We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #80 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Richland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton for a large convention at the end of June. My stay was for a week. This hotel has a great location, right on Canal at Decatur, on the edge of the French Quarter, within walking distance to everything. The hotel lobby is huge, very nice lounge in the center with good cocktails and great food. A great place to meet in the mid afternoon for refreshments. It was brutally hot and humid during our stay and the hotel, including our room was a very nice temperature. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. For in the bistro was very good. Had breakfast there most mornings. The shrimp and grits, delicious!!
Only things I would have wished for were larger windows in the room to take in the views and a larger pool. Pool was very small and crowded. Overall, a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 44th floor, river side, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sandi W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your travel experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you every time you're in New Orleans.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    761
    345
    136
    65
See reviews for
245
557
56
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Overall I had great service from the time I checked in to the room service to the lobby bar to the banquet servers! Food is awesome and I love the HUGE tv they have in the lobby bar. Staff was attentive and the atmosphere at this hotel is just amazing. This by far is one of my favorite NOLA spots!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsEnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi MsEnds,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay with us. We are delighted that we've made your favorites list! We are so happy we can add to your New Orleans experience and look forward to welcoming you every time you're in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was at this hotel for a very large convention from 7/11-7/19. Worst stay ever. From the short staffing to the middle of the night construction, this stay was abysmal. Seems that management forgot to tell staff that there would be many large conventions/conferences scheduled this summer.

In the first two nights, construction began at midnight and continued until 2:30 am. Why anyone would schedule middle of the night construction is beyond me. I did receive a couple credits on my bill, but was refused the ability to speak with hotel management. Further construction was then scheduled from 8:30-4:00, but it was too late at that point to make guests with rooms from the 6th to 12th floors happy. Several scheduled meetings had to be moved to the Marriott across the street due to the construction.

Had there been another option available to me for hotel space, I would have left nearly immediately.

Food was average at best, and significantly overpriced.

The hotel staff that was on duty was wonderful, but clearly overworked. Housekeeping seldom had the rooms cleaned before late afternoon. Wait staff was pleasant, but not very attentive, due to having too few people working at any one time. It took 2 hours to get a sandwich in the Pelican Lounge. It regularly took 20 minutes to be seated in the very empty Roux café for both breakfasts and lunches.

WiFi was available, but only for a charge. There was no place in the hotel where WiFi was free to guests.

Given that there were several large conferences and conventions at this hotel throughout the week, I expected some delays, but this was completely ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rooms had maintenance issues. TV way out of adjustment. Good news is maintenance staff was great and repaired everything. Room was VERY noisy and everything in room next door that was said could be heard as well as the hallway. No sound proofing in their rooms. Cafe was no where near what a Starwood property should be. Very poor service and low end food. Breakfast buffet selections were similar to what you would expect at Furr's or Golden Corral. With large conventions in the Hotel they chose to close all 3 floors restrooms at the same time for remodeling. Floors 3, 4 and 5 all had 800 people trying to go to the second floor at once. I would never go back here. The Hampton Inn I stayed at the night before arriving here had similar furniture, amenities and a much better FREE breakfast. The club levels ice machine had been broken for months according to staff. Food in the club was not even as good as Hampton's for breakfast!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Bob H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our property. This level of detail is extremely important to us so we know exactly how we can improve in the future.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with maintenance upon arriving to your room, but so happy our team was able to repair everything for you.

I do apologize for the noise and the inconvenience of bathroom availability. We are under a mild renovation and are so sorry you were affected by our remodeling.

Since you have mentioned a few other items in your review, our Front Office Management team would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in greater detail. We invite you to call directly at 504-329-2136 and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Check in was easy and staff was very accommodating! Easy access to all of the hot spots... literally a short walk from Bourbon street and easy access to the trolley... The room was quiet and clean. Had a very nice view of the city. If you want to be within a nice walk of everything this is the place to be

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I guess you couldn't find a better location...two blocks from Bourbon Street one way and two blocks from the Mississippi River and the casino the other way. Check in was painless and the young lady was very accommodating. We were there for a convention and she gave us a king room overlooking the River which we loved. Several times a day we were serenaded by the calliope on the river boat as it got ready to leave and the daytime views of the river and the barge traffic and the nighttime lights were great too.

The general experience was very good. Not to say there wasn't a few glitches, but they were all worked out very quickly and to our complete satisfaction by the hotel staff. No complaints there.

Oh...if you do stay at this hotel you need to know about their elevators. When you approach a bank of elevators you punch in the floor you wish to go to and on the little screen will appear an elevator letter which you are to use to go to the floor you desired. When you enter the elevator, there are no floor buttons, so if you change you mind or want another floor, too bad because the floors have already been programmed into that elevator for those guests that punched in floors in advance. How strange to see so many people entering into an elevator and turning around to punch a button. I guess that is progress in this digital world.

Room Tip: You will have your choice of a river view or a French Quarter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the great river view from your room.
We hope to see you soon again when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

huge hotel, easy to get lost. but rooms were spacious and comfortable. lobby bar had good drinks. location is central, it is a quick walk to both the french quarter for all the touristy thing and to the warehouse district for hip bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aw896878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#81 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#59 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing