We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an Overnighter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
las vegas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just an Overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our jumping off point for our christmas cruise, so we were only here for one night. The location is perfect. The Hotel appeared to be full, as there was a bowl game that evening. Many of the Ragin' Cajun supporters where staying here. Even with that the check in was fairly quick, the agents were smiling and welcoming. Our room was fine. Loved the floor to ceiling window! we had a river view, only slightly obstructed by the roof of the next building. I would have preferred a higher floor, but as this was a pre-cruise package room secured by the cruise line, the floor and view was actually better than I expected.
Beds were comfortable, water pressure in the shower adaquite.
The only complaint would be checkout. being part of the package, we had transportation to the pier provided by the cruiseline. The front desk agent advised us that the bus picks on the street side of the lobby. We were directed to wait near the front doors, and told that the representative comes in and announces for us, "we couldn't miss the call". We were waiting near the streetside doors, with several others who were going on the cruise, we could see a bus loading up...but no announcements from the doors we were near. The rep actually looks for passengers from the valet enterance on the side of the lobby. If someone in the group hadn't gone outside to inquire if this was the arranged transportation several of us would have not heard the call... Front desk agents need to not be sending the cruise pax to the front of the lobby, but to the valet side.
All in all it was a good place to lay our heads for the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutuwahinelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We greatly appreciate the time taken to connect with us regarding your experience. Please accept our apologies for the misinformation in regards to your scheduled transportation to the cruise port, which is completely understood as inconvenient. We would love the opportunity to have you back with us in the future if you so choose. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    812
    360
    143
    67
See reviews for
273
587
59
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed at this hotel valentine weekend with the kids. right on canal street so within walking distance to stores, restaurants, and the casino. Service is good and rooms were clean though small, which is typical in this area. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and complimentary starbucks single brew in the room. we lucked out with NBA all stars happening at the same time and found several NBA players stayed here as well! the only negative was the parking fee, $40/night; but again this is typical for the hotels in this area. Def a return hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmalways4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself for such a fun and festive weekend. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

A great hotel in a very interesting city. The Sheraton is conveniently located on Canal Street, with easy walking distance of the French Quarter and most major attractions. The staff was great and the rooms were clean,quiet, and comfortable. Upgrade to a suite if one is available.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the river side. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here the day after our cruise ended. The hotel is close to the cruise ship terminal and the cab was a flat charge of $7/pp. We didn't know that it was the weekend of the NBA All Star Game when we booked our stay. We encountered professional athletes in the lobby and there was such a celebratory energy all around the city. The hotel was in a prime spot and everything was within walking distance of the French Quarter. After the cruise, we were running low on supplies for our toddler and there were so many stores nearby to meet our needs. We were even able to buy him new shoes as his got wet on our last cruise day. The hotel staff was very friendly and the people at the tour desk were very helpful in making our one night stay in NOLA very fulfilling. Recommendations for tours and restaurants that were kid friendly were much appreciated. We had a great view of the city from our room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luggagecheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are so pleased you feel at home with us at the Sheraton NOLA. It is certainly our goal for all of our guests. Thank you for such kind words and compliments of our team. We look forward to your next visit with us for a repeat performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans on Canal Street last week and my stay was phenomenal. The service from the front desk and the housekeepers was undeniable. They made sure we were welcomed, they answered all questions we had and they even enlightened us on everything that was going on in the city. I think the most unique feature in the hotel is the elevator, you have to press the floor your going to and depending on which elevator comes first (A- J) it will take you to your floor, as oppose to you going floor by floor with a normal elevator. We were on the 45th floor with an amazing view of the Mississippi River. The restaurant at the hotel was good, I unfortunetely was sick so I did not have the taste for food, but my friend said it was awesome, especially the cook to order omelette. I did have a drink at the bar with some wings which were to die for (I love hotel wings, yum). Also for you convenience there is a FULL service Starbucks in the lobby and tour guide ladies that can answer all your questions about the city. My only downside, which was expected was valet is at a charge for $48 a night. I tried to look for other self parking options, but it was NBA Allstar weekend and I had a better chance of being elected President of the USA. Overall I feel strongly about making this my go to hotel in New Orleans, I mean your literally three blocks away from Bourbon Street and all the best restaurants are in within a three mile radius.

Thank you Sheraton New Orleans for an awesome time, and oh Blake Griffin wished me happy birthday while I was in the lobby (score!)

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are so pleased you feel at home with us at the Sheraton NOLA. It is certainly our goal for all of our guests. Thank you for such kind words and compliments of our team. We look forward to your next visit with us for a repeat performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
239 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Was here for only about 24 hours as part of a large convention. The hotel and staff were accommodating. Room was fine. Conference space was large, but management. Fitness center was large and well-equipped.

Good location in/near French Quarter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed on the 37th floor of the Sheraton New Orleans and I loved the location, the room and the view. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's a great bar on the first level. And walking distance to Bourbon St. Definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillerTimeinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I am so delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Our location is something we are quite proud of. It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage og being directly across the street from the French Quarter. Please come back and join us again for your next trip to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing