We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #78 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Upon arrival, traffic before the hotel was backed up 2 blocks. We tried to navigate around the traffic, but were told we needed to circle the building and get in line. It took us over 30 minutes to get through the "parking line". When we came to the front of the line, we were told by the same staff member who told us to drive around the building that valet parking had been unavailable for over three hours. This staff member then rudely threw a map of surrounding parking garages in the car.

After checking in with two rooms, one was unmade and smelled strongly of alcohol, the other was located directly next to the elevator. An unhelpful and unapologetic staff member at the front desk indicated she could fix the "booze room", but there was nothing to be done about the other room.

9th floor room was unreasonably loud with street noise and hallway noise. Being directly next to the elevator was an unpleasant experience I would wish on no one. The 19th floor room was on the same hallway as a football team/booster club, so noise was a problem there as well. At check out, after being asked how our stay was and responding "unpleasant and unacceptable", staff member chuckled, said, "we've gotten that a lot, have a nice day" and left the desk.

While the rooms were well appointed, the staff of this hotel could stand to learn a lot about the meaning of customer service and treating guests like guests, not like animals. This was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had and will not plan to stay at a Sheraton again if I can help it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senorjonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the overall experience you had with us. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked this on one of those secret hotel deal things, so didn't know what we were booking. Therefore we got it for a good price. It was as expected, fabulous. Very posh, slthough the staff were really nice, which i never expect in places like this. Really friendly and helpful, especially on the valet, when we needed to get out really early. Luxurious rooms and we had a view of the french quarter, whcih was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the Bayou Classic on Thanksgiving weekend. I received a good rate using Bookit.com for $143 per night. It was much less than the over $200 per night that was being quoted by Sheraton reservations, the front desk, expedia and orbit. The hotel and room were clean. Great location as stated by others. However, considering that this is a business hotel the fees for internet was not necessary that considering that free wifi is available in most places now. There is a Starbucks located in the hotel, but I'm not sure if Starbucks provided separate internet from the hotel or not. Be prepared to pay a hefty $42 per night for valet parking. This was an excessive amount and I assume that tip and all were included. I did not tip when paying this price for parking and do not advise anyone to tip when being charged ridiculous amounts such as this. I'm not sure if this is the normal rate since there was a special event going on but it is definitely worth checking into if you plan on staying at the hotel for a few nights. If you are driving you do not have any options to park anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We greatly appreciate the time taken to connect with us regarding your experience. Please accept our apologies for the pricing concerns, which are completely understood, but thank you for the kind words regarding your room accommodations We would love the opportunity to have you back with us in the future if you so choose. Have a blessed day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Despite being just blocks from the craziness of the French Quarter, I slept great in a comfortable bed in my amazingly quiet room. The view from the room was spectacular through the floor to ceiling window. The elevators were busy but generally not overwhelmed. I had one minor problem with my bill that was promptly resolved. My only complaint might be the high price of the breakfast buffet but the food and service were excellent. I will go back to this Sheraton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrestlerUMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got to our room to find out that there was no hot water in the shower.
It took them 30 minutes to send a technician, when he came at last he said he fixed it but he actually didn't.
We called the front desk again and explained that the problem wasn't fixed, it took them ages to understand the issue, and send the guy again (after another 30 minutes). He checked the hot water and decided to move us to a different room on the same floor. Unfortunately - same problem there.
At that point i decided to go to the front desk and talk to a manager in person.
To make a very long story short - eventually they moved us to a different floor, that did actually have hot water in the shower.
They comped us for 50$.
Although the problem was eventually fixed and we were comped for the hassle, we were very disappointed from the hotel. A 4-star Sheraton cannot allow itself to have rooms with no hot water. This is absolutely not acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YossiRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you had in your room as well as the lack of timeliness in resolving them. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and hardly slept as the guests across our room was a wild bunch. We had to call security every night to complain about the noise and party animals. They would come and handle the issue for the time being until the college kids would get back to being noisy again.
What I can't understand is how do these people get Starwood preferred status?
Rooms are spacious but not cleaned properly. Dust inside drawers and glass table dusty as well which I have not come across in any hotel so far.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise from other guests as well as the lack of overall cleanliness of your guestroom. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here for an electric cooperative conference in July 2013. Pools, fitness room, Starbucks. Rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. Overall, a great place to stay. The conference rooms were comfortable and had the most beautiful ceiling lights that I've ever seen. They were a form of art all on their own. My only issue with this hotel was you never were able to shake the high humidity of the area. The hotel even seemed a tad bit humid.

It's within walking distance of major attractions, shopping, and the waterfront tours. You can also grab a trolley out front or walk two blocks to catch the cross-town trolley.

If you're into high quality hat wear, walk two blocks up and turn left to find Meyer the Hatter at 120 St. Charles Street. Three generations of Meyers make this visit a treat. Cedric was great to work with.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DE_Auditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Great to hear of your experience with us! Even though you had to work, I'm delighted you had a chance to partake in the festivities of the city and our great location. Please join us again for your next visit to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,570 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,542 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#69 of 166 in New Orleans
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#67 of 166 in New Orleans
4,120 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $113 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing