We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #77 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything you would expect fro a 5 star property, and more. Service was above reproach, from check in, through our stay and continued till we walked out the door. Room was spacious and well appointed. Beautiful view on the river side of the hotel. Only ate in once (it's New Orleans, after all) but it was excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms and entire property very clean. On the other hand, service in the lobby bar was often slow in less than rushed periods of time and the mandatory room service gratuity was a whopping 24%, PLUS delivery fee - highest I've ever seen by at least 7%. Well located on the edge of the French Quarter and close to the river as well.

Room Tip: River side gives beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Your feedback is instrumental in letting us know what we’re doing right and apparently it looks like we’ve hit the target! Thank you for the wonderful review and please know that we are waiting for you with a warm welcome on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and right in the middle of all the action! nice staff and great room. Eventhough the hotel is so close to Burbon street you do not get any of the street noise in the room. The only downside to the location is the cost of valet parking. However that seems to be the case in all of the french quarter.

Room Tip: Valet parking is expensive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We appreciate your kind words and are happy to be a part of your wonderful memories of your trip to the Big Easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Got in our car to leave this morning after 2 nights being valet parked and driving no where. Zero gas left in our tank. We had a quarter of a tank when we left it with the valet 2 days ago. Valet and hotel management both refused to discuss any possibility of being responsible. Put a sour note on our departure. You would think at over $40 a day to valet park that this would never be an issue!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNOLA, Guest Relations at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We apologize for the issue you experienced with our Valet service. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please feel free to email us at Sheraton_New_Orleans@Sheraton.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 7 days during jazz fest. The hotel is located within walking distance, or street car to everything. They also had bus service to the jazz fest, which was very convenient. The bed was very nice, but there was very little drawer or closet space. It also seemed like the air conditioner didn't really work. I set it to 65 and it never seemed to get below 80 in the room. I liked the large window and since we were on the 40th floor, there was a great view of the city. If you choose to go green and forgo maid service, they will give you a $5 gift card that can be used at Starbucks, their cafe or their bar. That was nice. The hotel could use a serious make over. It's decor from the 70's. It was also hard to get food because the hotel was so crowded and the bar didn't seem to have enough tables or servers. Also, the staff at both the bar and the cafe were extremely rude. However, the staff at check in and check out were very nice and helpful. The elevators take some getting used to because you have to select your floor before you get on and if you don't pay attention, you won't know which car to get in. The entire week the pool was closed because there was rain. That was disappointing because I actually like swimming in a pool in the rain. Overall, it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either, that's why I gave it an average rating.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better because you will be able to see more of the city and not hear so muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NachesANDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have served you. As the Official Host Hotel of the New Orleans Jazz Festival our crowds are larger than usual during this special event and we are sorry you experienced some issues as a result. We are surprised at your comment that the hotel needs updating as we are in the final phases of a $50M renovation which included all guestrooms and public spaces of our hotel. We can only think that you may have been in a guestroom which had not yet been renovated. Hopefully you will return soon and experience our transformation in whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our stay at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel was just easy. The entire process from check-in to check-out. Our room had a floor to ceiling window with a view of the river. Even on the grayest of days, the view was amazing. Very clean, enviromentally friendly with coupons as a reward. We redeemed ours for Starbucks located in the main lobby. Only good things to say about the Sheraton in the Big Easy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 34th or 35th floor with a view of the river (Starwood Guests).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjj444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted to know that your experience left you with wonderful memories of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel seems to have everything . A close proximity to the French Quarter, just across the road, a small walk to the Mississippi and the paddle boats, excellent housekeeping with lovely comfy , clean beds. The room has a floor to ceiling double glazed window , and being on the 38 floor it was an incredible sight and experience opening the slatted doors of the window. The view of the Great Mississippi was unbelievable and a wonderful memory. The lift arrangement seem to be unique, as the system requires guests to enter room number before entering the lift and then are directed to a lift. This arrangement speeds up the lift progression between floors and there are no unnecessary stops as other lifts accommodate these
Desk staff very helpful and accommodating , cheerful and welcoming. The decor is first class and for those who appreciate glass and chrome this is the place. The entrance is a multifunctional place where a drink and food can be had , groups can meet, comfy chairs for the weary /needy.
Altogether a superb Hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elrick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. It is great to hear our guests are enjoying the fruits of our labor and the results of our $50M renovation. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Physically, the hotel is nice. It's clean and the rooms were a nice size. The lobby was recently renovated (I believe) and you can get drinks and some food there, although the service is very slow.

The location is great. Just a few minute walk from Bourbon St, Decauter St, and other French Quarter destinations. 10-15 minute cab to Magazine St as well if you want something a little quieter.

My issue was with the booking/reservations process. Without going into a step by step chronology of the problems we had, the bottom line is that it was extremely frustrating dealing with this hotel. We had to call numerous times, got conflicting information, couldn't talk to the same people, and this definitely had a negative impact on our stay. Sometimes you talk to the front desk and sometimes you talk to a central reservation agent. We were also billed incorrectly, and it took a week just to get a call back from the billing department.

In summary: hotel was nice and in a good location, but the issues with the reservation and billing were big negatives. Hopefully others do not have that same experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank EKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Feedback of this nature is crucial to our training efforts and to ensuring all of our guests receive exceptional service, from booking the reservation to receiving the final bill. Rest assured the issues you discuss have already been addressed with our team. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,517 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 167 in New Orleans
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 167 in New Orleans
830 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,496 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $141 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing