We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Charles Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$116
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
84
55
12
10
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
55
12
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowner dennisfrench quarterauthentic new orleans experiencemardi grascrescent citylocation is idealaudubon parkparade routefew blockscharmhiltonnolauptownprivacyneighborhoodsswamptrolley
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 185 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

St. Charles Guesthouse is a charming, lovely, and unique establishment. To be frank, it's not for everyone, but for those seeking something unique and quintessentially New Orleans. It harks back to a time of ease and interesting company. It's not about the rooms, but the experience. It's the sort of place where you will most definitely stumble upon something special...whether it's another interesting guest, a warm conversation by the pool or just being in close proximity to the Garden District or a ride down the St.Charles streetcar. It's a place to discover all that's wonderful about New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogypsygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Pros: Location (the best!), reasonably priced, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, quiet (didn't hear other guests ever)

Cons: Poorly maintained (carpets are thredbare, stains on ceiling, wallpaper peeling or painted over in spots, paint peeling on outside of building, rotted boards on building and on deck), dirty bathroom, moldy smell, sagging mattresses, parking was a nightmare.

We knew this was a bed and breakfast, and we've stayed in them before so we knew what it should be like. But this was just way more run-down than we were expecting. I know B&Bs aren't cookie-cutter hotel chains but I at least expect a clean room that didn't smell of mold. I had just gotten over being sick before this trip, and the mold or mildew brought it all right back.

The location in Uptown could not be beat. It's such a charming neighborhood where family are out walking their dogs and playing with their kids all hours of the day. Shops and restaurants were within walking distance, and the street car was close enough (we didn't take it to the French Quarter, but I believe you can).

If you're looking for an alternative to French Quarter accommodations, I'd highly recommend the area where this B&B is located. But sadly, I'd recommend finding another one because this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Overpriced - bathroom never cleansed properly - dont know if there is a hoover but it was never used in my room where I stayed 10 days - all towels and bedlinen stained - could not sleep with it next to my skin - breakfast i will not mention

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you have a clean home
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogmad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My stay at the St. Charles was comfortable and the service was reliable, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms give you the feeling of being a cherished guest at your Lousianna aunt's city home. Charming, quiet, and cozy. Plenty of heat on cool days and nice and cool on warm days. If you are a writer or someone who loves history you will be delighted.
The house is a short 2 block walk to the St. Charles street car, restaurants, and a very short walk to Magazine street in the heart of the Garden district.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterGal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The place is nice, safe with excellent location.
Parking on the street but safe and no problems.
Staff are super nice.
Rooms are just fine.
Bathroom need to be cleaner specially the shower and the towels need better washing (stained) and the our room had was really small.
I will stay again but wil request the review the bathroom before I arrive and will bring my own towels and be sure the bathroom size is just normal.

Room Tip: ask for a regular size bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubenchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews