We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #81 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a great location. The rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The club rooms are definitely worth the extra money. We had a club room on the 48th floor overlooking the Mississippi River. It was very clean, comfortable, and modern with a 55 inch flat screen TV. Having access to the club lounge for breakfast was a nice way to start the day. Our housekeeper was extremely pleasant and had excellent tips on where to eat and places to visit. You can easily walk to the French Quarter and the river park or catch a streetcar just a block away. I did notice noise carried from the hallway and there is a train that goes by regularly at night--was not a problem for me but I did hear it several evenings. This was my second stay here and would definitely return again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lenora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for all of your kind words and nice comments regarding your experience. We are so grateful for the compliments of our housekeeping team and your experience in our Sheraton Club. It truly is a fantastic value. Please come back and join us for your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton with my boyfriend and we had a great time. The location is on the outside of the quarter but it is along the bustling Canal Street. The hotel is completely clean and the staff is amazing. The bed was great!

The location is down the street from harrahs and the aquarium and you can hop on a street car to go to the Garden District.

I would recommend the hotel if you want to stay somewhere you're used to.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great and you spend more time out of the room than in anyways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichele27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback about your experience. Our location is a wonderful aspect of our property in this city, so close to everything French Quarter. We certainly look forward to the next time you visit New Orleans for repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in September. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is well located. But it is just a typical hotel - there really is nothing outside your very standard hotel.
I will say neither my alarm clock not telephone wake up system worked and when reported was not fixed which made me late. The staff seemed to be okay. Restaurants again were very standard and nothing exceptional. It is the location that makes this hotel good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for finding the time to give our team some details of your experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the troubles with the alarm clock not working properly as well as not receiving your wake-up call. I completely understand your area of concern here. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, allowing me the opportunity to address with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed for 3 nights as part of a Titan holiday. Great hotel very clean and comfortable and staff were very polite and helpful.
Thought the breakfast buffet was a bit pricey at $22 but we asked a local where we could eat for a reasonable price- he said " Daisy Dukes" just across the road and down the first street (I think the street name was something like Sheratees) we have 2 good breakfasts and a great steak on 1 night for a fraction of the cost elsewhere- its certainly worth a visit to go where the locals go

Room Tip: I believe all room have a good view but would suggest 15th floor or above to have a view over the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunworking53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time taken to provide us details of your experience. Our location is fantastic for walking distance to so many great restaurants and other avenues of entertainment in the French Quarter. Please join us again for a repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great view from our room! They waived our Wi-Fi fee since we were only staying for one night. Parking is about $50 a night, but valet service was friendly and efficient. The front desk staff was friendly and patient. The beds were super soft and comfortable. Only con is the rooms did have a weird humid smell.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors for better views. River view is better than street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angemili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for all the great comments regarding your experience as well as areas of improvement. The location is fantastic within walking distance of so many great venues. We would be honored to have you make a return visit to the Sheraton New Orleans the next time you visit the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Within walking distance to everything. Street cars and bus right out front. On the 32 floor and the room stayed a little warmer then it was set for. All in all was a great place to stay. Got best deal on price line. I didn't like the ideal of paying $42 a night to park but wanted my vehicle safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your experience. Our location is perfect just across Canal Street from the French Quarter. Please join us again for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rooms look as if they have been recently remodeled. The beds were quite comfortable and zero noise from the adjacent French Quarter. There are housekeeping credits you can get for use in the hotel restaurants if you opt out of daily maid service. I found this very useful, especially for those late nights out where I slept in and lounged in the room most of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,649 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,625 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
5,957 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $162 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing