We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sheraton on Canal street and had a wonderful experience. We came to New Orleans for the "bourbon street experience" for our first time so i wasn't really sure what to expect but i knew i wanted to stay somewhere where i felt safe and i did at the Sheraton. The hotel is very nice especially for the rate we got!! (We paid roughly $94 a night because we paid in full at the time we made the reservation). The hotel is walking distance from Bourbon street and the Harrah's casino and there is a Starbucks located in the hotel which was really convenient! The distance from Bourbon was perfect because it wasn't too far but it was far enough that there weren't a bunch of drunks and weirdos hanging out in front of the hotel. The rooms are very nice and the beds are really comfortable. IF i ever go back to New Orleans again, i will be staying at the Sheraton on Canal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    846
    377
    148
    73
See reviews for
288
618
62
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For a city with such charms, the Sheraton is a pretty bland behemoth of a structure. I stayed here for a weekend and it was a suitable hotel from which to explore the city's tourist areas, as it's on Canal and only a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street, but it's hardly a place you're going to want to do much more in than sleep off a hangover. It's better built for conferences than anything else. There's nothing wrong with that, but I was hoping for a hotel with a little more jazz in New Orleans, you know? Next time, I'll probably try staying at the Four Points on Bourbon Street and take in the atmosphere from there. One note: big club lounge, but very little on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you value location over exceptional service then the Sheraton New Orleans is for you. Although my Club Level room on the 49th floor offered a great river view the room itself was very dusty. The Club Lounge was nothing special as dinning selections were mediocre to poor. I did experience a problem with noisy occupants in the suite next door. Mark, a night manager, accessed the situation and offered only one poor inconvenient resolution which was totally inappropriate and unacceptable. It appears that Mark is either a low-level manager who is not empowered to make good decisions or he’s uneducated, poorly trained and incapable of being an effective leader.

Based on my observation, majority of the staff members lacked refinement and class, and appeared to be somewhat lazy. The lobby of the hotel at times is very congested filled with a cast of sketchy characters. The hotel is in need of major renovation in order to attract the more discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, General Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Kirk N,
I am sorry you had the experience you did and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it with you in more detail. I can be reached at 504-595-5521. Jim Cook, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I have to travel to New Orleans for a convention. We chose the Sheraton since it was right in between the Harrah's Casino and Bourbon Street. First let me say that maybe the front desk staff was overwhelmed by the sheer number of people attending the convention. The clerk was not too hospitable at all, that was strike one. The elevators were not the speediest of elevators. We got to the rooms and felt warm when you entered. Rooms were not ss spacious as the last Sheraton we were in but it was good enough for us. We were preparing to good and had to take a shower..disappointed! The water was lukewarm at best. Needless to say, the front desk could not give sn explanation for this and it continued for the next couple of days. They had construction going on in the hotel but I can't give a negative mark on that because thst shows theyare trying to improve. My main bone to pick was the customer service or lack thereof. Maybe it will be better the next time I visit later on in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 15th floor have a great view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerNew901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are sorry that you experienced issues that made your stay anything less than perfect. It’s especially disheartening to hear that you did not receive the hospitality for which we are known. I apologize for our lack of staffing during which was obviously a peak period. Now that our renovation is complete hopefully we will be able to redeem ourselves on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff is very friendly and greets you upon entering. Our room was next to the elevators, not along the central corridor. I was apprehensive at first but our room was larger than the standard room and appears to be recently renovated. We heard no elevator noise at all. We did occasionally hear kids’ voices as they waited for the elevator but that wasn’t a problem given the design of the room. The lobby atrium is a fun place to have a drink and people watch. Great location on Canal Street. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden
Level Contributor
373 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good. Really good hotel. For a Sheraton at least. Its big, centrally located and offers a lot. Therefore also a lot of staff. Then logistics and communications are vital to your operations. If a room isn't cleaned. You solve it. We called housekeeping and after complains an hour and a half later someone was send up. I'm a prefered guest. Pay full rate. Pay for wifi, breakfast, valet parking, top paking rates, the lot. Then all I ask is no extras but just what you pay for. Will stay in the loyalty program of Starwood but they need some improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWildenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
As an SPG member we’d definitely like you to know you’re appreciated and we are sorry if we failed to meet your expectations in any way. Thank you for sharing your experience and please know that your comments are vital in helping us create a loyalty program that makes sure those expectations are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhymney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here whilst on a tour it was a lovely hotel in a really good location. The floor to ceiling windows gave a great view over the city from the 15th floor. The open top bus tour stopped outside. The only downside were the breakfasts were really expensive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its spectacular views but are sorry the experienced was marred by the price of your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing