We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Charles Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New Orleans
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Prytania Oaks Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prytania Park(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Plaza Resort(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
84
55
12
10
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
55
12
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowner dennisfrench quarterauthentic new orleans experiencemardi grascrescent citylocation is idealaudubon parkparade routefew blockscharmhiltonnolauptownprivacyneighborhoodsswamptrolley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 185 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love love love the St. Charles Guest House. No, it's not the Holiday Inn--the paint is peeling a bit, there are (lovely) vines growing up the buildings, and there are no TVs. In other words, it is perfect. We felt so welcome and comfortable here at any hour of the day. My daughter was 6 last year when we came to visit, and she hasn't stopped talking about it since. We just booked 10 days here this summer. So excited!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

We truly appreciate and feel good when someone comes to our Guest House and responds favorably to what we have to offer. We work hard to please those that come and sincerely want
guests to know that they are welcome and appreciated. The other element that appeals to our
type of traveler (guest) is one called "character". This has nothing to do with sheets, towels, breakfast or type of soap utilized. Character speaks to another level of understanding about what
makes New Orleans such a great city with a unique spirit. We want our guests to feel and experience that spirit and we do all we can to assist with that process.
Our guests (the allocentric traveler) wants to get to the "heart" of a place and we want to assist
with that in any way we can. We really like it when that works out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had two rooms here. One was really dusty and moldy and my allergies were out of control. The other room was cleaner yet had giant roaches in the bathroom. The building is old and in disrepair, the floors uneven and the carpet is likely 30 years old. I already mentioned the mold, but it's worth mentioning again as the place has an old musty smell to it.
That said, the upside is really the price. You can stay in an old classic New Orleans home for half the rate or less than other B&Bs. The pool and deck is really nice. The breakfast room is quaint and although the selections are mostly prepackaged pastries, the coffee is fresh every morning and there is a selection of fruits, toasts and jams. The place is quiet and the internet is free and actually fast and reliable (as compared to most hotels I've stayed at).
As to whether I'd recommend it, I will say that being money-conscious and being a fan of old Victorian houses (even those falling apart) I would stay there again. If I had more money to spend I'd pick one of the other B&Bs. In the end, it's really a matter of the type of traveler you are. For those not too worried about peeling wallpaper, faded carpets, and a roach or two then this guest house is an affordable, fun, friendly option that is much like staying at Grandmother's old house. If you are one of those people that likes everything new and spotless then you would find this place absolutely appalling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CruisingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at the St. Charles Guest House couldn't have been more perfect. We were impressed with the location, staff, and overall character of the hotel. If we come back to NOLA, we'll come back to the St. Charles Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agregor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Seeking reasonably priced clean lodgings in a safe part of town, I checked into this retro gem, where I felt grounded and comfortable instantly. The place imparts rare charm and character that is precious. It has an old boardwalk type courtyard, a pool, and a pretty canvas covered porch, where it's easy to while away hours (decent wifi). The staff is unstintingly gracious. There is also a screened in breakfast nook with juices, tea and snacks that are always accessible. The owner, Mr. Dennis Hilton, who welcomes his guests during the complimentary continental breakfast, and the rest of the staff provide great advice on what to see, where to eat, local events, and much more. It's a place of comfort, warmth and easy-going southern charm, only a block away from the Street Car and buses as well as the bustling part of St. Charles Street, in a great neighborhood filled with beautiful old houses, churches, as well as walking distance from the park, boutiques, art galleries, antique stores, and eateries on Magazine St. I will always go back here and hope they never lose their touch. It may be a coat of paint away from slick, but you'll have nice clean rooms, all the towels and tidying you ask for, a fridge outside to keep your perishables and drinks, so all the basics. What you get here is genuine. You can't buy it anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ceci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

For a very authentic yet affordable NOLA experience we'd absolutely recommend staying at the St. Charles Guest House. We stayed at this lovely inn for 6 days in July and had a comfortable and relaxing stay. When we could drag ourselves away from the beautiful outdoor pool, we found the inn conveniently located within walking distance of hip neighborhood restaurants, bars and shopping. Also, just one block away you'll find the streetcar for a 5 minute ride to the French Quarter. For what you pay and the location where you are staying you really can't expect too much more. Staff were warm, welcoming and accommodating. Small maintenance issues didn't overshadow- but rather brought out the character and charm of this historic building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poolside769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews