We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
College Park MD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Despite being just blocks from the craziness of the French Quarter, I slept great in a comfortable bed in my amazingly quiet room. The view from the room was spectacular through the floor to ceiling window. The elevators were busy but generally not overwhelmed. I had one minor problem with my bill that was promptly resolved. My only complaint might be the high price of the breakfast buffet but the food and service were excellent. I will go back to this Sheraton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrestlerUMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    824
    371
    146
    70
See reviews for
281
600
61
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got to our room to find out that there was no hot water in the shower.
It took them 30 minutes to send a technician, when he came at last he said he fixed it but he actually didn't.
We called the front desk again and explained that the problem wasn't fixed, it took them ages to understand the issue, and send the guy again (after another 30 minutes). He checked the hot water and decided to move us to a different room on the same floor. Unfortunately - same problem there.
At that point i decided to go to the front desk and talk to a manager in person.
To make a very long story short - eventually they moved us to a different floor, that did actually have hot water in the shower.
They comped us for 50$.
Although the problem was eventually fixed and we were comped for the hassle, we were very disappointed from the hotel. A 4-star Sheraton cannot allow itself to have rooms with no hot water. This is absolutely not acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YossiRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you had in your room as well as the lack of timeliness in resolving them. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
369 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and hardly slept as the guests across our room was a wild bunch. We had to call security every night to complain about the noise and party animals. They would come and handle the issue for the time being until the college kids would get back to being noisy again.
What I can't understand is how do these people get Starwood preferred status?
Rooms are spacious but not cleaned properly. Dust inside drawers and glass table dusty as well which I have not come across in any hotel so far.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise from other guests as well as the lack of overall cleanliness of your guestroom. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for an electric cooperative conference in July 2013. Pools, fitness room, Starbucks. Rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. Overall, a great place to stay. The conference rooms were comfortable and had the most beautiful ceiling lights that I've ever seen. They were a form of art all on their own. My only issue with this hotel was you never were able to shake the high humidity of the area. The hotel even seemed a tad bit humid.

It's within walking distance of major attractions, shopping, and the waterfront tours. You can also grab a trolley out front or walk two blocks to catch the cross-town trolley.

If you're into high quality hat wear, walk two blocks up and turn left to find Meyer the Hatter at 120 St. Charles Street. Three generations of Meyers make this visit a treat. Cedric was great to work with.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DE_Auditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Great to hear of your experience with us! Even though you had to work, I'm delighted you had a chance to partake in the festivities of the city and our great location. Please join us again for your next visit to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Sheraton New Orleans is in a great location.....within walking distance to French Quarter as well as Superdome and convention center. Easy walk to so many fab restaurants ans attractions. It' needs some sprucing up ...rooms and meeting rooms a little tired.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am so delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Our location is something we are quite proud of. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Please come back and join us again for your next trip to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The location is great and overall quality of rooms is acceptable for the value. However, I was very disappointed with the female desk clerk who was very cold and non compassionate. Upon arrival, she told us that our club room was on the 42 floor by a busy elevator. We told her that we would prefer not to be by the elevator and on a lower floor because of my dislike of heights. She told us that our only other option was a quiet room, almost on the 50th floor. We decided to take this room, however it overlooked a busy highway which was very dizzying!!! Luckily the manager was more understanding and quickly switched us to a lower level room. Although the hot water tap in the sink did not work(we did not complain) I am still shocked at the unfeeling attitude of the front desk girl and her complete lack of empathy towards a guest that travelled so far to have a nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the interaction with our front desk team member upon arrivaI. I completely understand the concerns you have and would be happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This Sheraton remained consistent to the brand but with some perks including a very large bar and projection TV for the Saints games, on site Starbucks, and excellent customer service. The location is perfect if you want to be in the Quarter but off Bourbon St. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We were only there one night but I would have
Iked to enjoy the other amenities... Restaurant, fitness room, etc. I would definitely look to book this hotel for my next trip to NOLA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased you feel at home with us at the Sheraton NOLA. It is certainly our goal for all of our guests. Thank you for such kind words and compliments of our team. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing