We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel clean, recently refurbished and has a great staff! Only 2 blocks from Bourbon St, and close enough to walk to everything. We stayed for 2 nights and felt very safe and well taken care of. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachbum0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so pleased you will be returning to the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to New Orleans!

You mentioned our clean and newly renovated guest rooms, which we take much pride in. Our housekeeping staff are dedicated to ensuring all of the guestrooms are squeaky clean. We have also put much effort into restoring the Inn on St Peter back to it's original beauty, while adding in the modern amenities one would want on a vacation. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and top of the line furnishings, to the white carrera marble countertops and showers and flat-panel TV's, our guestrooms are sure to please our guests!

You also noted our great location, as the Inn on St Peter is located in the heart of the French Quarter's residential section. By being located just a couple blocks off of Bourbon Street, our guests are able to reside in a safe and quiet location while still being within a 5 minute walk of all the action!

We look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    228
    73
    21
    7
See reviews for
96
297
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I visited New Orleans towards the end of January - two weeks prior to Mardi Gras. The Inn on St Peter is located 2 blocks from Bourbon street in the French Quarter. The location is very convenient and everything is walking distance from the Inn but also away from craziness of Bourbon street. Rooms are small but very clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. One of the parades (a dog parade) went right past the Inn. I thought we paid a very good price for our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BengaluruBijli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you noted our great location, this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Since the Inn on St Peter is located in the quieter residential section of the quarter, our guests are within a two block radius of all of the excitement on Bourbon Street, which is just far enough away to have a quiet and relaxing space to return to.

The guestrooms at the Inn on St Peter do vary in size as it is a historic property. However, we find that our repeat guests tend to request their favorite room upon booking for their next visit.

Lastly, you mentioned the "very good price" for your stay with us, which we greatly appreciate. Although our properties are newly renovated and offer all of the modern amenities one would find in a large chain hotel, the Inn on St Peter as well as our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties are very fairly priced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and I have to say the rooms are beautiful and super clean.The location is great,close to everything and really quiet. We stayed in a room on the bottom off the courtyard and even though the hotel was full we never heard any noise. Every person we met who worked there was very nice and helpful,as for parking we parked un rhe garage on Chartres st and took a cab to the inn.The only problems we had was low water pressure with the hot water so we couldn't take a bath,someone came right away ti fix it but alas could not since water to the whole hotel would have to be shut off to fix it.Also the wifi in our room did not work the last two days,a lady who worked there tried hard to fix it but our room could not get a good connection. Enjoyed our stay,would stay again,price was a bit high though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning upon your next visit to Nola!

You mentioned our great location, as we are located in the heart of the residential section of the French Quarter which is just a couple blocks away from all of the Bourbon Street action. By residing in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, our guests are able to enjoy a tranquil and relaxing stay in their guestroom without all the noise and hustle and bustle of the busier Bourbon Street areas.

You also noted our nice and helpful staff, which we take much pride in. Our staff are the heart of our operation and we are pleased they were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us at the Inn on St Peter and we look forward to your return to any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent an overnight in New Orleans and purchased our night stay through an outside site. overall was perfect for what we needed. I think we paid a fiar price, however, i did over hear the front desk person telling a guest a price that i would not consider paying. The location was ideal for less noise and chaos of the Quarter but at night it was very quiet to walk to. It was a block or two walk to the bars, and was centrally located in the Quarter. The hotel staff was super nice, great with recommendations, called a cab for us, and just overall helpful. The room we had was very small but was really cute and cozy, and was located on the outside upper balcony, so we just opened our door and sat out on the tables outside if we wanted room...honestly if your spending alot of time in your room, your not in New Orleans for the right reason. We did see another room, same bed size, that was larger so there are options, but the room was clean, hardwood floors, tiled bathroom, flat screen tv. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: There is a courtyard side balcony, which may be more private, but the outside balcony was cool for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned our nice and helpful staff, we pride ourselves on our top notch customer service. They are there 24 hours a day to ensure your stay with us is nothing short of excellent.

You also noted our ideal location, as we are centrally located in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter. Our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are just a couple blocks from all of the excitement on Bourbon street, which keeps you within walking distance to return to a quiet and tranquil guestroom at the end of an exciting day or night.

We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our wrap around balcony as it provides a great space to relax before or after a night out. Our guestrooms do vary in size, as our building is a historic property. However, we are happy to accommodate a request for a specific room (as many of our repeat guests call in to place their request prior to arriving) and this is one of the advantage of booking directly with us. Our prices do range based upon the room type (i.e. Queen vs. King Suite) you choose at the time of booking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and some friends stayed here for 7 days during the 2013 Super Bowl. This is the perfect location for anything you would like to do. It's only a few blocks from Burbon street, close to many wonderful restaurants, bars and gift shops, there is even a grocery store within 5 blocks. The rooms are VERY clean, the staff is very friendly, maid service is wonderful and everyone is very helpful if you have questions. I plan to go to the Jazz Festival in 2014 and this will be where I stay. There is no parking but there are many garages near by, but the staff will pre-arrange a taxi for you any time of thenday or night. Rooms are still very affordable compared to may other local hotels.

Room Tip: Reserve the queen size room if possible, it is spacious and has a coffee pot in the room. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!

As you mentioned our perfect location, this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As they are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, we are able to keep our guests within walking distance of all the exciting attractions New Orleans has to offer, while providing you with a quiet and relaxing space to return to.

You also noted our clean rooms and friendly staff, which we greatly appreciate as customer service is our number one commitment. We are glad our housekeepers were able to provide the level of cleanliness you would expect from a top notch hotel and the front desk agents were able to answer any questions you may have had.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return for Jazz Fest next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location, rooms are clean and attractive, service is helpful, friendly and responsive. Rates are very reasonable for the French Quarter. Parking is available a few blocks away. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning!

As you noted our great location, this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter, the Inn on St Peter is just steps away from all of the action on Bourbon street while still being able to provide a tranquil and quiet oasis to return to after an exciting day, or night!

We also appreciate your mention of our clean guestrooms, as our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their services. Thank you for also noting our helpful and friendly front desk staff which is the heart of our team. We are so thrilled to hear that they were able to make your stay as great as you had expected it would be.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we look forward to having you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I used to stay at this place all the time. It was inexpensive ($90 - $120 a night) and clean rooms. Excellent staff! However, new owners have taken over, remodeled the rooms, and raised the prices significantly. There is no parking, no pool, no elevators. The one time I drove I had to park and walk 5 blocks to a parking garage. At the new prices, I will stay at another hotel which has these missing amenities but the same prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are disappointed, and surprised, to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter was purchased by the French Quarter Guest Houses and newly renovated and refurnished back to it's original beauty. The historic building itself has not been changed, as it has no elevator, pool or private parking lot, as it was when you stayed in the past. However, we have upgraded all of our guestrooms and common areas to provide top notch amenities. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and premium quality hotel linens, to our flat-panel TV's, brand new A/C units, and granite counterops and showers, we have put much time and energy into ensuring our guests have all the modern amenities one would want on a vacation.

As parking is at a premium in the French Quarter, many hotels do not have onsite parking and like them, we do our best to offer the most reasonable solution to our guests, which includes a privately owned lot at our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel, which we provide transportation to and from.

Again, we are sorry to hear you did not appreciate our upgraded property and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Property: Inn on St. Peter
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3316 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on St. Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing