We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent veiws!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent veiws!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good hotel, nice staff with fantastic comfy rooms.Pool alittle small & abit drab looking i thought for a classy hotel.The lifts are a great touch!key in your floor number from the outside take which lift it tells you a,b,c,d,e, step in and your off,there like robots!Great location on canal street over road from the famous french quarter & borbon street ,10mins walk to missisippi river.We had a great room with an outstanding view of the skyline of new orleans and the river.My only complaint would be that although i realise the hotel was very busy on our arrivel it took 1hour 35 minutes for our cases to arrive to our rooms, this for a high standard hotel was very poor.I went down several times to check where my case was & this very helpful lady rung the bellboy who didnt answer his phone!So i went back to my room very stressed.After awhile i went back down to complain again & still no case,as i went back up to my room the bellboy was just bringing it,i asked where he had been all this time and he was rude and didnt seem bothered.It was a big relife to get my case after a long wait,either way a top hotel in new orleans should not be having this kind of problems.Maybe employ more bellboys?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. While we’re happy you enjoyed your overall stay, we apologize you encountered issues with our Bell Stand. Your comments will assist us in improving this service for future guests. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    846
    377
    148
    73
See reviews for
288
618
62
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am always reluctant to go here since the whole city smells like urine and cigarettes. I hate the French quarter with deep fried everything and drunks pissing on the street, and fat tourists from Iowa proudly walking with their beers in the street. But business called, so we got put this year at the Sheraton. Nice place, close enough to have the cigarettes wafting up your nose from the casino, and a short walk from the river. Hate the city, but loved the beds in this hotel. Beware of ripoff buffet breakfast, Go with Starbucks in lobby instead.

God, I sound cynical today.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbasskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Yes, you do :), but thank you for your review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our central location and Sweet Sleeper Bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here on a busy May weekend. The hotel was full of guests attending graduations, weddings, a college band, and more. Despite the activity, my floor was mostly quiet except for one loud outburst at 5 AM Sunday morning as some guests arrived home from a party. The room smelled fresh, the bed and pillows were soft and comfortable, the bathroom was clean and modern, lots of towels were provided, and the elevator access was pretty good. I think the longest I waited for an elevator was about 4 minutes and that happened only once. It would be great if there was a bedside plug for charging an iPhone or a desktop plug for a coffee pot or laptop. I had to take the coffee maker into the bathroom to use it and share an outlet with a floor lamp for my iPhone. One day my room was made up at 3 PM, just the time I wanted to get in for a short rest before going out again. That seemed a bit late. Otherwise the hotel was comfortable and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side face the river, rooms on the other side face the town; both sides are good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy you enjoyed your experience with us! It’s great to hear that you liked our newly renovated look and had a relatively quiet stay despite all of the activity. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was going to give this hotel 4/5 stars but had to do 3/5.

The good:

Location is centrally located to the french quarters. It's easy walking distance from all the action. So it's very well located.

The quality of the hotel is decent compared to most Sheratons I've stayed at. The room we stayed in was clean, seemed modern and we had a great view.

Executive lounge is great. Great view, staff is very attentive and friendly. Food quality is decent at breakfast.

The Bad:

So I'm platinum and at check-in we were told breakfast would be included (we did breakfast instead of 500 amenity points). Wifi should have been free as well as indicated by their staff. We stayed there 4/26 to 4/29 and to this day I am still trying to get ahold of someone to reverse the bill for the breakfast and the internet. It's just bad support. If you stay here, please make sure you take down the name of the person at frontdesk who told you what would be free and what wouldnt. Platinum Concierge told me that usually the Plat. amenity is a choice between Points, Breakfast and sometimes Wifi. So Wifi is NOT always free for Plats at some properties. It could have been a choice. So just be clear and take down who you talked to.

The breakfast in the restaurant was horrible. Just tasted like a really cheap motel food. They did have a made to order omelets bar but there was a reason why people were getting "well done" omelets".

I really wish I could have written more good things as I stay at a lot of Sheratons and it's kinda like home to me parts of the year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkfiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. While we’re happy you enjoyed our location, views, and that our Associates were attentive and friendly, we apologize that you experienced issues during your stay. If you would like to discuss your experience with our General Manager, Jim Cook, please email him at Jim.Cook@Sheraton.com or call him directly at 504-595-5521. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I were traveling to New Orleans for the first time for a graduation. We had no idea we were staying in a luxury hotel! The lobby is impressive from the moment you walk in, and the service from the staff is top notch.

You will pay for the high end services- valet, etc. is pricey, but given the conditions of areas nearby, I at least felt my car would be secure for the price we were paying!!

This hotel is within walking distance from Bourbon street, the French quarter, Harrah's casino and the Riverwalk. It was lovely and we'll stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river, so it was a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to New Orleans! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy you enjoyed your experience. It’s great to hear that our Associates took care of you and helped you to feel comfortable during your visit. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

They are not staffed well enough to handle a crowd. Ran out of food for breakfast, not enough staff to supply room service, served rotten tasting lunch meat to meeting attendees, poor service all around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, certainly we will look into your comments and share with our banquets and in room dining team. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience and if there are any specific issues you wish to discuss, we welcome the opportunity to address those with you individually. John Jimenez, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything you would expect fro a 5 star property, and more. Service was above reproach, from check in, through our stay and continued till we walked out the door. Room was spacious and well appointed. Beautiful view on the river side of the hotel. Only ate in once (it's New Orleans, after all) but it was excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms and entire property very clean. On the other hand, service in the lobby bar was often slow in less than rushed periods of time and the mandatory room service gratuity was a whopping 24%, PLUS delivery fee - highest I've ever seen by at least 7%. Well located on the edge of the French Quarter and close to the river as well.

Room Tip: River side gives beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Your feedback is instrumental in letting us know what we’re doing right and apparently it looks like we’ve hit the target! Thank you for the wonderful review and please know that we are waiting for you with a warm welcome on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing