern amenities in our guestrooms that you would expect for one of the larger chain hotels. It also sounds like our friendly staff was able to help you with restaurant recommendations as well assisting with your bags. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really can't say enough good things about the hotel itself. Two blocks off Bourbon St. so just far enough away from the party but not too far. The hotel is very nice, rooms are very comfortable and nicely done. The very much needs improvement aspects come from the cleaning staff. They clean the rooms just fine but they are rude to say the least. They would knock on the door at 8:00 a.m. wanting to clean it. Really? 8:00 a.m.? Yep, every day. You could also hear them yelling at or to each other on a regular basis outside our room. The final straw was when we checked out on June 23. The cleaning staff was all congregated around the doorway of the office smoking and talking. We were checking out but not leaving for another couple hours and wanted to leave our bags. One of the staff let us in but the other two were actually in the doorway, sitting on the steps and wouldn't move to let us by with our luggage. We had to walk sideways thru them and lift our luggage over their heads to get inside. Then, the entire time we were checking out, they were yelling (and I mean ear piercing yelling) at each other. So, would I stay again? Maybe, the hotel is great but the staff has a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. Less noise from people moving back and forth from Bourbon Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twe578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom at the Inn on St Peter. However, we are extremely disappointed to read of your experience with our housekeeping staff. As it is our priority to provide our guests with top notch customer service, it does not sit well to hear of your encounter with our housekeepers. We apologize for their loud behavior and have taken the opportunity to discuss your experience with our team to ensure this does not occur again.

We would love the opportunity to make it up to you with a future stay at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as we are confident your stay will be nothing short of spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#5 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Property: Inn on St. Peter
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on St. Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing