We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stay, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable stay, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to go to New Orleans because neither one of us had ever been and not knowing anything about the city or the neighborhoods we took a chance with an expedia.com vacation deal and landed at the Prytania Park. We had a great stay at Prytania and despite arriving at nearly 1am didn't have much trouble checking in and getting to our room. The room was a good size and the air conditioning was fully functional (a must for a July visit). While the staff wasn't overly friendly they were amazingly accommodating. There was a large group who came a few nights in to our stay and we never heard a thing or had any trouble with noise. Over all the great location and comfortable room made this a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelypassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    340
    98
    26
    54
See reviews for
183
288
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

My friend and I were very happy with our stay at Prytania Park during a girlfriends get away to New Orleans. Our room was soo cute, the staff was helpful, and parking was adequate. Location was good: the street car was right down the street along with strings of stores and restaurants, and it was a short ride (or a long walk) to the French Quarter. My only complaints were the breakfast which consisted of bear claws and raisin bran, and the fact that there was NO swimming pool.
If you're on a budget and looking for a smaller hotel with a New Orleans-y feel, this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunanicoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is a great value hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the most basic room they had to offer and we were pleasently suprised. For $50 a night, you can't go wrong! They even gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our one year anniversary.

My husband and I are very low maintenance and came to New Orleans to go out and sightsee, not hole up in a hotel. This is my second stay and we'll definitely be back when we return to New Orleans next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATXTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel staff is fantastic and will gladly help you with any info needed.When we arrived we did not know that the Saints and Vikings had a game that night,Bourbon street that day and night was a nightmare(not my kinda fun),but glad i had the experience and Mardi Gras is finally something i can write off.The Garden district is the place to stay,we walked to Bourbon street because power was lost and the street cars could not run,took us 30 mins.I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triniorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We've stayed here three times in the past five months - for a total of nine days - and loved every minute. We loved the rooms - 133 - 134 and 135 (all have been great). The entire staff on each visit has been wonderful and helpful in all matters. In 12 previous trips to the Big Easy since Katrina, we stayed at hotels in the French Quarter. We like this Garden District location a lot more and will continue to book our visits to N.O. at this jewel.
We love New Orleans and we love the Prytania Park! We recommended this hotel to a friend and his wife .... They love it, too.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank athens59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

A warm, friendly place to stay, just like New Orleans itself. Not one of those boring clinical cookie cutter chain hotels.
The receptionist (Dori?) was soooo helpful with her local knowledge, information and maps.
We had a room with the loft and spiral staircase. Our bathroom was quite small but clean. The beds were spotless as were the towels.
This hotel is so convenient with the streetcar just half a block away (just $1.25 to Bourbon St).
Plenty of free parking and fast free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

If what you need in your New Orleans lodging is a safe, reasonably priced room and a very comfortable bed that feels like home, then stay at Prytania Park Hotel. My adult son and I shared a loft for two nights and we slept like babies.

The property is charming, with gorgeous polished wooden doors and windows; it is very quiet. Blackout shades, hung discreetly behind beautiful lace curtains, allowed us to sleep well past 8 a.m. Unlike many hotels, if you request that housekeeping let you sleep, they do. The property's hosts are always gracious; the parking lot (free) is adjacent to the hotel and brightly lit.

Prytania Park Hotel is just steps away from St. Charles Avenue and the St. Charles streetcars stop nearby every 15 minutes or so. Plenty of cafes are nearby and the Quarter is only minutes away.

Staying here costs no more than staying at a chain on the edge of town, but this is no economy hotel experience. Try it. You will be so glad you did!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#113 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing