We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is located close to Bourbon Street and Jackson Square plus all of the other fun places to check out while in New Orleans. Everything is within walking distance. The taxi ride from the airport took about 15-20 minutes. I plan on returning to New Orleans and plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Get an executive suite. They are perks for getting one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hueby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We really appreciate the time taken to connect with us regarding your experience in NOLA! I am so very pleased you took advantage of our fabulous location, which rolls out the red carpet for everything French Quarter. We would love to have you join us again for your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,286)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,011 - 2,017 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

You cannot go wrong with this hotel, all was great I mean all, the view from our 22nd floor to the river was amazing at night, few steps from Bourbon and service excellent and the best they admit dogs up to 80 lbs at NO extra cost.
Be aware of the parking fees $37.50 per day, you walk a block and a half towards the back of the hotel and the parking drops to 22.50 per day multiple ins and outs better deal.

Room Tip: don't use valet parking park on your own and save some $$
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for connecting with us in regards to your great experience! We are so delighted you brought your family to join ours for a few days. We are certainly pet-lovers in NOLA! Most of the hotels in the city are run by one parking company that have the same prices across the board. I'm glad you were able to find a better deal. Parking can be scarce at times in New Orleans. We would love to have you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here from 8/7 - 8/11 for a national convention. The overall experience was pretty good, room was clean & straight-forward and the hotel staff and maintenance were courteous and very helpful. The lobby was the most comforting area with a nice bar and a number of internet kiosks in case you need a computer. One thing that kept this from a 5 rating was no wifi access in the rooms unless you paid a fee which proved a nuisance. You had to go down to the lobby for wifi. Other than that one thing I'd still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE2Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. Our staff truly is the heart of the operation. I understand the concern of the cost of Wifi in the room, but we are certainly happy to have the complemetary option in the lobby. Our location is also a great launching point to all things NOLA downtown! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great hotel , great location, helpful staff. we stay for 4 days en had a great time , hotel location is in the canal street , close to French quarter, and garden district , close great restaurant and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to connect with us! We really appreciate all of your kind remarks. Our location is wonderful! We love it too! Hopefully you see a return trip the future to join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a seasoned traveler, I have had stayed at many Sheraton Hotels over the last 20 years. I had typically found them to be hit or miss, but the Sheraton New Orleans (500 Canal Street), not only was a hit, it was out of the ballpark. Aside from the interesting elevators (where you select your destination floor before entering), the hotel was extremely modern, refreshing, and easy to navigate.

While I do not particularly like the lack of amenities for Starwood Gold Preferred guests, the free internet and daily bottle of water were well received. The quality of the room was superior to every Sheraton I have ever stayed in (from NYC to California to San Juan, PR). The location is excellent with easy walks to Harrah's Casino, or the two blocks to Bourbon Street. Room service was efficient although I feel limited in some ways (while it was available 24 hours, I have been spoiled by the Westin's ability to deliver breakfast at any hour).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It is close enough to the French Quarter to walk in under 5 minutes, yet far enough away to get away from the noise and, quite frankly, smell. I also stayed at the Sheraton Four Points French Quarter during this stay and I will review that separately. I enjoyed both hotels for the services and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nut4Disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for the detailed information regarding your experience as well as all of your continued loyalty bestowed to Starwood as a SPG Gold Member. Our location and views really provide a great set-up for a wonderful NOLA experience. We recently renovated our property last year. I'm very glad the enhancements and fresh face provided an easy atmosphere for you. We would love to have you return for a chance to knock it out of the park twice in a row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent the long Labor Day weekend in New Orleans. The Sheraton is in a prime location on Canal St., just at the edge of the French Quarter. The Sheraton is the tallest hotel in New Orlean and our room had a wonderful view of the Mississippi River. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms had a flat panel TV, comfy king-size bed, and well lit bathroom. There was no refirgerator in our room - we could have asked for one but didn't need it. The one odd thing was there wasn't a closet but just a clothes rack and hangers. Also, no bathrobe, which would have been nice to go to the pool. The elevators are computerized, i.e. you enter your floor number and it tells you which car to get in - to buttons for floors in the elevator itself. I've seen this in other hotels in New Orleans.
I didn't really see the restaurants, although they claimed to have a couple. There is a Starbuck's in the lobby - very slow service! The bar takes up most of the lobby and provides a nice view of Canal St. Drinks are a bit expensive but I suppose comparable to other hotels in Sheraton's category.
We had my husband's service dog with us and a nice convenience was a "pet relief" area just off the hotel entry drive. No need to go searching for a park.
The two complaints I have is that unless you pay to be on the Club floor, you have to pay for wi-fi in your room. It is free in the lobby. Why is it that Motel 6, Super 8 and other "low end" hotels provide their guests with free wi-fi across the hotel yet the high end hotels like Sheraton charge you for it?? And, the hotel was very noisy - not so much room to room but there was just a lot of "systems" noise - AC, plumbing, who knows what else - it kept me awake until 3 AM the first night!

We had a great rate so no complaints there - the reservation agent told us about a non-advertised rate which brought the nightly rate down to $87. The moral of the story is that sometimes the cheapest rate isn't on the webpage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will give you a view of the river those would be the lowest numbers on the fl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate the kind words so much. The views and location are quite spectacular. I apologize for the slow moving line at Starbuck's. We often do experience delays when we have many lovers of the brand in house. Most full-service hotels charge for internet in the guestrooms but have a complementary option in the lobby. I understand why you would mention that trend. We certainly hope to see you again for a return trip to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were impressed by the quality of this hotel, which was far superior to most business stays that we have had. The room was freshly renovated and modern, common areas were very clean and the elevators extremely efficient. Location was ideal, we could walk almost everywhere.
Food was good, just a little pricey. Definitely, we would stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottInToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for the comments from your experience. We really appreciate your business. Thank you for taking the time to connect with us. Our recent renovation has truly provided a fresh feel to the property that I'm throughly pleased to hear you enjoyed. We would love to have you return for your next trip to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 165 in New Orleans
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 165 in New Orleans
809 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,457 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $137 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing